We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming city hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rekord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rekord
Ranked #318 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Charming city hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2007

We have stayed in rekord Barcelona for 2 nights and are highly satisfied with the hotel. Actually, we wanted to book Casa Camper first, but then the friends told us about Rekord. So we have booked this hotel and were glad afterwards, we decided for it. The location is a nice residential street, yet pretty central, you need only 7 minutes by subway to La Rambla. And subway station is on the other side of the road. We used subway the first day, and taxis afterwards, because taxis are pretty cheap and you get a taxi anyware. Hotel is very clean and nice modern style. The staff was friendly and breakfast OK, you get everything you need to start the day with. The only disappointment was a check out, because the girl on reception couldn't really speak English or any other language. So we have soent the first 10 minutes explaining her, which address should be written on the invoice, and the next 10 minutes waiting for the invoice. The waiting was in vain, because the girl couldn't print it because of some problems with the printer, so we just payed and left without invoice, bacause we were in a hurry for the airport. We hope they send us the invoice per post as promised.
In spite of this accident I highl reccomend this hotel for every one, who like the cosy,quiet and not overcrowded hotels.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — check out
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    91
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
42
104
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bielefeld
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2007

We stayed here for the last 3 days of our honeymoon in Catalonia. We booked it just a few days before arriving for a very reasonable price of around €90/night. Our stay there was great! Staff very friendly and spoke English, room had a living area and lots of extras like bathrobes, tea/coffee etc., only 3 underground stops from "Las Ramblas". All in all, everything we needed for the few days in Barcelona!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bielefeld07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volos, Greece
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2007

my family and our friends , seven persons stayed at the Rekord hotel on August 2007 .First of all i would like to mention how friendly and caring is the reception .Smiling Norlyn and Raluca always ready to fullfill all our needs ( they changed two of our rooms to superiors , with no extra charge ).Rooms and bathrooms huge, with so many toilettries .Breakfast and the staff in the small though satisfactory breakfast room very good ( taste the small sandwitches with tuna , either ham , or the small sausages etc.).Internet connection free .Two train stations ( not metro ) from Plaza Cataluna .Very good choice.

  • Liked — double rooms huge as suites , friendly staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kyriaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2006

Just a quick note to let you know that this hotel is realy nice and very good value for money. If you are looking for a little bit of luxuri at reasonable prices this is the place to be. The rooms are realy nice and they look like exacly as they do in the hotel web site. The brekfast buffet is great. It is always well stoked up with lots of nice and tasty items. ( try the mini chorizos with scramble eggsor the spanish potatos and spinash omelets).
The hotel in general is very nice and located in a very nice area, only 1/2 hour walk to the Catalunya Square or a short taxi ride
( about 5 euros) but what really made our stay was the staff. All staff were very polite, friendly, efficient with excelent level of english. Patricia in reception and the lady who looks after the brekfast room in the morning deserve a big thank you.
So if you are going to Barcelona for a short break and and like me were not sure which hotel to book, I can guarantee that you wont regret booking this hotel. It is realy a very,very nice place to stay!!

  • Liked — The Rooms
  • Disliked — Hotel Front Door Opening Systrem at Evenings
  • Tips/Secrets — meka sure if you book a Double Superior you ask for a proper double bed and not twon single put togheter
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2006

My wife and I arrived at 1200 following our flght from Dulles via Paris on Air France and we couldn't have been more pleased with the reception, accomodation and service. Our top floor room, the rear loft, very quiet, was uniquely decorated, quite large with a skylight, king size comfortable bed, comfy robes, desk, sofa, TV, stereo and exercise bike (didn't use with all the walking we did!). The single rose flower in the bath was a nice touch!
Their breafast was fresh, abundant and well maintained. The staff was very helpful, from referring local restaurants (the italian one across the street is very good & mid-priced), to providing a laptop free in my room so I could deal with an urgent business problem.
Its location is very convenient. We walked to the Sagrada Familia from the hotel (nice & easy), and walked back from Park Guell (it's mostly downhill). We used the Mutaneer metro station at the hotel corner to go "downtown" & back.
The ranking on this hotel simply means it hasn't been discovered yet. That's fine for all the folks like us who like staying at "boutique" hotels with reasonable prices that delivers outstanding value and vacation enjoyment.
We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrahcirB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2005

We have just returned from spending two weeks in Spain and have to comment on Hotel Rekord. We loved this place. It was without doubt, the best place we stayed. I was concerned about the location because I thought that it was too far from the city centre. Hotel Rekord is 3 metro stops from the Ramblas. The metro stop is a stones throw (not kidding here) from the hotel. It took less that 10 minutes to get from the city centre to the hotel.

The rooms are very nice. We stayed in rooms 201 and 402. Both were great. Room 402 was at the back of the hotel so it was quieter but the hotel is in such a quiet neighbourhood that even though 201 was streetside it was still relatively quiet. Room 402 was a suite. It had a sitting room with a desk and a separate bedroom. Room 201 is one big room. We loved both rooms.

Both rooms are well equiped. They both have a kettle with the makings for coffee and tea. There was a plate of freshly cut fruit in the room on the day that we arrived. The rooms have at least one tv (the suite had one in the sitting room and one in the bedroom), a cd player, several phones, comfy bathrobes and slippers. The bathrooms are stocked with shampoo, soap, hair dryer etc. something that I took forgranted until we stayed at many other places that cost more and had none of these things.

Breakfast was yummy. Lots of pastries, fresh fruit, cheese, eggs, bacon, sausages, cereal etc.

The staff were also fabulous. We asked to borrow one of the laptops and it was brought to our room. When we couldn't get it to work, Susanna came up to help and ended up letting us using it in another room as our connection wasn't working.

I highly recommend this hotel. The location is great, very quiet at night. Lots of beautiful shops nearby and close to transit.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2005

This is truly a little gem in Barcelona. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are immaculate, breakfasts are generous, and the overall feeling is warm and welcoming.
My friend and I shared a room that was in fact a junior suite - there was a sitting area with a comfy sofa and coffee table, a desk and chair (guests can borrow a laptop from Reception), and more than enough closet space. The marble walls and floor of the bathroom were nice and cool, and the biggest treat was a bathtub (as well as a shower) - unusual in European hotels.
There is a bus stop across the road from the hotel, with two buses that go to Placa Catalunya, and a Metro station just a few steps past the bus stop. There's a grocery store no more than a four minute walk away, open until 2100, good for snacks as well as real food. The rooms are quiet, even though Carrer Muntaner is a main road - and there are three layers of curtain, so you can have as much or as little light as you wish.
We were very happy with our stay, and wouldn't hesitate in the least to stay at the lovely little Hotel Rekord in the future.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank TravellerPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Mercure Barcelona Condor
#310 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Hotel Zenit Barcelona
#296 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#162 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Guitart Grand Passage
Guitart Grand Passage
#342 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Zenit Borrell
Hotel Zenit Borrell
#322 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Hotel Catalonia Barcelona 505
#323 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rekord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rekord

Property: Hotel Rekord
Address: Calle Muntaner, 352, 08021 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#48 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#186 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rekord 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona's Hotel Rekord is an oasis of peace, offering its customers exquisite, personalized attention. Fully up-to-date, it has preserved the classical spaciousness of its rooms, refurbished to meet the demands of today's customer. Splendidly equipped, it boasts all the services of a four-star hotel. The Hotel Rekord awaits you with all its five senses aimed at achieving excellence. A small boutique hotel in the business center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rekord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rekord Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Rekord Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing