We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #43 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Amazing! What more can I say? This hotel is fantastic. We upgraded to a balcony room. Not much of a balcony, but you were almost in a wing of your own. This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The 6th floor terrace was a lovely touch. We will come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    517
    75
    24
    18
See reviews for
355
878
52
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We returned to the hotel for a long weekend in May and it did seem to have gone downhill since our last visit the year prior. On arrival we were greeted by a glass of cava but our room wasn't ready so we returned later. The room was on the fourth floor and sea facing. It was very clean with a well equipped bathroom. The bottle of cava we were told would be in our room to celebrate our honeymoon never arrived. The toiletries in the bathroom were sparse and only replenished once during our stay. On two occasions staff entered our room without knocking using a master key whilst we were in there which is totally inappropriate. The roof terrace has been changed since our last visit and the lovely central bar has now been moved to a small shed in the corner. We didn't bother going up there for pre dinner cocktails as we have in previous visits. The roof terrace now only serves snacks rather than a full menu. The hotel isn't cheap and it's getting less good value in my opinion. The issues we encountered shouldn't have to be brought to the attention of management. On the positive side it is in a great location and the rooms are nice. Overall, I don't think we will be returning which is a shame.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Gillian,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share with us and other travellers your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to read your positive comments about our rooms and location. We also much appreciate your detailed comments about other issues. We have taken good note of them and undoubtedly it helps us in improving our standards. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused. We have taken inmediate measures in order to avoid it to be repeated in the future.
Regarding the terrace, today is our opening of the summer season and the menu, as usually, offers the fantastic soirées barbecues. The whole year round we offer bar service in the terrace from midday until late, a menu based on salads, sandwiches, pizzas and tapas. It is certain that barbecues are only served when the best weather allows it, from late May until the end of September.
In relation to the bar, we have just removed the one you saw last time to be replaced by a new larger one that will be set in two weeks time, with a bit of delay...l regret that it was not ready yet for your stay!!!
We wish to thank you again and hope that we could have another opportunity to offer you a special treat and ensure you a unique experience in every way.

Kind regards
Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Spent 8 wonderful days in Barcelona with my wife, daughter and one of her friends. Both of our rooms were excellent. Clean, comfortable, spacious and well appointed. The staff are excellent, accommodating, helpful and make every effort to ensure your stay is perfect. Breakfasts are superb!

If you are researching for the best hotel in Barcelona...you found it!

Room Tip: Higher floor outside rooms are the best...either front or back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Small, cozy hotel with great location, close to (walking distance) several attractions such as the beach, aquarium, Gothic area, restaurants etc. Friendly and helpful staff. Our family (2 adults/2 children) stayed for 4 nights: 2 nights in a suite and 2 nights in a privilege room. Both very nice and spacious rooms, clean and well equipped. Great view from the roof terrace. The pool is very small, but more than enough for satisfying our children. The bar menu is quite small, and I would reccomend eating at a different location. However, the drinks are very good and you may enjoy a glass of cava or mojito is the sun overlooking the harbour. I can highly reccomend the hotel, suitable for both couples and families.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The service is fantastic -- the people who work there are kind, helpful, and discreet. I loved the complimentary glass of champagne at check-in! The decor is incredibly elegant and the mattresses are remarkably comfortable. It is also a great place for working and meetings. We will definitely stay there on our next trip.

Room Tip: Both front or rear room views are great -- one to the sea, the other to a lovely gothic street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Silvia827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at the Duquesa de Cardona for several days on a business trip to Barcelona. The service we received was extraordinary. The room was luxurious and included chocolates, city maps, and a handwritten welcome note. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant each day and enjoyed great dinners at many of the neighborhood restaurants nearby. The hotel is conveniently located and close to everything- the beach, the Gothic Quarter, and the Ramblas. My favorite part of the experience was the courteous staff and the extra-comfortable mattress.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hotel was excellent what made it even more special was having the roof top bar and pool. Very relaxing stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely good back again. Rooms very clean and huge bed with super pillows.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Marian is an excellent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Julie,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing this review with other travellers in Tripadvisor. I am very delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, with the room, rooftop terrace, service and the staff of the hotel.
I am looking forward to welcoming you again very soon at the Duquesa de Cardona.

Best regards,
Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#20 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#22 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#36 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#26 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Property: Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing