We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Friendly Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DO
Ranked #6 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Friendly Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just returned from Barcelona where we stayed at this small and intimate boutique hotel in the heart of the old town. The staff and very helpful and friendly; the rooms are beautiful and airy, very clean and comfortable; the rainforest shower is to die for! Make sure you do plenty of walking as the breakfast (included) is delicious. The terrace on the roof has spectacular views of the city and the sea. I shall definitely stay here again. The only thing that would have been nice would have been tea/coffee making facilities in the room - otherwise I cannot fault this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms all look out on to Placa Reail or the side street between the square and La Ramblas so can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cashrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    93
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
113
572
49
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

From the moment we arrived to the second we left we were so impressed we could hardly believe it was real! We've stayed in some great five star hotels before but this was easily the best, the best service, facilities, atmosphere and staff.

We had a lovely warm welcome, with a complimentary drink of our choice from the bar on arrival. We sat overlooking the Placa Reial and taking in the atmosphere while our bags were taken up to our room for us. It was a really nice touch after a long journey to just have ten minutes and relax, a great start! We then were taken up to our room and given a tour of the facilities (take the stairs not the lift, what beautiful design!). The room (number 23) on first impression seemed spacious for a city centre twin, the high ceilings really helped. The bathroom was beautiful with a bath and separate shower, cotton robes, towels, slippers and Molton Brown products throughout. The (free!) minibar was packed with water, various fruit juices and coke/diet coke which was in the wardrobe with the safe, which was really handy to have. Couldn't fault the cleanliness or the standard of fixtures and fittings, definitely in keeping with a five star boutique Hotel.

The welcome booklet was packed with information, including nice touches like personalised business cards so you can let people know how to contact you. Each time we went out the hotel the staff nipped in and left us a little something for our return. After our afternoon walk we were welcomed back with two pieces of fruit with plates and serviettes on the side. When we returned after a night out there had been a full turn down service with mats placed next to the bed so you didn't have to stand on the wooden floor, a selection of cookies, mood lighting, shutters closed and I'm almost certain the room had also been scented. There was also a sheet on the bed with the following day's weather and a big list of a la carte breakfast choices that we could have in the room should we not wish to dine in the restaurant (in the basement). We decided as we had an early start we would have the breakfast in the room, so we chose a large range of items and selected the time we wanted it. It said to ring down to reception and someone would collect the sheet but we thought we'd just drop it down, but no! A member of staff spotted it strait away before we could get to the stairs and insisted that they take it for us. We decided we'd see if the spa was available (it must be booked at reception, but it is private for two people). Luckily it was so we enjoyed an hour of relaxation.

After a wonderful night's sleep the breakfast arrived a couple of minutes early, perfect! What a feast! Brought in on a trolley we had a cooked breakfast of bacon, fried eggs, sausages, boiled ham and toast. Along with croissants, pastries, fresh fruit, juice, coffee and champagne! It was wonderful.

On checking out after breakfast we made it down to reception (a member of staff we'd not seen before) who instantly knew our names and room number without asking said we should have let them bring our luggage down for them. It was only hand luggage, but this is an indication of the kind of care and attention we were given during our brief stay. As far as I'm concerned from now on there are no other hotels in Barcelona!

Room Tip: Any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0rthumbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed here for one night and wish it was for more but the place was fully booked as there is a conference on in Barcelona this week.

It is a really high standard family run hotel in the best location in the city. The rooms have every detail taken care of and the restaurant and tapas cafe they run are fantastic. The standard is so high and the price is good. I will come back to Barcelona to stay here for sure.

This is my favourite hotel that I stayed in this year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Do for 4 nights, booking through Expedia.

The hotel is in a fantastic location with one side of it on La Rambla, which is the main tourist drag and the other side in Placa Reial, which has good food in it. The hotel gives free breakfast with hotel bookings and it's a wonderful a la carte breakfast, which was a first for me. I loved the freshly squeezed orange juice and my husband had the traditional thick Spanish hot chocolate every morning. Vero, our waitress, knew our drink preferences by memory by the third day!

The hotel is in a historic building, but it has recently been renovated and the renovations are sophisticated and beautiful. Unfortunately, because it's an old building, the toilet lights flicker sometimes and the hot water in the shower sometimes wavers in temperature. Nothing terrible, but just a little annoying and hence the slightly less than perfect rating.

Having said that, I absolutely loved my stay and would recommend this place to my friends. The room is beautiful, the windows are soundproofed so the sounds of people partying downstairs in the placa is a pleasant, distant hum, they have great free wi-fi in the hotel, a free mini bar and would leave little treats in our room everyday. They really look after you here and would go out of their way for you. Just outside the hotel, there is always a row of taxis waiting for passengers, and the metro stop is only 3 minute's walk away.

Room Tip: We got a room on the top floor so even though we were facing Placa Reial, the noise from the merryma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and can only say positive things about our time there. We were welcomed with a friendly glass of Cava and were checked in and bags taken to our room while we relaxed.

We stayed in a standard double so nothing extra but the service and small touches included made us feel like VIPs! The staff were very friendly and extremely attentive, they were very personal and sincere. The hotel room itself was on the small size but had everything we could want and considering its fantastic location we could not fault the facilities.

We ate at the hotel one of the evenings, had room service and breakfast in our room, all the food was superb, the service was great and nothing was ever too much trouble.

The hotels location was ideal, Placa Reial is a very pretty, lively square which gives you a sense of being in the thick of it but still able to escape to a tranquil haven without having to trek across the city. It was at times noisy but not to the point of keeping us a wake or disturbing us, we enjoyed the sound of the city and could always close the balcony door, draw the curtains and drift off in the most comfortable bed.

The hotel had some wonderful personal touches which made it feel like a true boutique hotel, the fact that there are only 18 rooms means that the service is tailored to individual requirements whilst still being able to provide many of the services you would expect in a much larger 5* hotel.

Our only regret was not being able to stay longer, we will recommend this hotel to everyone we know who plans to go to Barcelona.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnniceLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Booked a 3 night stay (14-17 Feb 2014) as a suprise for my husbands birthday and I wasn't disappointed. We were made to feel really welcome by all staff, they even knew it was my husbands birthday when I had not mentioned it. Our room on the top floor had a small terrace with a private dip pool which would be lovely when the weather was warmer and even in February it was nice to sit outside. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and the daily little treats in the room were a nice touch. Would perhaps of liked tea bags in the rooms as well as the coffee machine but I have no doubt that had I asked they would of appeared without a problem. Location is ideally suited for a weekend break with plenty to do within walking distance and also further afield using the Metro. I would certainly stay again if I visit Barcelona in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolV1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel DO pampered us. The high ceilinged junior suite on the corner overlooking Placa Reial right off the Ramblas and just a short walk from Colon and Ramblas de Mer in one direction and Berri Gotic in the other made this a perfect anchor for a few days's visit to Barcelona. The helpful staff provided local wisdom and arranged restaurant reservations and transport without any problems.
And the restaurant at the hotel is among the finest in Barcelona. Can hardly wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCD121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,305 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 513 in Barcelona
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
239 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
4,505 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Property: Hotel DO
Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing