We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite boutique hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Ranked #48 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite boutique hotel with excellent service”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

A Modern hotel with a relaxing atmosphere, very good location and a greatly attentive and effective service.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlossaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    525
    76
    27
    19
See reviews for
366
904
54
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Amazing Stay, Beautiful Hotel, Great Location and friendly staff. I had an amazing holiday in Barcelona with my Mom. We celebrated her 50th Birthday and therefore we got an upgrade for free of charge from the Hotel. The room was big, quite, and beautiful. It was amazing, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitti25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Ok,it's a good hotel with a very good location,but what no-one seems to mention is that they have an excellent restaurant,especially when you can eat at the rooftopterrace.They don't have an extensive menu,it's more tapas style,so order several dishes,you won't be disappointed.Very nice dishes,original combinations,great taste and good quality.Great value for your money,5 à 7 dishes,a bottle of wine and coffee takes between 70 and 90 euro's for 2 persons.Better than the overrated prices at the palau de mar in the harbour.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanstale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I cannot understand the complaints about this hotel. We're from New York and we are very fussy. Yes, everyone still smokes in Europe and Spain in particular. You cannot destroy ALL the smell. We had a very nice room facing the harbour, with a small balcony. We came off a cruise, and the hotel arranged for a car to pick us up at the port, and the next day, take us to the airport. They were friendly, and more then helpful. This is NOT a top luxury hotel, but the bed is King Size, the bathroom reasonably large, the room is clean, and the location is FABULOUS, close to all the sights and great restaurants at the port. Breakfast was good, not great, but best of all, the room was approx. $ 200US per night. This hotel deserves a much better rating. Yes, the pool is very very small, but during our one day stay, it was 100 degrees in Barcelona, and the pool was just what we needed to cool off. It is on the top floor facing the port and has a really nice view. All in all, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The hotel is a short 5 - 7 minute walk from the bottom of La Rambla. Gave us the luxury of ending our nights very late and feeling safe walking back to the hotel. Easy walk to the tourist bus stop at the base of La Rambla and short walk to the Barcelonetta beach too. The only good thing about this hotel turned out to be the location. We got a very oversized room with 2 bathrooms, which very functionally great, however, the room smelled of a wet, rotten carpet and complaints yielded answers from staff that 'its a part of life'. Being a boutique hotel, the lobby in non chalant and there's no concierge. It was hard to get service after 7 pm as only one person was manning the front desk with no support. Breakfast (included) was average and no hot foot (eggs, omlettes) were offered up. We learned you ask for it and it will be cooked inside the kitchen and brought to you. There is a rooftop seating and a very small wading pool. Eating here had an extra service charge as food had to be brought up from the kitchen in the first floor. Also, there are 2 very noisy bars at the bottom of the hotel facing the Barri Gothic area....at night the noise levels were high, and the partying continued through 2-3 am everyday. The room rates very not too expensive considering Western Europe in summer. Overall, I would stay here again.....Le Meridian is on La Rambla and costs about the same - modern hotel with modern services....Duquesa was a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dssrriri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2010

we stayed for two nights at Duquesa, and quite frankly that was too long, I couldn't wait to leave. There was no welcome or friendly face at reception, rooms that should be clean smelt of stale smoke, not good for anyone let alone a non smoker...Swimming pool should be described as a kids paddling pool very very small. Poor service at the bar and the internet did not work and the staff did not seem to care or show and interest to get it fixed. This was not the relaxed holiday that we had planned and did not live up to the expectations of the website not worth the money..definetly would not describe this as a four star hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tea-usha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel for just a few nights in Barcelona, unfortunately the staff were very rude and unfriendly on arrival, the rooms smelt of smoke... even the non-smoking rooms! The noise levels at the front of the building were quite loud. This is definitely not a 4 star hotel, and there were no staff management working in the evenings. The internet did not work and the shower was broken, we stayed for 2 nights and had to change rooms 3 times! Not good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InternationalLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
Duquesa Suites Barcelona
#21 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Barceloneta
H10 Port Vell
H10 Port Vell
#25 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,358 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#63 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duquesa de Cardona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duquesa de Cardona

Property: Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Address: Passeig Colom 12, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#41 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duquesa de Cardona 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive boutique historic hotel in front of the port of Barcelona, and just 3 minutes walk to Ramblas, Gothic quarter. Unbeatable location for visitors interested on the heart of the historic center and cruise passengers .On the sixth floor Hotel Duquesa de Cardona Barcelona offers an unforgetable view over the harbour of the city, with a plunge pool, asolarium and a all year open-air cocktail .The buffet breakfast restaurant on the ground floor is the former entrance of this palace of the 19th century , and introduce us to the fantastic history of this mediterranean city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Duquesa de Cardona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona
Duquesa De Cardona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Duquesa De Cardona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing