We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Condestable

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Condestable
Ranked #393 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Kent England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Went to barcelona with our 13year old grandson as it was a birthday treat for him as he wanted to visit sagrada familia .The hotel very good value clean and very well located .This was our first trip to this city it was fantastic as our grandson is into architecture this was excellent for him as the city and outskirts were amazing with some of the best buildings we have seen and the history is amazing to,we would definitely go again and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    141
    98
    27
    17
See reviews for
60
90
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just returned from 2 nights in Barcelona. we were a groups of 7 ladies and had the triple and quadruple rooms on the 3rd floor
The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were basic but clean and perfect for purpose.
The location of hotel was excellent - perfect for the Aerobus and the city tour buses and near La Ramblas
Yes the walls are thin but can't complain as the only noise we did hear was our friends in the room next door. The beds were comfortable and the shower was powerful
The hotel has lockers for luggage which were 2euros
Breakfast was a selection of cheese,meat, cakes, bread and croissant. Again basic but enough to start the day off
Wifi was weak above the 2nd floor but we weren't in Barcelona to look at emails.

In summary cheap and cheerful, basic but location superb

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurabcakemix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

This was the first time that I have been to Barcelona and booked this hotel based on its low price and a recommendation from a friend. The hotel is fantastically located to the central square, tourist bus routes, local amenities plus the buzzling Las Ramblas. The hotel itself was very clean, welcoming reception staff and our room was cleaned on a daily basis. The bedrooms and breakfast were basic, but that was expected with the price paid. Our room had two balconies to sit out on, and although situated on a main road with two bars below, noise was not an issue at all. Would definitely recommend to others who are visiting Barcelona on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

very convenient location with most of the attractions and shopping areas at a walking distance.The subway stop, the aerobus stop and many bus stops are just outside the door of the hotel. Of course the hotel is not a fancy one but the room, the staff and the level of cleanliness are accepted regarding what you pay. We didn't try breakfast, there are lots of bakeries and grocery shops just outside the hotel door. The most negative point is the noise you get from the surrounding rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrocks_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here due to a transfer from a hostel, therefore our expectation was for a hostel. Would say that this 'hotel' is a hostel with a daily room service.
We were really pleased, great reception service and welcome. Had to pay tourist tax, that we were not made aware of, but was only around 7€ for two of us for 5 nights.
Our room was small but big enought for two of us. It was clean and has all facilities, however can understand the comments as it did need a little TLC, for example, the curtain needed to be fixed and a few floor tiles replaced. However, we were pleased as this was just a base for us for our stay.
Great location, close to Metro, 24hr supermarket and Starbucks! But the breakfast was also good on the 2nd floor.
We requested to be in a room on the outer of the hotel and also no higher than the 3rd floor so that we had good WiFi signal due to previous comments and the hotel obliged with our requests. WiFi was fine throughout.
We were expecting noise from other rooms but we didn't hear any at all. The cleaners were polite and did a great job. Perhaps a few more pillows would have been to our personal preference. (only one flat one each).
Overall, great stay, was slightly better than our hostel expectation.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebekahFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I was really disappointed with this hotel. I stayed here as part of a GAP trip. If you are doing a GAP trip that includes this hotel as a starting or ending place, I do not recommend you buy extra night from GAP. There are nicer places to stay in Barcelona for the same price or maybe even cheaper. I had to change rooms once. The room I stayed in at least had a window to the street and I was able to let in some natural light and air. The room smelled like smoke even though there was a no smoking stiker up on the wall. The room was not very clean and the sheets although might have been clean where stained. The wifi did not work in the room but did work in the common area on another floor. The breakfast was okay. I moved to another hotel for my extended stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Went to Barcelona for the Celtic game recently. The hotel/hostel is in a good location near Barca city centre. Shame about the room we got put in as it faced into the centre of the building, so no view at all. The room was basic but we played loud music all night long and there were no issues!

Didnt make breakfast on any of the 4 nights so cant comment on this.

1 other point, we got into the room on our 1st day and it hadnt been cleaned.

Room Tip: Dont get a room that faces the centre of the buiding
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Marvi
Hotel Marvi
#326 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#372 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Eixample
H10 Universitat Hotel
H10 Universitat Hotel
#143 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#368 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Eixample
THE HOTEL 592
THE HOTEL 592
#102 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Eixample
Backpacker's House Bcn
Backpacker's House Bcn
#470 of 757 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condestable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condestable

Property: Hotel Condestable
Address: Ronda Universidad 1, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Condestable 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Condestable reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condestable Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Condestable Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing