We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent stay for the price point”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Condestable

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Condestable
Ranked #391 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent stay for the price point”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed for several nights and found the hotel to be clean, priced right and in the right location from which to travel to all points in the city. You won't be blown away by the service but it's expected for the price. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    141
    98
    27
    17
See reviews for
60
90
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for one night as a sightseeing sleepover. We were able to book a quardruple room for myself, hubbie and two teenagers at a very reasonable price. We were just over the road from La Rambla, so very central and in the hub of the city. Our room was basic, but very clean, comfortable and with two bathrooms that were spotless. We had free wi-fi that worked and a free safe which was great for passports, etc. The hotel staff went out of their way to help and were able to help with tourist reductions on the hop on and off bus touristic and even walked us outside to show us the bus stop!. Also helped us to find affordable parking just over the road. A great little hotel in the heart of the city, could not fault it.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a comfortable, friendly hotel at a reasonable price, we recommend this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leginlorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Ronda Universitat 1, Barcelona - 5 minute walk from Placa Universitat train station. Few blocks away from Plaza Cataluna, where you can catch hop on/hop off buses and bus to/from airport. Small hotel, not a lot of walking space in room, but clean. Although on busy street, not too loud at night. Beds not plush. Very nice staff and hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaIsabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Returned from Barcelona just a few days ago! Condestable is a 20-30 minute drive from the airport! Driver helped us to identify our stop! On arrival the hotel is in the best location connected to las ramblas.
The room was clean perfect size. Bathroom looked new, again very clean, room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels. Excellent value for money! Only negative... The bed... It was like sleeping on concrete!! Other than that perfect for a 3 night city break!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa112a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WESTFORD
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Overall we enjoyed our five night stay at the hotel. It was centrally located for our daily site seeing excursions. Rooms were good size with a comfortable king size bed and a small balcony overlooking the outdoor courtyard. Daily service in the room was very good. The only negatives were the incremental charges to listen to music on the TV. I was charged 18 Euro for an hour & half of music. And, 31.50 Euro to launder a couple of pair of underware and a couple of socks. You get free WIFI if you have a smart phone or tablet but not if you use their in house PC. I had to use my credit card @ 0.20 Euro per minute with a minimum 10 minutes required.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the courtyard on the second floor or higher. Quieter with no street level no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Ok for a few days break & not too far from the metro. Paid 90 Euro's for 3 nights so not bad. No tea & coffee making facilities in the room plus the walls are paper thin which means you hear everything your neighbour are doing! Nothing glamorous but did the job.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

this is the 3rd time I have stayed at this hotel. Good central location near toCatalunya square and Ramblas. The restaurant has had a thorough revamp since my last visit and although breakfast is basic ,it is adequate. The staff are very helpful and always available to help. Loved the size of the bath towels!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rikki_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Marvi
Hotel Marvi
#314 of 521 in Barcelona
369 reviews
El Raval
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
HLG CityPark Pelayo Hotel
#370 of 521 in Barcelona
312 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#368 of 521 in Barcelona
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Universitat Hotel
H10 Universitat Hotel
#146 of 521 in Barcelona
1,478 reviews
Eixample
THE HOTEL 592
THE HOTEL 592
#102 of 326 in Barcelona
50 reviews
Eixample
Backpacker's House Bcn
Backpacker's House Bcn
#469 of 759 in Barcelona
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condestable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condestable

Property: Hotel Condestable
Address: Ronda Universidad 1, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Condestable 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Condestable reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condestable Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Condestable Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing