We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will return on a lot of counts....”
Review of Catalonia Born

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Born
Ranked #45 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“will return on a lot of counts....”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

slap bang in El Born district and minutes walk from Arc de Triomph metro station this hotel is in my favourite are of Barcelona. Stayed 3 nights alone but never felt so, surrounded by all little chic bars and restaurants. Had a suite (a very small amount extra only) so had terrace and easy access to pool which is small but nice. Great value for money, excellent friendly staff so if you want a good hotel, on a reasonable budget in old Barca then this is a good option

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGreenTravelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoniaMatheuBarcelona, Director General at Catalonia Born, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Sirs,
The Hotel Catalonia Born team wants to thank the comments made after your visit last January. We are pleased that you enjoyed some nice days and that the area where the hotel is located you liked.
Reiterating my thanks, warmest regards,
Sonia Matheu
HC BORN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,001
    468
    107
    34
    22
See reviews for
189
570
68
442
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Our rooms was facing inwards but meant that it was private and peaceful. The location of this hotel was the main reason for booking and this didn't disappoint! We loved the close proximity to all the major areas and that the hotel meant we were never far from a good public transport facility. We loved our first trip to Barcelona and would not hesitate coming here again. Also the little restuarant opposite was a delight and we ate breakfast here each morning as we didn't book this through the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoniaMatheuBarcelona, Director General at Catalonia Born, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Sirs,
The team of the Hotel Catalonia Born and myself want to thank you for the time you spent writing comments about our hotel.
We regret that the hotel experience was not as good as you expected.
I would like to report that we have been changing all hotel mattresses and are now all of a high quality, so that at the next visit, I'd greet you, hoping they can be just as you deserve.
Warmest regards,

Sonia Matheu
director
BORN HC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend and I wanted somewhere quite central - and this place is it! Very close to a metro station and within walking distance to major sights. Didn't take public transport at all other than to go to the airport!

Also there were two fantastic restaurants across the road - a tapas and a Japanese place - very handy particularly the tapas place for breakfast.

The room was of a great size and well furnished. The only negative is that those same fantastic restaurants kick on until the early hours 2-3am and even on level 6 (almost the top floor) it's still quite noisy if your room faces the street.

The reception staff were very friendly and offered a welcome drink at the bar when I checked in - didn't get a chance to use the drink voucher though.

All in all, a great little hotel and it's good value - maybe try to get a room away from the street.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank mookiejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoniaMatheuBarcelona, Director General at Catalonia Born, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Sirs,
The Hotel Catalonia Born team wants to thank the comments made after your visit last December. We are pleased that you enjoyed some nice days and that the area where the hotel is located you liked. Currently the Born is a fashionable neighborhood, where you can find many trendy places such as restaurants, shops, architecture, etc..
Reiterating my thanks, warmest regards,
Sonia Matheu
HC BORN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Catalonia Born is in a quiet and alittle hard to find neighborhood. However, once there, it is easy to navigate the city and is accessible to everywhere. We walked from here to many of the "must see" areas. The hotel room was large and comfortable. We were on the first floor and it was quiet, except for the large door that separates the rooms from the lobby. Our room was clean and refreshed regularly. The staff was very helpful and accomodating. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyG221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoniaMatheuBarcelona, Director General at Catalonia Born, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Madam,
First, I want to thank you for the time you've spent to write some comments about your stay at our hotel. My team and myself are very happy to know that you have spent some happy days and you were able to rest properly.
Waiting to greet you again, Yours very sincerely,
Sonia Matheu
Directora
HC BORN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend back in September. I had seen a few negative reviews but I was pleasantly surprised by how good a hotel it really was. Before even arriving we experienced excellent customer service from reception who said we would be welcome to leave our baggage there (as we arrived in the morning) so we could make the most of our time in Barcelona. As it happened, when we did arrive, our room was already ready for us which was fantastic. We had booked a suite which was huge on two storeys and had it's own private terrace which was not overlooked by anyone.
The location is really good, near the metro but also walking distance to a lot of the attractions such as the seafront, marina, ramblas, st jaime square. We only ever took public transport twice; to the airport and to Montjuic.
The swimming pool is small so you can't do any serious swimming but a nice option to have if you want a quick dip.
The breakfasts were amazing. I agree 16euros is a little on the expensive side but with a big selection, you can fill up so it keeps you going most of the day. I didn't mind paying it anyway and did so every day.
The staff were really friendly and attentive without being at all in your face. They were there and efficient whenever you needed them and left you to it when you didn't.
We had no problems with any noise at all.
All in all we had a wonderful time and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoniaMatheuBarcelona, Director General at Catalonia Born, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear costumers,

We appreciate the comments made about the hotel.
We're glad you could rest properly, no noise and the area your liking. El Born is now one of the trendiest neighborhoods of Barcelona, since it converge on culture, fashion, tourism, food, etc.. It is an area well served by public transport and is next to the city center.
Again, I reiterate my thanks, hoping to be able to welcome you on your next visit to Barcelona.
Sincerely,
Sonia Matheu
BORN HC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Recently returned we found the hotel to be well maintained, clean and spacious. Staff generally spoke good english and were helpful. The hotel is located in a quiet side street and although there is a restaurant situated opposite the hotel entrance we did not find the noise intrusive and slept well. The hotel is well situated to explore barcelona on foot. The metro is not far away and there is a good bus service. However, if you turn left when leaving the hotel and follow the side streets a 10 minute walk will take you to the cathedral. If you keep following the side roads in the same direction you cannot get lost as you will eventually come across Las Ramblas which runs from catalunya square to port vell on the seafront. Sagrada Familia is just a 15 minute walk northwards from the arc del triompf. At Catalunya square we caught the tourist bus after buying a 2 day pass. We enjoyed both routes on day 1 and then `cherry picked` where we wanted to get on and off the next day. We found this a good way to see the city in a short space of time.
The hotel restaurant was a good size and the breakfast was varied, including a hot buffet, pastries, toast, fruit etc. I thought that at 16 euros a head it was slightly expensive but it was good quality, covenient and filling.
All in all i thought that our stay was good value for money and i would recommend the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoniaMatheuBarcelona, Director General at Catalonia Born, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Costumer,

First of all, I appreciate the time dedicated to write a few lines about our hotel.
My team and myself are very happy that your stay was of acceptance and you were able to spend some unforgettable days in Barcelona.
Hoping to welcoming you to a future visit to Barcelona, I send my most cordial and friendly greeting,

Sonia Matheu
Directora
HC BORN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,092 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,404 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#51 of 513 in Barcelona
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
909 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 513 in Barcelona
1,338 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Born

Property: Catalonia Born
Address: Rec Comtal 16-18, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Princesa Hotel )
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#160 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#178 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Born 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Princesa is located in a magnificent building typical of the architecture of Barcelona's gothic quarter. Near the Arco de Triunfo and the Ciudadela Park, it is situated in the historic and commercial centre of Barcelona, only a few minutes away from Plaza Catalunya. Our clients have a range of facilities at their disposal, including a bar/cafeteria, a traditional Mediterranean restaurant and a conference room. There is a public car park next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Born reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Born Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Princesa
Catalonia Princesa Barcelona
Catalonia Born Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing