We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel in good location, however singel room is below expectations”
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DO
Ranked #6 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel in good location, however singel room is below expectations”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

As I travelled on my own, I stayed in a single room. The hotel is well located and very clean. There are only 18 rooms, which has it’s advantages and disadvantages. I personaly like it to stay in hotel that isn’t too crowded. Some other tripadvisor users commend, that they have stayed in many 5 star hotels and never have been served by such a friedly staff as service is outstanding. I experienced the staff as friendly and the service was good. However I wouldn’t discribe it as unparalleled. The breakfast and food served in the restaurant are good as well.

As mentioned I have stayed in a single room. Which is the cheapest and smallest room in the hotel. The bed is confortable and there is a free mini bar, stocked with soft drinks. (very nice :-) ). As a man I can’t complain about the bathroom. (excellent shower)
Most rooms facing the placa Reial, I suggest it must be nice overlooking the placa. But I stayed in a single room, where the view is absolutely unpleasant. The windowpane is matt. Which has a good reason… The ventilation from the kitchen is close by, so if you would like to get some fresh air in, you may end up smalling more like some fried saltwater fish…
Conclusion: Would I Recommend the hotel ? Yes I do ? Do I recommend the single room ? Well, I’m not too sure. If you spending the whole day and evening in the city and only looking for a place taking a shower, sleeping and having breakfast in the morning you will be fine. If you have to work or like spending some time in your room, it’s might be to small for you.
(sorry for my improper English)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hello1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    93
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
113
571
49
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the hotel for our honeymoon, everything about the hotel is 5 star, all the staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful, the location is ideal, just off the rambles and situated in place retail, very central lots of lovely restaurants close.

Our room was lovely, towels and beds changed every day, extremely comfortable bed, with choice of pillows, lovely decor in the room too, we had little treats left on a daily basis, which is a very nice touch.

We had breakfast in the hotel every morning, which again was lovely.

Couldn't fault the hotel at all, we will defiantly return and would recommend to anyone wanting to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernadette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I had high expectations and they were fullfilled, a very good hotel with the right location , close to and by the same time secluded from the buzz on La Rambla.
Hotel, service from all staff and food is good. A very nice location at Plaza Reial , balcony overlooking the square Plaza Reial.
One little advice - when Barcelona plays at home the visiting clubs fans often party at the plaza, their singing may be loud on the plaza. Not a problem but if you prefer quiet nights on the restaurant outside check the calender and evade the evening before game.

Room Tip: central location for a very good treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik_BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was our second visit to this wonderful hotel, situated perfectly for central Barcelona. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the quality very high. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Both times we've stayed in the El Terrat suite on the top floor (complete with its own plunge po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddersB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at the Hotel DO for 3 nights for our 1st wedding anniversary. On arrival we were treated to a lovely glass of cava. Our room was very tastefully decorated, with nice little touches such as personalised business cards. The staff were incredibly helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast choice was very comprehensive and the service was impeccable. Every afternoon we were brought chocolate covered fruit or little biscuits to our room. As with a lot of things in life, it's the little things that make the big differences. The hotel location could not be better as a base for visiting the amazing city of Barcelona. I would recommend this hotel unreservedly, and cannot wait to return some day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AOL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the world
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for 5 days at the beginning of March 2014. The whole stay was wonderful: great rooms (all wooden floor, very high roof, modern bathroom facilities, great beds), and staff was just lovely. Very personal service, good recommendations, always friendly.

Even though the hotel is situated on one of the most impressive backyards in Barcelona with lots of restaurants, noise is kept down by the windows and we had no problem sleeping at all (caveat: we didn't stay there on a Friday / Saturday, apparently then it can be even more busy).

The spa is a little bit small - but the good thing is you get to use it alone (with your partner), without having to share it with lots of different people. We enjoyed it very much.

Food was brilliant. My tip: ask to get the breakfast delivered in the room: didn't cost us any extra, and much more nice than having breakfast in the cellar.

So, what is there not to like about the hotel? I admit, I had to think a bit about this :) Well, maybe the amenities could have a tiny bit better. Molton Brown is ok, but please don't put spenders in the shower: that is not 5-star like.

All in all, one of my best stays in a hotel in a very long time. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anon1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for valentines in February 2013. A lovely boutique hotel and the room was superb. All the staff were really friendly and we were given a balcony view over the square. We were extremely fortunate to be there during a festival and were able to see the whole parade from our balcony how cool is that! Would love to go back again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ginge2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,304 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 513 in Barcelona
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
236 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,505 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Property: Hotel DO
Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing