We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel, Great Location!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #44 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
london, england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel, Great Location!!!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We arrived home yesterday from a 4 day Stay at the duquesa de cardona hotel and absolutley loved it!

We got a taxi from Barcelona Airport to the front of the hotel which cost 25 euros, the taxi driver was lovely warning us to be careful of pick pockets in las ramblas and to make sure we ate along the sea front, especially the fresh fish!

The hotel was lovely, The best location, Right in front of you you have the harbour, which is just in front of the beach, the beach is a 15-20 min walk from the hotel, but well worth it! Much busier beach than we expected too! The reception staff were friendly and the hotel has a real air of class!

To the right of the hotel you have 'Las Ramblas' which is just a 5 min walk.
It has a huge food market, lots of places to eat and lots of street performers to see! Well worth a look.

We took the Barcleona tour bus from just outside the hotel (The right and head to the roundabout) which cost 29 euros for 48 hours - Well worth doing as you get to see the entire city.

The views from the duquesa de cardona roof top are amazing - they look right over the harbour and to the beach in the distance, the pool is very small, but cosy and most of our stay the roof terrace wasnt very busy, so having it to yourself is very romantic.

The rooms and the hotel are very, very clean, the beds and towels changed daily!
Fab service!

The bar was quite expensive, so make sure you as for a menu before ordering - The resturant at the roof terrace was always quite busy at lunchtime, we only ate one meal which wasnt very nice - but we saw some meals that looked ok, so possibly worth a shot.

The resturant staff seem to work quite hard, but there is a lack of organisation, possibly due to them being understaffed? So as nice as they were, when ordering food/room service expect a wait! We waited 45 minutes for toast and tea one morning, despite being told it would be 10 minutes!!

The only other bad thing about this hotel was the noise from the street below, We were unlucky enough to have roadworks from 8am all day, so no chance of opening your balcony door, even without the road works the traffic from the busy road below was loud enough!

The noise at night is also quite load, drunk people singin etc.... but when you put the location into persepective, i would easily stay there again despite the noise!
We were on the 3rd floor and didnt stay at a weekend mind, so maybe it would be worse if you were lower down and there on a Saturday night?!

Overall, despite a few bad points, it is a lovely hotel and i look forward to returning one day!

Thank you Duquesa de cardona for making our stay in Barcelona fab!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    530
    77
    26
    19
See reviews for
374
917
55
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed in Duquesa for 3 nights in Deluxe Harbor View room. The room was spotless, with big bed, decent bathroom, free electronic safe and even a tiny balcony. The service was excellent - we were amazed when at the first evening a maiden brought us a few candies, weather forecast and a card to choose a scent for room aromatizer. When we asked for an ashtray it arrived in a minute.
Buffet breakfast was decent and terrace bar was beautyful yet overpriced a bit. There was a free wifi network in the lounge.
Location of the hotel is unmatched - in a few minutes walk from Ramblas, Port Vell, Barceloneta, Barcelona Zoo etc. Train station Estacion de Francia is near as well.
Diring our trip we stayed in 4 different hotels in Spain, and Duquesa was the best of them (but most expensive as well, however).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vldmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerlo, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed 6 nights at the hotel. The rooms are clean, nicely furnished, we had a junior suite with our 2 kids of 3 and 4 years old.
From the first night on we slept very bad due to the noise in the backstreet although we specifically asked for a room at the back as I read some comments about the noise of the frontrooms. It was hardly bareable as it was till 4 AM, we complained to reception the first night but were told the noise was normal and mostly at weekends so it would get better ... it didn't. After a few nights we complained again and somebody from maintenance checked the window: it was broken and was fixed the same day. For us this is not acceptable for this level of hotel. We got cava and some chocolates from the hotel which was friendly but too late.
The matrasses on the beds are way to hard, even the pillows didn't charm us, at 10 PM it was not possible to get another pillow as housekeeping was gone home?
Breakfast was included but not ok for a 4 star level, the breakfast staff is very poor, tables are not cleaned fast enough, buffet is not refilled on time, I felt like kicking their ... sometimes.
Swimming pool is ok but small, loved the hot water though for the kids. The views over Port Vell and harbour are stunning.
In general our stay was quite disappointing, the service not always very professional, although the reception staff was friendly and most of them ok.
I would rate this hotel max 3 stars and feel ripped off if I compare price/quality, it's a shame ...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellersca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

The hotel is not far from the ramblas and there are very good tapas bar in the neighbourhood. The hotelstaff is very helpfull. The rooms are spacious and clean.
The breakfast is also more as enough......

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MATYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We specifically requested a non-smoking room and were told upon checking in that we had been given one. The smell of cigarette smoke during the night and in the morning were overpowering. We went down to complain and were told by a different staff member that the non smoking floor was one above ours. We had been lied to and were told we had been given a non-smoking room. The room was spacious but had an old bed spread and thread bare carpet on the floor. Lobby small and dated looking. Bathroom was large and modern. Right beside a youth hostel with 2 beggers on the street and a good 15 minue walk to Las Ramblas. Breakfast was poor -soggy eggs and luke warm coffee so we stuck to the yogurt and croissants which were fine, do not eat at the hotel . We switched to Hotel 1898 right in the heart of Las Ramblas which was a fantatic, modern hotel which all the amenities.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeenThereDoneThat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
266 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We arrived at the Duquesa at around midnight and received a warm welcome from Rodrigo at reception. Check-in was quick and easy.

Our room was on the 5th floor with a harbour view and was delightful! A comfortable size and good sized bathroom. We booked the romantic package, so when we arrived at the room there was a nice bottle of chilled Cava waiting for us, along with chocolate dipped strawberries, a single rose and rose pettles on just about every surface - it was superb value for money!

Breakfast offers a small buffet of hot and cold items and is more than ample to get you ready for a busy day sightseeing.

The rooftop terrace was lovely to chill out and enjoy the view. There are a few sun loungers and towels are provided. The bar service wasn't great and Spirits (Gin, Vodka etc.. we're totaly overpriced, wine was v.reasonable), but the terrace is a lovely space to spend some time.

Most importantly the hotel is spotless in all areas.

If you are taking the sightseeing tour, I would recommend taking an early bus from Plaza Catalunya (about a 20-30 minute walk) to avoid long queues. A one day ticket cost €24. We also took the Montjuic cable car, the views were amazing.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better, lovely views over the marina, 5 minute walk to the Christopher Columbus statue at the foot of La Rambla, about 20-30 mins walk to Plaza Catalunya and about 20 minute stroll to the beaches at Barceloneta. We also walked to Sagrada Familia which took about 45 mins / 1 hour.

Will definitely recommend the Duequesa de Cardona and would definitely stay again on our next visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwagsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deretour, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Duquesa de Cardona, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for your message. We are glad to see that your stay in our hotel was special. We work everiday to make the visit of our guests something unique and special. We are doing our best to improve the terrace service, we just changed some things of the service so we hope your next visit will be much better than the last one.

Kind regards

Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

It was our first visit to Barcelona and were not sure about anything. We arrived on a cruise ship. We were picked up at the cruise dock by hotel employee and greeted with a cold bottle of water! The hotel is conveniently located near the Las Ramblas and the site seeing bus stop. The view was spectacular, The room was clean with all conveniences including fluffy robe and slippers. Staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. I recommend you eat dinner at the hotel (we got the package deal from hotel website) Meal included 3 courses and a bottle of wine. It was located on the roof top and the view was awesome. It was a small boutique type hotel with only 40 rooms!! Everyone spoke and understood English. They had a driver take us to the Airport and they packed us a nice bag of goodies for our early morning departure!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
244 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
541 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#33 of 513 in Barcelona
1,313 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 513 in Barcelona
153 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Property: Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing