We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #44 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Many of the reviews are complimentary and I would certainly agree. It is a good hotel in a great location. People have made reference to it being on a main road but the windows really do insulate you from the noise so do not be put off. You can get to many locations easily from the hotel or just explore the back streets which is a plus. It is true that you do need to be on the fourth floor minimum to have a view. This is the floor we are staying on and can just see the view over the top of the trees. The room is spacious, has all we need and has been generally clean but they did not hoover the carpet which was surprising as we were in a deluxe room?

The real gem to this hotel is the roof terrace and plunge pool. From here you get a fabulous view of the harbour and can just take it easy in the sun on the sun loungers or chairs. You can also order refreshment or eat up on the terrace. It is fabulous and I do recommend a visit to this during your stay.

N.B. Many have recommended this as a family hotel and they certainly were helpful in ensuring that we had connecting rooms when booking but just a word of caution for those with small children. The plunge pool is surrounded by wooden decking and as my young son found out to his cost, you can get really rather nasty splinters despite the decking appearing to be well weathered. I had to go in search of a needle to dig it out and the staff were somewhat disappointing in terms of helping and or compassion. I am not sure if they just did not know what to do or how to react but they said they would refer it to the Manager who never bothered to come back to us?

We have not eaten dinner in the restaurant but breakfast is more than generous with so many choices. Certain items do run out so do not be afraid to ask for more as they can be a touch slow to notice.

All in all in I would highly recommend this hotel as comfortable, well located and generally
good service.

Room Tip: If you would like a view of the harbour/sea, you will need to be in the fourth or fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    518
    75
    24
    18
See reviews for
356
879
52
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good quality hotel, the service from both reception and waiting staff was very good both before arrival and during the stay. The location of the hotel is very convenient, however it should be noted that not all front facing rooms have a sea view due to the very tall trees along the Passeig de Colom. The rooftop terrace and pool was a little disappointing for us as a family, the pool was more of a plunge pool and didn't accommodate many people. The area was largely allocated to eating and drinking. The views across the harbour were amazing.
Rooms were nicely decorated and had all amenities required. The breakfast room was very nice and the food very good, there was a large choice.
The hotel lacks a nice inside bar.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are blocked by the tall trees for the first few floors which is disappointing as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leigh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We enjoyed a five night stay at the Duquesa de Cardona hotel during our trip to Barcelona...we were a family of five and enjoyed two adjoining rooms at the hotel (2 adults and 3 kids). We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and recommend the Duquesa strongly! The hotel was one of the very few we found that catered to families and were easy to communicate with by phone prior to our visit and confirm that they would guarantee us adjoining rooms (which apparently in Spain was either an oddity or something few hotels would guarantee).

The hotel is perfectly, centrally located right across from the bay/harbor, and within short walking distance from just about everything (5 minutes gets you to La Rambla, to the Picasso museum, to numerous plazas and restaurants, and all bus and walking tours). The hotel has spacious rooms, outstanding staff, a nice, but little, pool on top of the hotel on the roof with a beautiful view overlooking the city, and offers good amenities. The ONLY downside to the hotel which was disappointing, was it does not offer any kind of gym or fitness center...which would be my strong recommendation to them for the future.

We found there was no need to have a car while in Barcelona, and found the staff very helpful in terms of making reservations for dinner/trips, providing advice, etc.

Strongly recommend!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the harbor/bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have just returned from a City Break and 3 nights at the Hotel Duquesa de Cardona in Barcelona. The location of the hotel is great. There is quite a busy road between the hotel and the port but the hotel is brilliantly soundproofed so you will not be disturbed by the traffic. Beyond the road is the port and the sea and you can sea the cruise ships mooring in the distance. There is a promenade across the road and buses run regularly in front of the hotel. The Tourist buses are also a short stroll away from the hotel so which is really handy. The Barceloneta and beach area is 5 -10 mins walking distance which has lots of lovely restaurants and bars. Behind the hotel there is a labyrinth of tiny streets leading to the gothic area, again with bars , tapas bars, restaurants and little boutiques on every street.

There is a lovely small roof terrace with a bar, sun loungers and a tiny plunge pool which is fantastic for a spot of sun bathing or evening drinks/cocktails whilst enjoying the lovely view across the marina.

We booked directly with the hotel who were more competitive than any website. The rooms are spacious and extremely well appointed. Quality bathrooms, mini bar, safe, robes and slippers and really comfortable beds with quality linen. The only slight criticism is that the views from our rooms weren't fantastic and they were slightly dark but saying that we did book the least expensive classic rooms. When you are on a city break you hardly spend any time in the room! Otherwise we were impressed. I think the rooms had been renovated last year and the hotel is in fact an old 'palace' which is brilliant as the walls and floors are really solid so no noise at all from other rooms! A very peaceful night's sleep was had by all.

Breakfast was fantastic along with the service from the staff. Fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice, cereals, yoghurts, breads, hams, cheeses, cakes and every day you could order freshly cooked eggs (poached, fried or scrambled) to go with the bacon and sausages on offer. We literally had a four course breakfast which really set us up for the day.

The front desk staff were very helpful and professional and helped us with buses, restaurants and airport transfers.

We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view you might have to pay more and stay on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberthalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I dont think we could have made a better choice!
The location is perfect, overlooking the marina, but only a 5 minute walk either to Las Ramblas or La Ribera.
The view from the rooftop bar is fantastic.
Very modern, clean rooms with two separate showers in the bathrooms.
We chose not to pay the 18 euros for the breakfasts, but found plenty of breakfast cafes behind the hotel.
All the hotel staff were particularly helpfull.

Helpful?
Thank robtsmx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here recently on a brief business trip and was really happy to discover the exceptional roof-top terrace bar and swimming pool. A real hidden gem in the vibrant city centre! I'll certainly be looking to visit here again, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DougWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

There is a huge choice of hotels in Barcelona but this property has to be high on the list! It is traditional and relaxed, in a good location, has extremely friendly staff and what makes it even more wonderful is the rooftop terrace with sun loungers, a dip pool and informal restaurant prefect for a long lunch, evening drink or just a spot of relaxation. Even if you don;t stay here, the terrace is worth a visit!

Room Tip: nice to have a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stellaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#20 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#22 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#36 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#26 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Property: Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing