We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Elj Apo Nes

Elj Apo Nes
Ranked #5,285 of 9,585 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The food is very good. Staff is friendly and the place is really clean and tidy. Very nice decoration. There's a bar where you can get a drink if you have to wait to get a table assigned.
I'd recomend getting a little bit of everything and share it all, because there's so much good stuff to try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisloosli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“fun relaxed sushi”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Not a typical sushi scene but very clean, good sushi. Efficient service. Would def. return. The seaweed salad was excellent and the wine was good as well. I think the cocktails are very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fabiolaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
582 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Based on the ground floor of the building which also houses Tragaluz, I would suggest you head upstairs as Tragaluz is rather better than Elj Apo Nes.

The menu is a list of dishes available in Spanish and in English but not easy to understand unless you speak fluent Japanese food. There's little explanation and it's hard to guess how big any dish will be.

Taking a tapas type approach, our party of 3 ordered 7 dishes including 2 of the specials, 2 tempura, 2 sushi and a plate of sashimi. The specials - ceviche and a salmon dish served on chicory leaves - were excellent, as was the sashimi. The tempura vegetables were generously portioned, the prawns less so. But the sushi was poor. One listed as containing crab had 'crabstick' which really isn't the same thing. The other was deep fried. I didn't choose it -one of my colleagues picked that dish - but none of us liked it.

Puddings were excellent but there was a hair on my chocolate sushi. €115 for three of us including 4 tiny beers, a wine and a small bottle of water. Barcelona is never cheap but this didn't seem great value to me.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Koshkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sushi lovers, don't hold your breath, there's better out there...”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Pleasant restaurant, VERY clean, friendly, nice atmosphere but the sushi side is not as special as one would hope. It is perfectly edible and nothing drastically wrong with it... but unfortunately is flat, no fantasy at all, no spice, and... oh well... it is all a bit average I'm afraid... Still , the miso soup was excellent. There! I found a reason to give it another chance on my next trip to BCN.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bessadina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant loo, brilliant food, brilliant service”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I occasionally got to this restaurant which is located on one of the nicest streets of central Barcelona. The restaurant offers an exotic blend of Japanese food and the Tapas concept. The service was very attentive from the moment we walked into the restaurant, the food was great both in its looks and its taste. The only thing we were sorry about was that we could not try more dishes from the menu as we were too full for that - will keep these for the next visit

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elj Apo Nes also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Elj Apo Nes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing