We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular service in a central location.”
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel DO
Ranked #5 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular service in a central location.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel DO pampered us. The high ceilinged junior suite on the corner overlooking Placa Reial right off the Ramblas and just a short walk from Colon and Ramblas de Mer in one direction and Berri Gotic in the other made this a perfect anchor for a few days's visit to Barcelona. The helpful staff provided local wisdom and arranged restaurant reservations and transport without any problems.
And the restaurant at the hotel is among the finest in Barcelona. Can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCD121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    91
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
108
546
47
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very nice hotel, booked for Valentine's Week-end (14 Feb 2014) perfect Staff with very personalized service. Hotel has just 18 rooms,we were in room 335 which has a shower and a bath but no view on the Placa Reial ( which may be good according to the noise). The hotel is 20 meters away from the Rambla and surrounded by nice restaurants. Hotel has a roof pool for the summer and a privative Sauna free of charge. The mini bar is also free of charge and many other personnalized attentions make your stay perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We spent 4 luxurious nights at Hotel Do at the Plaza Reial in the gothic quarter of Barcelona. Our stay could not have been better. The hotel is small, so the staff came to know us and greeted us with big smiles each time we returned. Concierge was helpful and recommendations always on target. A delectable treat (truffles or cookies or other sweets) or fruit awaited us in our room each time we returned. The bed was huge, mattress firm, pillows soft (you have 5 choices of pillow), sheets white and soft, towels huge and fluffy. Every detail has been carefully chosen, down to the tiny clothespin paper clips in the desk drawer. Drinks (non-alcoholic) in the mini-bar are free. The restaurant is pricey but the food is delicious and, again, very carefully prepared. Many of the Gaudi sights (a key reason to go to Barcelona) and other attractions are within walking distance, and the gothic quarter is fun and lively day and night. A fabulous place to stay in a fabulous city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
251 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were welcomed on arrival with a glass of cava, while we were checked in and bags taken to our room. Our room (47) s the only one on the top floor of the hotel and had it's own terrace and plunge pool, not particularly useful in February, but on hotter days would be great after walking miles through the streets of Barcelona.
Our mini bar was free throughout (soft drinks) and we had special treats left in our room every day, chocolate dipped strawberries, little chocolate cakes and everything in the room we could possibly need from Molton Brown products to a Loewe TV and Nespresso machine.
We had tapas on the terrace twice, service was great and food delicious, we decided definitely the best location for dinner to watch the world go by.
Huge breakfast selection, all fresh and delicious.
Lovely people, lovely place, we will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Room 47 has outdoor terrace and plunge pool, but is more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyGilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed several nights and highly recommend. The suite had views over the Placa which was fantastic for 'people watching'. Food in the hotel restaurants was good and breakfast was served in La Cuina del DO and dinner was superb there too although spoiled by sloppy service at dinner (twice) with the waitress spilling the food and doing very little to clean it up saying that the cleaner would fix it later - I cleaned it up myself even though I didn't make the mess. Very good reception staff. We enjoyed La Terrassa del DO very much and the warm tapas dish 'chicken and chips' was delicious as was the Catalan creme brûlée and the service excellent with attentive friendly waiters. Comfortable bed and bathroom with a 'wow' factor. Placa is noisy at night but if the bedroom balcony doors are closed it is not a problem and they do this for you when you go out to dinner. I would stay again when in Barcelona as its one of the best but I would hesitate about dining in La Cuina again having been disappointed twice.

Room Tip: Room with balcony overlooking the Placa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripping-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My and my fiancé stayed at this fantastic boutique hotel for 1 night over new years eve. The hotel is super clean, staff is incredibly friendly and service-minded and the rooms fits the bill perfectly for a nice and luxurious yet affordable stay in Barcelona. We couldn't have asked for better service from the staff, we had som huge requests and they manage to go above and beyond an fulfill ever single request that we had - all with a smile on their faces! I can gladly recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a fantastic stay in barcelona! Book it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joakim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had a recent 4 day stay here for a special occasion. The hotel was excellent - room, food and service. Everyone was very friendly. The location was superb with much to do just a stroll from the hotel. For a place so close to the Ramblas it was quiet. We will go back.
Just one point to note - if you stay here get a taxi or an airport bus. We got one of these shared minibuses which dropped us at the same place that the airport bus would have dropped us (Placa de Catalunya). It was raining and we were not sure of our direction - a poor start. Not the hotel's fault but some advice on the website might help. Used the ariport bus to return - no problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,247 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#6 of 513 in Barcelona
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
175 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,400 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Property: Hotel DO
Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing