We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sumptious boutique hotel in a great spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel DO
Ranked #8 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sumptious boutique hotel in a great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, excellent refurbishment and handy sauna/steam room make it a really great place to relax. Indulgent but affordable for a few hundred dollars a night, highly recommended. And make sure you get breakfast included - then you can ask for a tapas plate of everything on the breakfast menu ;)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JB478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    85
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
101
506
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Have just returned to magical Barcelona after a hiatus of 27 years and found the Hotel Do Placa Reial, a boutique hotel just off the Rambla and overlooking the Placa Reial. The location is walking distance to absolutely everything and for those who prefer a taxi there's a stand round the corner.
The hotel is totally gorgeous with just 18 rooms all with iconic views.
The lobby is compact yet super luxe with plenty of areas to relax after a day of touring and the bar offers coffee and a cool vibe during throughout the evening.
The room is beyond 5 star with beautiful beds, bathrooms, plenty of storage space and modern yet warm interior design with white and wood tones high, beamed ceilings and excellent air conditioning.
The windows are double glazed to minimize noise from the square below and the room is serviced regularly.
The staff are all extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was superb anything we asked for was provided and the utmost quality produce was served. This hotel is a real jem, we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevercominghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is an excellent hotel in the heart of Barcelona. Extremely helpful staff and very comfortable facilities. Even though located on the busy Placa Real, the rooms are silent; in fact the air conditioning was so silent we could not hear it at all. The excellent breakfast can be taken in the restaurant, in your room or on the roof terrace by the pool. My wife and I could not fault with this hotel at all and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Placa Real offer a spectacular view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lidaymaker32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have now been to Barcelona 4 times and have stayed in some great hotels - but this is the best yet. It deserves every one of its 5* rating. Excellent location, excellent staff & service and excellent room with everything that you could wish for slippers, bathrobes and good quality towels and bed linen, air con etc. etc. Free soft drink mini bar, fruit and chocolates at 'turn down'. I just cant say enough good things about this place and the breakfasts WOW ! fresh pastries, fresh orange juice and fruit and yogurt and many cooked and cold options all to be enjoyed in a wonderful atmospheric setting.

We cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: we chose a room overlooking the square and I must admit before arrival I was a bit concerned about n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyinggull78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

All the previous reviews have summed up how fantastic this hotel is. The standard of service is right up there with the best I have experienced world wide. By now you all know how great this place is but just a small word of caution for those who like some sleep! I guess if you are in your twenties and thirties you can stop reading now but for everyone else you need to avoid the rooms that face onto the small side road that leads to the Ramblas. We had a lovely junior suite, room 11, its the corner room on the first floor. It was an amazing room but has two windows both to the Placa Reial, the main square and also a window facing onto the small side road to the Ramblas. Please note that this is where all the noise comes from when the clubs turn out and people go to this corner to get cabs and so on. On all 4 nights the din woke us up and reaches a crescendo between 3 and 4.30. Now I know that Barca is a noisy place but at 400 euros a night for a junior suite it felt wrong. Will definitely go back to the Do but will ask for a room facing the square only. The noise from the square actually is OK and won't keep you awake as the sound proofing is good enough. Also you'll note that the Police patrol the Placa Reial very regularly and prevent too much early hours fun and games. Hope this helps, its meant to be helpful. I do love the place.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 11 and 13 on first floor and corresponding rooms on second and third floors too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sensibleblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

That's how good this hotel is... worth every penny. And we did it twice in a month. Why? because the hotel is on the best in Europe at the most reasonable prices. It's located in the middle of all the action from the Plaza Reial to Las Rambles to the Harbor and Catalunya square. The service is outstanding. The Breakfast is include in the price along with the Mini Bar. They do not nickle and dime you to death. WiFi is excellent. Fruit in your room every night in addition to some treats. After your reach the hotel they give a complementary drink as you check in and relax. Now that's service .

Room Tip: we had 12 and 32 both face the plaza. It can be a little noisy with the doors open but that is why...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank porscheblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We came to this hotel for a night before our cruise out of Barcelona. The check in was easy, the front desk was very friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to reprint a ticket for us that we had left in Canada.

The rooms were spacious and felt very cozy. You literally feel at home in this place. Our room overlooked Placa Reial and had a cute little balcony that we could go out on and people watch. Even though it is quite loud outside the large doors do wonders in keeping out all the street noise. The bathrooms were well laid out, and the separate bath and amazing rain shower with enough water pressure to make it feel like a typhoon was wonderful.

We had breakfast which was included with our package after our relaxing night at this hotel and the pastries were so delicious as we're the scrambled eggs. Oh and almost forgot the mini bar with non alcoholic drinks in our room which were free was a very nice touch!

We can't wait to one back to explore more of the city of Barcelona and will definitely be staying at this beautiful property. No wonder they are now a 5 star hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeBCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#7 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Property: Hotel DO
Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing