We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in every way needed”
Review of Hotel Rekord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rekord
Ranked #321 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Vufflens-le-Chateau, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way needed”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My partner and I had a great experience here. We were very well received and the receptionist(s), who all spoke very good English, were very courteous, well presented, efficient and had initiative. We spent only one night in the hotel but the room was spacious, nicely decorated (very "corporate looking", it was the Executive Room) and clean. In the evening a plate of fresh fruit was brought in while we were away, and I thought that was a very nice touch. The hotel is very central and there are taxis that drive by frequently. Checkout can sometimes be disagreeable depending on the hotel system and staff, but the one at Hotel Rekord was fast and smooth (efficient). Regardless of whether it IS a value for your money hotel, it is a very good hotel that’s sure not to disappoint!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lerina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    100
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
48
114
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Got a bargain city break and just had a great time. Friendly staff, nice other guests too. Handy for the metro and close to tourist areas. Liked the free wi-fi and the breakfast was the best hotel breakfast as yet. Nice they even have room service, so we had a tray to the room one night and relaxed totally. So much to see in this city, we will have to come back to get the rest done.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mintonherbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

For Barcelona, this hotel is a real treat. Small, modern, homely, nice staff, close to the metro, in nice area.

I liked it. Okay, it is not the Mandarn Oriental, but it is not trying to be that kind of hotel. One thing is that the area of the hotel is very quiant and nice to walk around.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Os_Ishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The positives:
* Staff are very friendly and helpful - everyone I met, from the reception staff to the people at breakfast, was great
* Large and comfortable rooms - far bigger than you'd expect for the money
* Very clean - room was cleaned thoroughly every day
* Nice location - a km or two from the main tourist areas, but right my a Metro station, and with some great neighbourhood bars, restaurants and shops around you - try 'Velodrome', a 10-minute walk aay, for some of the best tapas you'll ever eat!
* Great breakfast buffet - enough to set you up for the day!
* Some nice touches - free wi-fi being the best

The not-so-great
* My room was a little shabby. Nothing terrible, but the furniture and decor were quite tired
* The shower's pretty weedy; again, not a huge deal
* Room service restricted to just a few hours each evening
* The noise. Others have mentioned this, but the noise insulation is poor. I stayed on the top floor and could hear doors closing and toilets flushing downstairs. It wasn't as bad as some hotels, but if you're super-sensitive to noise, take earplugs!

All in all, a great, friendly and decent-value hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritishDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

This was our second stay in hotel Rekord. We've been here in January 2009 and really liked the hotel. At that time there were only a few visitors and our general impression was very good.
Over the last 1,5 years we've stayed in more than 15 hotels all over Europe and ... maybe we got spoiled a bit. Maybe our standards got up a bit...

When we arrived last week our first contact with the reception lady was fantastic. She was very friendly and even spoke a few words of Duch.
But when we arrived in the junior suite we were a little bit dissapointed. The furniture was old, a sofa with a few stains, some humidity-stains on the wall (in the corner). The bathroom was really outdated and the biggest problem: you can hear all your neighbours (when they walk around, when they use the shower or toillet, when they open a door, even when they move a chair). You definetely need earplugs to get some sleep here. The next morning the noice pollution started round 6 AM ...

I have to say the 2nd and 3th night the hotel was much more quiet ... so maybe our 1st-night-neighbours were to blaim.

The breakfast is sober, but really tasty and very clean. The breakfast lady is so friendly and nice.

The hotel offers free laptops, printers, umbrellas, etc... Each day somebody comes to your room with the weather forecast for the next day.

After a 3-night stay our review is: maybe 1 star too much because it is a bit outdated and rather noicy, but this hotel has a very helpful and friendly staff.
Because of this staff we might consider coming back to this hotel on our next visit to amazing Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PH_KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Hotel Rekord is a very small hotel with just 17 rooms spread over 6 floors. The lobby, the breakfast room and the rooms themselves are very nice, modern design, state-of-the-art. Only the elevator and the stairs as well as some of the bathrooms could get a face-lift, but other than that very modern boutique hotel. The service is unbelievable: you have internet for free, breakfast is superb, between 5 and 9 pm there is coffee and cookies for free, you can get a hometrainer for your room, ... this makes it a very special atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FQL_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Just returned from an 11 night European family vacation. We booked this hotel for a 1 night/2 room post cruise stay.
We arrived early and one room was immediately available. We took our luggage to the one room and started to get settled in. The woman at the front desk Norlyn was fantastic. She offered our family access to the free breakfast even though we were only staying one night. Our room came with breakfast and VAT included. She also gave us laptop computers to use in both rooms.
Our two teenage daughter immediately went on the internet to catch up on the past 10 days.
The rooms were big, very modern and clean. Although the mattresses were abit thin we were quite comfortable. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood in/near the business district. The service here is top notch. Fresh fruit was brought to our rooms during the day.
We took a taxi to the La Rambla and shopped on our last day in Europe.
I highly recommend this hidden gem of a hotel to anyone who wants a quiet, modern, service oriented hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steviek49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Zenit Borrell
Hotel Zenit Borrell
#326 of 512 in Barcelona
529 reviews
Mercure Barcelona Condor
#305 of 512 in Barcelona
132 reviews
Hotel Zenit Barcelona
#292 of 512 in Barcelona
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Entenza
NH Barcelona Entenza
#290 of 512 in Barcelona
342 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#168 of 512 in Barcelona
1,266 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Abbot
Hotel Abbot
#464 of 512 in Barcelona
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rekord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rekord

Property: Hotel Rekord
Address: Calle Muntaner, 352, 08021 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#48 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#189 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rekord 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona's Hotel Rekord is an oasis of peace, offering its customers exquisite, personalized attention. Fully up-to-date, it has preserved the classical spaciousness of its rooms, refurbished to meet the demands of today's customer. Splendidly equipped, it boasts all the services of a four-star hotel. The Hotel Rekord awaits you with all its five senses aimed at achieving excellence. A small boutique hotel in the business center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rekord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rekord Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Rekord Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing