We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 star not 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #47 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2 star not 4 star hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We specifically requested a non-smoking room and were told upon checking in that we had been given one. The smell of cigarette smoke during the night and in the morning were overpowering. We went down to complain and were told by a different staff member that the non smoking floor was one above ours. We had been lied to and were told we had been given a non-smoking room. The room was spacious but had an old bed spread and thread bare carpet on the floor. Lobby small and dated looking. Bathroom was large and modern. Right beside a youth hostel with 2 beggers on the street and a good 15 minue walk to Las Ramblas. Breakfast was poor -soggy eggs and luke warm coffee so we stuck to the yogurt and croissants which were fine, do not eat at the hotel . We switched to Hotel 1898 right in the heart of Las Ramblas which was a fantatic, modern hotel which all the amenities.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeenThereDoneThat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    526
    76
    27
    19
See reviews for
367
908
55
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We arrived at the Duquesa at around midnight and received a warm welcome from Rodrigo at reception. Check-in was quick and easy.

Our room was on the 5th floor with a harbour view and was delightful! A comfortable size and good sized bathroom. We booked the romantic package, so when we arrived at the room there was a nice bottle of chilled Cava waiting for us, along with chocolate dipped strawberries, a single rose and rose pettles on just about every surface - it was superb value for money!

Breakfast offers a small buffet of hot and cold items and is more than ample to get you ready for a busy day sightseeing.

The rooftop terrace was lovely to chill out and enjoy the view. There are a few sun loungers and towels are provided. The bar service wasn't great and Spirits (Gin, Vodka etc.. we're totaly overpriced, wine was v.reasonable), but the terrace is a lovely space to spend some time.

Most importantly the hotel is spotless in all areas.

If you are taking the sightseeing tour, I would recommend taking an early bus from Plaza Catalunya (about a 20-30 minute walk) to avoid long queues. A one day ticket cost €24. We also took the Montjuic cable car, the views were amazing.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better, lovely views over the marina, 5 minute walk to the Christopher Columbus statue at the foot of La Rambla, about 20-30 mins walk to Plaza Catalunya and about 20 minute stroll to the beaches at Barceloneta. We also walked to Sagrada Familia which took about 45 mins / 1 hour.

Will definitely recommend the Duequesa de Cardona and would definitely stay again on our next visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwagsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deretour, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for your message. We are glad to see that your stay in our hotel was special. We work everiday to make the visit of our guests something unique and special. We are doing our best to improve the terrace service, we just changed some things of the service so we hope your next visit will be much better than the last one.

Kind regards

Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

It was our first visit to Barcelona and were not sure about anything. We arrived on a cruise ship. We were picked up at the cruise dock by hotel employee and greeted with a cold bottle of water! The hotel is conveniently located near the Las Ramblas and the site seeing bus stop. The view was spectacular, The room was clean with all conveniences including fluffy robe and slippers. Staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. I recommend you eat dinner at the hotel (we got the package deal from hotel website) Meal included 3 courses and a bottle of wine. It was located on the roof top and the view was awesome. It was a small boutique type hotel with only 40 rooms!! Everyone spoke and understood English. They had a driver take us to the Airport and they packed us a nice bag of goodies for our early morning departure!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

My husband and I spent one night in this hotel whilst in Barcelona for the weekend. The hotel is situated in a fantastic location, in easy walking distance to all the major hot spots, or easily reached by metro which is a 1 minute walk from the hotel. After an easy check-in, we used the pool and outdoor terrace which has a fantastic view over the marina. Our room was spacious with king size bed and two exceptionally clean bathrooms!

One major draw back is the street noise. We stayed on a Saturday night and the noise from underneath and neat y clubs/bars was enough to keep us away till the early hours of the morning. Upon registering our disappointment with reception, the following morning, we were told that it is "a common problem" albeit the room was double glazed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorthKnowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

The hotel is in a great location - walk to beach, lots of restaurants, on edge of old town, near zoo, aquarium and parks. We spent four nights with two young children. Visit was great. Room was spacious and comfortable (two bathrooms), but a little dated. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooftop deck is great for a drink and great view of harbor although the rooftop "pool" is more like a bathtub. Breakfast was good but very overpriced and breakfast room had plastic patio chairs to sit in. Save your money and visit one of the many bakeries in nearby Barri Gotic.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We stayed at the Duquesa for a little over a week to both celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and attend a Green Day concert in Sep/Oct 2009 . The hotel building was very pretty and the staff was always friendly and helpful. The location was perfect - right across the street from Port Vell and less than a 10 minute walk to Las Ramblas. The hotel is close to tourist buses, cabs and the subway and there were many restaurants within walking distance. The hotel's rooftop bar is also perfect - a perfect place to drink sangria while watching the marina and all the night life out on the street below. Should you need Internet access, they also provided free Internet service inside the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to others and would not hesitate to return here myself.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaBCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We stayed at the hotel for a girls' week in Barcelona. Overall a very good hotel - would go there again. However, some things that could be improved ..
- If you are a light sleeper and book a room facing the harbour be prepared to hear some noise through the windows at night. Nice view but this is the downside.
- Ask for a non-smoking room if you want one. I first had a smoking room as I had not specifically asked for it.
- Reception staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Some other staff members, however, we did not find very attentive - e.g. a waiter at breakfast or the maid not replacing tissues in the bathroom.
Little things, all in all, therefore still a recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#21 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#25 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#24 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,366 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#63 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Property: Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing