We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique gem right off La Rambla” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel DO
Ranked #8 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boutique gem right off La Rambla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels ever. Period. First and foremost, the staff provided flawless service and responded to all of my requests with zero pretense or fuss. The hotel overlooks the Plaça Reial, which is buzzing with activity day and night yet is buffered from the throngs of tourists along La Rambla. The 18-room boutique hotel and its outdoor restaurant engage this public space naturally yet maintain the proper degree of privacy. The rooms are well appointed yet uncluttered. I especially liked the inset wooden desk. The staff arranged for me to use the hotel spa on short notice, and all of the facilities were spotless.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    85
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
101
505
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quarryville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Cannot think of a single negative about the stay at this hotel. The concierge service was tremendous, room was excellent, breakfast was great & the location cannot be beat! Each afternoon they left treats in the room, chocolate covered strawberries, cookies or fresh apples were what we found on different days in the room. The robes and slippers and heated towel rack were an added bonus. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Barcelona!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Great location and lovely hotel. Clean and cute rooms and friendly staff. Only one small complaint is the noise from the square can get too much on a Friday or Saturday night, but then it is a busy square right in the heart of the old town. Beautiful and boutique and recommended by me.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights, excellent boutique accommodation with really nice touches, great staff and a great quality food in the restaurant. Great location from which to explore Barcelona, would happily return and recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing and memorable place to stay.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Runningthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Last day of holiday. Dropped hire car at airport and took taxi into Barcelona, before catching plane next day. Hotel located in Plaza of same name. Lovely square. Boutique Hotel is lovely. Very attentive from moment we arrived, taking luggage to rooms as we enjoyed free welcome drink in lounge/bar area. The rooms were very comfortable with great shower. best bed and pillows and wonderful sleep. We met friend for dinner and dined in hotel's gourmet restaurant. Treated with complimentary cava. We had 40 euro set menu which was lovely. Wines were great but Priorat I choose was expensive! At the end of meal waiter introduced the Chef to us. Memorable stay. Expensive stay but wonderful treat with great service

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jostony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Not a significant birthday, but a treat nonetheless. Reception staff, wonderfully welcoming, spotted the date from my passport and we were treated to a bottle of extremely good Cava next day. The restaurant was stylishly unostentatious and the food as impressive as the attentive, but not at all intrusive, service. Eating tapas on the terrace was also a delightful experience.

The room was comfortable and clean. Fresh fruit, chocolate treats, free mini bar of soft drinks all added to the feeling of luxury. And then there was the bathroom; beautifully fitted out and equipped with luxurious toiletries.

The jewel in the crown, though, was the staff. Nothing seemed too much trouble and there were always smiles. It is a wonderful place in a brilliant location and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notespinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

When I'm traveling on business, I'm a big fan of Four Seasons. I just want excellent and invisible service and bascically, as many of the creature comforts oh home as possible. But when traveling for pleasure, I prefer to be a "little closer to the ground". I want to know I'm NOT at home, but I don't want to sacrifice service, location or comfort. For this reason, I always seek out the best boutique hotel I can find. And WOW; this time I achieved a new high!

My husband and I and two teenagers spent four days in Barcelona during a three week trip to Spain in December (2012)/January (2013)

Hotel Do is, simply, perfect. A former youth hostel that underwent what must have been a tremendously costly reno and re-opened in it's current iteration in January? February? of 2013, it is 18 rooms of perfection. (Have I used that word often enough?) Located on the very busy and very centrally located Placa Reial, I suspected, regardless of what I read, that noise might be a bit of an issue, but I was willing to chance it, based on looks, reviews and location. First of all, they have nailed te noise issue. Shuttered windows blacked out not only all light, but all noise. Didn't hear a thing until we chose to. The ideal.

The rooms. What to say about the rooms. Dark hardwood flooring throughout both massive bedroom and massive bathroom meant we were traipsing around in (however clean) someone's else's DNA (yes, I'm one of those - lol). Beautiful white linens on the exceptionally comfortable king-sized bed, floor to ceiling, full-wall closets and a lovely little sitting area by the window (I'll attach a photo of the view from our room if I can figure out how) completed what is probably the "prettiest" and most functional hotel room I have ever stayed in.

The bathroom deserves it's own paragraph. The dark hardwood floors continue into the bathroom. A huge double vanity with ultra-modern, sleek and beautiful white sinks and fixtures gave of a very definite "spa" vibe. The rain-head shower, EASILY big enough for two people to shower together - errr....I think ......was a joy. Top-drawer amenities, (a selection of body soaps and shampoos - his and hers ) in pump bottles continued the spa feeling. And then we had the soaking tub. Not only the perfect size, but the perfect angle/slope to enjoy a good long read in the tub - a personal fave. At the far end of this already huge bathroom was the closed off toilet with a hammered (stainless steel?) door to ensure complete privacy.

Two quick and easy points that every other supposedly five star hotel could learn from. Every morning, a plate of chocolate-covered strawberries magically appeared in our room. And every evening, a plate a chocolate truffles. Small, but absolutely lovely gesture. Secondly, a pillow menu. THANK YOU GOD. I'm not as princessy as this may make me sound. I am 56 and have a neck that i would often like to disown. Having a choice of pillow firmnesses and filling was an ENORMOUS joy to me. I don't see that as often as I'd like and truly appreciate the extra effort and investment this option requires on the part of the hotel.

Service. Not ONCE did I call the front desk and wasn't immediately greeted by name. Not once did I make an enquiry that wasn't met with such genuine enthusiasm and - dare I say it - GRACE, that I finally asked what the secret was. Everyone seems so genuinely happy to be working there. Apparently the only "secret" is the family that owns the hotel genuinely wants everyone - including their employees - to be happy. This attitude was consistent throughout the hotel; front desk, bar, both restaurants.

The first night, exhausted, we elected to eat on the main floor outside dining patio. Three weeks in Spain (Madrid, Segovia, Barcelona, Toledo) and the Tapas we enjoyed there certainly ranked in the top four Tapas experiences of the trip. Coupled with a waiter who could not do enough for us and was happy to make recommendations whenever asked and we were seriously tempted to eat there again the next night. But we didn't let ourselves. And I still regret that.

This is already too long a review, but I have to add one small thing. Two mornings we chose to eat breakfast in the downstairs dining room which was almost empty. And both times enjoyed a beautiful meal. Only after we had left did we hear that there is a (apparently well-founded) rumour afoot that the dining room (again, the downstairs dining room) is already being whispered about in Michelin circles. While I can't attest to the verity of that rumour, nor did I have dinner in this dining room, I certainly didn't experience anything that would be inconsistent with one-star. Quite the opposite.

Bottom line: As much as I enjoy finding new and exciting boutique hotels, I would look no further when I return to Barcelona. For my money, this is simply as good as it gets. Period.

Room Tip: Ask for an iside room with a view to the courtyard. STUNNING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#7 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Property: Hotel DO
Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing