We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for student getaways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona
Ranked #181 of 759 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for student getaways”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Met our needs as we wanted cheap and cheerful accomadation. The staff were very friendly and accomadating. Great breakfast choice and enough to keep you ticking over until. Central location and easy to get to and from the airport. The only downside would be that the rooms were shared out poorly, old men being able to see young girls sleep isnt ideal. Overall, fine for student holidays!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bergin94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    131
    86
    39
    25
See reviews for
4
25
108
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

The location is great and there's free breakfast BUT....

We checked in and were shown to our beds, which were on the top "bunk" - which was really a shelf built onto the wall. This part was fine, until we went to climb up and realized that not only had they crammed two mattresses into the space where every other person only had one bed, but there was clothes, trash and crumbs in the bed leftover from the person before!! The receptionist was embarrassed and hurriedly tried to clean up our beds. My friend and I were traveling together, so sharing the bed space was fine for us, but had it been some stranger crawling in I would've not been comfortable at all. They only give you one sheet as well.

Also, there were people having sex in a bed below us for the majority of the night but that's the people staying there and not the hostel's fault - although you can buy condoms from a vending machine in the hallway!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Equity point is located in the best part of town in terms of sight seeing. Not only is it in the gothic quarter right next to the picasso museum and santa maria del mar, it is 10 minutes from the beach, 10 mins from las ramblas and you will hardly need to take the metro anywhere! The location is honestly second to none and if you're looking to explore Barcelona at ease, this is your place.

Although i'm not a pessimistic person i must agree with prior reviews that it is very difficult to sleep here, but when sharing a room with many people you should probably expect a certain amount of noise anyway. The only other complaint i can make is that the rooms are SOO dark. You could wake up at 3pm and assume it's still the middle of the night because the rooms just have no natural light whatsoever.

Equity point gothic do organise some fantastic free walking tours and i would take advantage of these as they are very informative and save you a lot of hassle. Particularly the Gaudi tour! It's hard to miss the essence of Barcelona in this hostel as they give you so much info on what's available.

In terms of eating there are loads of places to eat (head towards santa maria for the best ones) I would like to recommend one called "cheese me" which is on the pavillion near to santa maria del mar, who do a 3 course meal for £15. get the burger, it's absolutely delicious!

Another good place to eat is the 1 euro tapas place. Ask at reception they should know where it is.

To conclude, the hostel is in the ideal location, considering this and the price, the small pitfalls are bearable.

Room Tip: you should ask from a room by the window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleks19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Equity Point Gothic is an excellent choice for travelers on a budget. The location is fantastic (only 10 or so minutes from the cathedral, beach, and las ramblas), and it's super easy to find. The workers were friendly and very helpful. There were bunches of maps, guides, and books that gave us a good idea of what the city had to offer. As far as the rooms go, I had a top bunk in one of the larger rooms of 16 or so...climbing up and down was a bit of a challenge with all of my stuff. Nonetheless, the mattress was comfortable and I appreciated the curtains. The floor did squeak a bit, so I would recommend bringing some ear plugs or listening to some music to fall asleep to. There were enough bathrooms and showers (both of which were very clean), and the breakfast was fantastic. Overall, I would definitely stay here again, but only if I had a bottom bunk!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stittsville, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This was my second time staying here - the first was in 2009 when I was backpacking solo around Europe, and enjoying the party life. This trip was with my wife to show her Barcelona, so I booked three nights here, recalling my previous stay.

Firstly, it's conveniently located off the metro, and a short walk to the old gothic town and the beach. A great base of operations, with a very friendly staff.

The facilities are good too - a big common room, plenty of showers/bathroom space, and you have more privacy in the upper bunks than most other hostels. Plus if you're a couple, they give you a double-wide bunk instead of having to sleep separately, or in a single bed.

The downside: As other have mentioned, you won't sleep. The rooms are noisy, the floor boards always creak - especially in the upper bunks - and people will be turning on and off lights at all hours, waking you up. It's mainly for young partyers, who come back at 4-5am, and then crash. Either drunk or exhausted enough to sleep through anything.

The place has good service and free wifi in the lobby, as well as a free breakfast. Very basic, but you can't beat free at a hostel.

We ended up staying one night during which we got back at 1am to groups drinking and talking loudly in our room, who then left leaving their bunk lights on. After not sleeping at all, despite an eye mask, earplugs, and even listening to my iPod, we gave up and I booked us into a hotel (see AC Sants review).

Despite my experience - I must be getting old - it's still a place I highly recommend for backpackers!

Room Tip: If you're a couple, send an email requesting a large bunk so that you get a double bed. Upper b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Equity Point Gothic was my first option for this trip as I'd used Equity Point Girona several times before.

I was staying two nights and on arrival it was all that I'd hoped for. The staff spoke excellent English, making up for my weak Spanish. I was given a quick run down of the rules and everything was explained about breakfast times etc.

I'd chosen a mixed dorm and each bed had privacy curtains, locker, a night light and electric socket. The beds was comfy and I had no qualms about leaving some belongings on top of the locker.

The communal lounge area was in the process of being painted but there were still plenty of tables and seats available to sit and eat at, or consult a map or read. There was amplelocal information available. Internet Access is available and there are 3 or four vending machines. The toilet/shower areas were spotless.

If there was a downside to my visit, it was the noise created by other guests, usually letting the door close without closing it quietly but there's nothing the Hostel can do about that. My sleep was interupted but I always managed to roll over and continue sleeping.

The location is very good, two minutes from the Metro - Jaume I, a five minute walk to the Marina area and ten minutes to Placa Catalunya in the other direction.It's handy for the Zoo and Parliament of Catalunya.

Would I stay here again ? Yes, but only after trying the other two Equity Point hostels in Barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I went here off season. Rooms are good and they have even curtains for privacy. Bathroom where outside of the room. They had enough toilets. The showers where hot and well equipped. There was no free internet, and not a lot of ambiente, be it in the rooms or in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willem989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#86 of 759 in Barcelona
825 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#33 of 759 in Barcelona
410 reviews
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#132 of 759 in Barcelona
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
Equity Point Sea - Hostel Barcelona
El Born / La Ribera
360 Hostel Barcelona Arts&Culture
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Casa Blanca
Pension Casa Blanca
#113 of 326 in Barcelona
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona

Property: Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona
Address: C/ Vigatans 5, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera , Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 759 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equity Point Gothic Hotel Barcelona
Equity Point Gothic - Hostel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing