We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would go back there if in barcelona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #44 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“would go back there if in barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The first impression is said to be the one that sticks. When we arrived from the taxi the outside of the hotel appeared to be low key but as soon as we passed through the glass front doors we were in another world, all helped by the friendly and warm welcome by Alex on the front desk.

Our room in the new part of the hotel was large with attractive decor and with excellent sound insulation to the external window from the street below. There was a large and comfy bed. The air con was very efficient and very quiet in operation and certainly welcome in the Barcelona heat.

Breakfast menu was excellent with as much as you could eat from a wide variety of options.

But the best bit was the roof terrace with its bar and eating area and a fantastic views over the harbour. A great place to relax and eat with most attentive staff who took an interest in their guests.

Good location within a gentle stroll to the bottom end of the Ramblas and right next to the Barri Gothic.

The only complaint? The outdoor swimming pool on the roof was a bit too small to enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank almalmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,105
    519
    75
    24
    18
See reviews for
356
884
52
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel in incredible central and close to all major attractions and really in the hub of things. There are plenty of great tapas restaurants within a few hundred meters. The rooftop bar is an absolute pleasure with incredible views over the harbor. Breakfast has a large selection with excellent quality produce. The rooms are spacey and well furnished.

On the negative side. The service is really bad. Grumpy staff and disinterested waiters. You really need to go in with a patient mindset so I would only recommend it for holiday makers that are relaxed and don't really care.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the little street in the back. If you hate aircon you won't be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulina007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuquesadeCardona, Hotel Manager at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Paulina,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your stay with us. I am very pleased that your overall experience was so positive and we appreciate your nice words about the breakfast (with local excellent products), the rooms (that have been very recently renovated) and the location. Certainly, the hotel is a perfect base to explore the city, located right at the historic quarter, facing the harbour and with unique views.
I also would like to thank you for your comments on the aspects we have to improve, actually they got me very upset and I have taken immediate measures in order to correct them. New employees have started this week to reinforce the service during the peak season and, although they have been trained, obviously we have to work much harder in this respect. We offer cocktails and bar service all day and barbecue in the evenings and the terrace is the best setting of the city to enjoy our local high quality food. Views, candle lights, lounge music...create a magic atmosphere that you cannot miss it!! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a very near future, if so, please contact me directly.

Kind regards,
Cristina Reus
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

A beautiful hotel and location.excellent views from our room and very we'll situated for La Rambla and the Puerto. The staff in the hotel were very good and helpful. We will definitely go back to this hotel as it was faultless.

Room Tip: The harbour view rooms are excellent and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank b123504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Small Hotel, very well furnished and decorated. in the heart of the city center and view on the port. unfortunately there is no fitness club and the swimming pool is tiny. however You can get a good consolation with a very warm staff.

Room Tip: Choose superior room in the 3 or the 4th floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nazim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Staff was very helpful, Location was great, away from the bustle of La Rambla, but less than 5 minutes walk to La Rambla and the subway station. Explore the area behind the hotel for great bars and restaurants that are not as tourist trap as others. Pool and lounge chairs on the roof were a nice touch, they have a bar on the roof as well with great view of the beach.

Room Tip: Basic room has a view to a wall, but not sure if paying extra is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel prior to our cruise trip. The hotel was in a nice location near the port and 10 minutes from La Rambla . The hotel staff was very nice and helpful! The bathroom was an excellent size having both a bath tub and shower. Although the room was nicely decorated, it was on the smaller side for the price we were paying bearing in mind that we stayed at hotel 1898 when we came back from the cruise and paid less for a bigger room.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Aisha_Bahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very well situated just 5 minutes walk from Rambla and close to Aquarium. The zoo is also not far away, so the point is great for those, who travels with children. It is really worth taking a room with a view on the harbour, as these rooms are much brighter. The noise is not a problem thanks to good windows and air conditioning. The breakfast was rather good, with good choice of food. The coffee, however could be better (nespresso could never overcome a cup of real coffee). The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The hotel offers all possible facilities to make the holidays great and easygoing. You can even ask for an umbrella in case of rain:). All in all I can recommend this hotel for everyone!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nikolay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#21 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#9 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#39 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,261 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#28 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Property: Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing