We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for girls weekend away”
Review of Hotel Condestable

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Condestable
Ranked #418 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just returned from 2 nights in Barcelona. we were a groups of 7 ladies and had the triple and quadruple rooms on the 3rd floor
The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were basic but clean and perfect for purpose.
The location of hotel was excellent - perfect for the Aerobus and the city tour buses and near La Ramblas
Yes the walls are thin but can't complain as the only noise we did hear was our friends in the room next door. The beds were comfortable and the shower was powerful
The hotel has lockers for luggage which were 2euros
Breakfast was a selection of cheese,meat, cakes, bread and croissant. Again basic but enough to start the day off
Wifi was weak above the 2nd floor but we weren't in Barcelona to look at emails.

In summary cheap and cheerful, basic but location superb

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurabcakemix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

This was the first time that I have been to Barcelona and booked this hotel based on its low price and a recommendation from a friend. The hotel is fantastically located to the central square, tourist bus routes, local amenities plus the buzzling Las Ramblas. The hotel itself was very clean, welcoming reception staff and our room was cleaned on a daily basis. The bedrooms and breakfast were basic, but that was expected with the price paid. Our room had two balconies to sit out on, and although situated on a main road with two bars below, noise was not an issue at all. Would definitely recommend to others who are visiting Barcelona on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

very convenient location with most of the attractions and shopping areas at a walking distance.The subway stop, the aerobus stop and many bus stops are just outside the door of the hotel. Of course the hotel is not a fancy one but the room, the staff and the level of cleanliness are accepted regarding what you pay. We didn't try breakfast, there are lots of bakeries and grocery shops just outside the hotel door. The most negative point is the noise you get from the surrounding rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrocks_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here due to a transfer from a hostel, therefore our expectation was for a hostel. Would say that this 'hotel' is a hostel with a daily room service.
We were really pleased, great reception service and welcome. Had to pay tourist tax, that we were not made aware of, but was only around 7€ for two of us for 5 nights.
Our room was small but big enought for two of us. It was clean and has all facilities, however can understand the comments as it did need a little TLC, for example, the curtain needed to be fixed and a few floor tiles replaced. However, we were pleased as this was just a base for us for our stay.
Great location, close to Metro, 24hr supermarket and Starbucks! But the breakfast was also good on the 2nd floor.
We requested to be in a room on the outer of the hotel and also no higher than the 3rd floor so that we had good WiFi signal due to previous comments and the hotel obliged with our requests. WiFi was fine throughout.
We were expecting noise from other rooms but we didn't hear any at all. The cleaners were polite and did a great job. Perhaps a few more pillows would have been to our personal preference. (only one flat one each).
Overall, great stay, was slightly better than our hostel expectation.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebekahFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I was really disappointed with this hotel. I stayed here as part of a GAP trip. If you are doing a GAP trip that includes this hotel as a starting or ending place, I do not recommend you buy extra night from GAP. There are nicer places to stay in Barcelona for the same price or maybe even cheaper. I had to change rooms once. The room I stayed in at least had a window to the street and I was able to let in some natural light and air. The room smelled like smoke even though there was a no smoking stiker up on the wall. The room was not very clean and the sheets although might have been clean where stained. The wifi did not work in the room but did work in the common area on another floor. The breakfast was okay. I moved to another hotel for my extended stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Went to Barcelona for the Celtic game recently. The hotel/hostel is in a good location near Barca city centre. Shame about the room we got put in as it faced into the centre of the building, so no view at all. The room was basic but we played loud music all night long and there were no issues!

Didnt make breakfast on any of the 4 nights so cant comment on this.

1 other point, we got into the room on our 1st day and it hadnt been cleaned.

Room Tip: Dont get a room that faces the centre of the buiding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Previous reviews were very helpful. The hotel is a 2* hotel and so do not expect anything luxurious. However it was clean, the room and bathroom were more than adequate for our stay which was purely to sleep there as there is so much to see in Barcelona. We asked for quiet room after previous comments and was very happy with the room we received. One major plus was the breakfast was actually very good for a continental breakfast. Previous comments on this were way off the mark

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
2  Thank NAIRB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
ILUNION Auditori
ILUNION Auditori
#297 of 516 in Barcelona
1,043 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 736 in Barcelona
1,600 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#122 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#67 of 736 in Barcelona
1,181 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 516 in Barcelona
3,893 reviews
Barcelona City North
#205 of 308 in Barcelona
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condestable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condestable

Address: Ronda Universidad 1, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £74 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Condestable 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Condestable reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condestable Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Condestable Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing