We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great situation, and on a budget good value”
Review of Roma Reial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roma Reial Hotel
Ranked #336 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights...we were on a budget and found this hotel, it is a one star so we were not expecting much, and figured we would only be there to sleep.
In fact for the money it was ok, clean linen, and clean towels daily, a basic breakfast , but that too was ok.
I read the reviews after we had booked and was quite worried re night reception man...in fact he was a very helpful man,and it seems that whole review is all lies! thankfully.
I think for the money, the location more than makes up for anything lacking, I do recommend sleeping in a room at the back, because if you have a room at the front you will not sleep, the plaza is full of life till the early hours.!

Room Tip: Room at the back if sleep is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank fay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel is in a perfect position for Las Rambla and all metro links. We stayed for three nights, the hotel is a no frills ,basic but very clean hotel,pillows a little hard, bedding and towels changed daily. Breakfast basic continental but nice bread !. We asked for a balcony room overlooking the sqaure but in the height summer if you needed the window open it would be noisy. Our room did have a fan, tv but no remote, but then the time we were in their we didnt need one as the nightly buskers kept us entertained from our balcony. Intend to stay here again next year as three nights just not enough for this great City.The food in the restaurants in the square were very reasonable but watch the price of the drinks in the Roma Reial as we had one vodka and tonic they charged 9€ for the vodka and 9€ for the tonic!!!!

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking sq if you want to experience the night life but can be noisy if windows open. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Sleeping was all that this hotel was good for.
Breakfast.......don't ask......don't try..... go outsid the hotel to one of the cafes.
Hotel bar.... fine for drinks and light tapas but it is located outside the hotel upon a court yard which is used by the public and therefore no seating is reserved for the hotel guests so not always easy to use.
Rooms..... very very basic but clean. The beds are comfortable but ear plugs are a must as the walls are paper thin.
As long as a bed is all you require whilst visiting Barcelona then this is hotel is ideal as the location is perfect, just off Las Ramblas and only a short walk to the harbour.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serena j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel was in a great location, situated in the corner of the plaza. The reception staff were all very helpful and friendly as were the breakfast room ladies. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean, good hot showers and free air conditioning. Plenty "all you can eat " continental breakfast.
We had a room on the 5th floor at the rear and slept well during our 4 night stay , having read previous reviews we were worried about noise but think we left just in time as the weekend groups of youngsters were arriving. The fact that you can just walk outside into the square and through the cloisters to La Rambla, the Barri Gotic and the vibrant life of Barcelona.

Room Tip: For a view over the plaza ask for a room at the front depending on season and noise but for how much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I pretty much agree with the review of Glosss. We had a room overlooking the Plaça. I didn't think that it was particularly noisy and had good night's sleep during my 3 day stay. The room was cleaned every day with clean fresh towels too. The staff are superb. Very helpful and extremely polite. Breakfast is very basic so we took some cheese and cooked meats to supplement it.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank KnockerKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had we realised that the primary market for this hotel appears to be high school student groups we would have rethought our booking.
The beds, two separate singles with no chance of pushing them together, were hard and the pillows were low.
The room was clean with airconditioning and maids came in every day but it certainly wasn't a room with a view.
Every door that closed, even the snoring from our neighbours could be heard through the walls so a solid night's sleep wasn't guaranteed when we stayed there.
The breakfast was simple but plenty of it served between 8 and 10am.
It's a prime location for Las Ramblas and the Old Town but don't expect any frills or a good night's sleep... but I guess you get what you pay for...

Room Tip: Not the fifth floor as you don't get a view of the Placa Reial
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Animale_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed one night with my wife and 2 kids. Don't expect the big luxury hotel. We had a small room with a double and two single beds and a bathroom with toilet and bath/douche. There is no big buffet for breakfast, but everything is very tasty.
But the place where the hotel is, with the view on the Placa Reial (Do make sure you have a room with the view on the Placa) is fantastic. For that price at that location. Do not hesitate to book a room. You are in the middle of the action with the Rambla very near and lots of bars and restaurants at your feet.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a window to the Placa Reial. It's magnificent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tjorven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Peninsular
Hotel Peninsular
#369 of 517 in Barcelona
751 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#238 of 517 in Barcelona
533 reviews
El Raval
Hostal River
Hostal River
#385 of 517 in Barcelona
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#413 of 517 in Barcelona
252 reviews
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#388 of 517 in Barcelona
205 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona House
Hotel Barcelona House
#270 of 517 in Barcelona
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma Reial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Reial Hotel

Address: Plaza Reial 11, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £34 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Roma Reial Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Roma Reial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Reial Barcelona
Roma Reial Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing