We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Position and Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #39 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2008

I stayed at the Duquesa de Cardona in September 2008 and had a great time. Great boutique hotel in an central and safe location. The rooms have no real views unless you pay extra for the ones that overlook the water (only 5 of them), but are a great size for Europe and large and very clean bathrooms. The breakfast was hot and cold - fruit, cereals, juices etc and scrambled eggs, bacon and micro sausages but no fried eggs. Beautiful French pastries and bread. It kept me going until dinner. The TV room is small but I would strongly suggest you have drinks and a swim in the plunge pool (it's small !) on the rooftop terrace, awesome views. Some guy had a massage and a guy playing a Spanish guitar for him one night. It's a 5 minute walk to Drassanes Metro, on the waterfront and at the edge of the Gothic Quarter. Barcelona has amazing atmosphere day and night, and we found ourselves wandering the nearby Gothic Quarter after dinner and drinks. Heaps of people about and generally very safe, but you do need to be aware. Walking distance to a lot of restaurants, bars and shops. Great hotel and highly recommended city.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HiramBorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,360 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2008

This is my second time in Barcelona this year , and I repeat the hotel. I was in Duquesa de Cardona in may for business, and I loved it! This time I came back to Barcelona to go on a cruise , and the location from this hotel is so good, that I decided to repeat, so here I am again!!.
The hotel is near to everything ...Ramblas, harbour, Gothic Area.. , The atmosphere, although is very relaxed and comfortable. It has a fabolous terrace on the sixt floor, with one of the bests views I have ever seen from a harbour. The rooms are cosy (try a junior suite if you can, is spacious, comfortable, very sweet and quite ).
If you are active people, Barcelona is full of surprises. Get informed at reception desk about day trips , for instance, to Montserrat, Sitges, etc, museums, different restaurants, etc. They will give you a good hand on it

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BrittOdense_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

With that many hotels in one city, and without any references it was a really hard pick. The nice website pulled us over.

But we were very satisfied with our choice.
Medium small Boutique Hotel, perfectly located near the marina and the ramblas. Perfect starting point to take some good walks in Barcelona.

We only booked 2 nights, what was a mistake because we needed 3 nights. So we asked i've we could stay somewath longer. Unfortunately this was not possible due to the fact that the hotel was fully booked. But the last day there was apparently a 'no-show' so we could have that room. It was even more nicer then the one that we had booked. Unbelieveble big, for a city hotel. Nice cocktails from the rooftop at sunset, what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SamBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

I found this hotel disappointing. The rooms were lovely—modern, spacious for this class of hotel, and adequately appointed. The hotel is on one of the largest streets in Barcelona. Our rooms faced the street and were noisy late in to the night and early morning, even though we were on the 6th floor. The rooms on the other side of the hotel were not noisy, but faced an alley. The hotel has a lovely, tiny, rooftop pool and its rooftop terrace offers a sweeping view of the marina and the city.
The staff at the hotel was not as attentive or helpful as you might expect from such a hotel. The service at the rooftop tapas bar was unbearably slow, even in the middle of the day with no one else there. The front desk staff seemed to rely on Google for its knowledge of restaurants and other local attractions. While no one on the staff was actually rude, they were the least helpful of any hotel staff that we saw in Spain.
Our stay here was pleasant enough, but I would try another hotel in this city that has many alternatives to offer.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank marylandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Duquesa de Cardona is a lovely small hotel. It locates waterfront area and you can walk to Ramblas street in a few minutes, 15 minute walk brings you to Catalunya Square. Tourist bus stop is also within a walking distance. By taking metro at Barceloneta station on LIne 4, you can reach CCBI easily. You can find good sea food restaurants along the museum nearby and we enjoyed a walk to a beautiful beach which is within 20 minute walk from the hotel. Piccaso museum which is within 5 minute walk worths visiting. The lobby was furnished with lovey furniture and scent of vanilla candle welcomed us.I stayed in a wheelchair accessible room with a roll-in shower. The bathroom is big enough for me to turn round there. The room was also enough big for us. We took breakfast at the restaurant on the ground floor for 2 days. It was good. We also reccommend you to visit the terrace on the 6th floor with your books and batheing suits. The view from there was exquisite and you can enjoy fresh breeze there with some wine and food. The hotel staffs were all friendly and very helpful. They speak fluent English. They booked wheelchair adapted taxi, booked concert tickets at Catalunya music hall, booked tickets of framenco show for us and showed us good restaurants. It was also fun to go to the guitar concert at the church. At last, I have to tell that you shoud be very careful so that you would not be targeted by pick pockets. My husband had his wallet stolen in a bus on line 24 which goes to Guel park. Some men surrounded us and while one man was pretending to help me with my wheelchair to attract my husband's attention, other men stole the wallet. I strongly advice you to take a tourist bus or a taxi when you move in Brcelona and never to take a normal bus. If I have another chance to visit Barcelona, I am sureto stay at Duquesa de Cardona again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cheriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Duquesa de Cardona is a lovely boutique-style hotel with unique touches that make it stand out from other more traditional hotels. The friendliness of hotel staff is the main selling-point -- they truly go out of their way to make guests feel welcome and to give them advice on touring the city. The morning we arrived in Barcelona after a week-long cruise, we were much too early to check into our room but a very charming staff member pulled out all kinds of maps and brochures to give us very helpful ideas of things to do in the meantime. The breakfast buffet is a bit small but you will find plenty of good food to get you ready for a day of exploring Barcelona. The hotel is right along the waterfront and is an excellent base for visiting the Ciutat Vella, the Barri Gotic -- be sure to cross Passeig de Colom to visit the excellent Aquarium and to stroll through Barceloneta. The Zoo de Barcelona is an easy stroll from the hotel and makes a lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon in the city.

The rooms are spacious and thoughtfully stocked with items that make your stay comfortable. Our room was perhaps not as clean as it could have been, particularly the carpet. A word of advice -- if you are a light sleeper, be sure to ask for a room on one of the upper floors. We were on the first floor just above a very busy sidewalk restaurant that could be quite noisy in the wee hours of the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBW614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

The locationof this hote l is fantastic - just off Las Rambles. Rooms were small and noisy - we requested a room on the higher floors but could still hear all the traffic and sirens from the road below. Got very little sleep here. Also - the swimming pool is more like an oversized bath - a joke really. Other than that though the hotel is ok - decor is good and the rooftop bar was lovely. Location is the main thing here though.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank roxy01Cork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#23 of 517 in Barcelona
372 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 517 in Barcelona
1,422 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#34 of 517 in Barcelona
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 517 in Barcelona
3,461 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#55 of 517 in Barcelona
2,132 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#74 of 517 in Barcelona
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £58 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing