We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we stayed here”
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel DO
Ranked #6 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, OK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“So glad we stayed here”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel changed our vacation from a good one to a great one. The location is perfect and within a 10 minute walk to just about everywhere you need to go. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. A very good breakfast comes free with the room. It's ordered from a menu, not a buffet. Our room had a large window/balcony that faced the plaza. It was so nice to open it and be a part of the activity below. But when we wanted quiet, we simply closed the shutters and the sound proof windows. There was no problem with noise at all. The bathroom is good sized with a separate shower from tub. When you consider the free breakfast, stocked fridge full of soda & water, plus all the little treats they left every evening, it was a good value. If we ever return to Barcelona, this is where we'll stay.

Room Tip: A room facing the plaza on the "1st floor" (one floor above the lobby) is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    92
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
111
555
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I took my niece to Barcelona for her first visit. I had read the reviews of Hotel DO on TripAdvisor and had booked based off of that. They did not disappoint!!! From the moment you walk into the hotel, the staff is welcoming and warm. The rooms are beautiful, modern and the bathrooms are unusually big! (And one of the best showers I have had while visiting anywhere in Europe!!!)
The room price included breakfast, wifi, and unlimited drinks in the minibar. The breakfast was amazing - whether you went down to the restaurant or had room service! My niece could not get enough of the fresh squeezed orange juice and croissants. Also, the fact that they included the water, juices and sodas in the minibar was huge to me! I usually have to go buy extra water to bring to the hotel- but not this time!!
They also bring you lovely treats TWICE a day!! During the day, they bring you some fresh fruit to the room and then each evening during turndown they bring a little sweet - we loved the chocolate covered strawberries and homemade marshmallows!
Everyone of the staff was welcoming and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay amazing! Thank you to everyone at Hotel DO!!! I will only stay here when I visit Barcelona!!!!!

Room Tip: One thing to note is the hotel is on Placa Reial so it will not be super quiet at night, but you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the DO and it wont be the last. This time we had a Junior Suite on the 3rd floor overlooking the Placa Reial. It's such a cool hotel, with very nice rooms in a very good location. Sitting in La Terrassa with a glass of Priorat people watching on the plaza is one of our favorite things in the world to do. But by far, the best part of being at the DO is the staff!! These people are so friendly and helpful and they treated us like long lost friends when we returned.

Moltes gràcies! Fins aviat!

Room Tip: Junior Suites are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 233rickb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent our honeymoon in the Hotel Do. When we first arrived we were greeted and shown to our room. Everything was in order and very smart. After 10 minutes we were gifted a 40 year old bottle of champagne along with lovely pastries. The staff were friendly and efficient, recommending and booking restraints, excursions etc which all proved appropriate. As read in other reviews before we went we did find there was quite a lot of noise at night, sometimes till 5 am. Although the sound proofing was good nothing could stop all the noise.

All in all though a lovely place to stay and we left feeling very spoiled.

Room Tip: Superior double room was spacious and benefited from a balcony. I imagine rooms racing the plaza wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pncookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This was the third time in hotel Do and we simply love this hotel. The breakfast is superb, you can choose from a menu and choose where you want to eat, in the restaurant, on the terrace or in your room!! It is a luxoury stylish hotel and you step outside and are in the centre and everything is in walking distance. The people are very friendly and you get the best of service. We look forward to our next stay!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days, upon arrival the staff were very friendly and spoke very good english. The hotel is situated just off las ramblas (a great place to be based in Barcelona.) The rooms are very stylish and the small snacks and free wifi were a nice touch, not to mention the free drinks in the minibar. The service was impeccable and we recommend you try the hotel restaurant which overlooked the pretty square. Overall, the Hotel DO is fantastic for a city break and we couldn't recommend the hotel more highly.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeWalkersOneWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A small and "cosy" hotel in the middle of the city. Very friendly staff, and great breakfast. We only stayed one night, and everything was perfect.

Free WIFI, minibar and small snacks upon arrival. Beds are comfortable, nice bathroom. Some noise from the streets at nights, but thats obvious in that location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hesyversen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,275 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
209 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 512 in Barcelona
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#26 of 512 in Barcelona
4,455 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 512 in Barcelona
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Property: Hotel DO
Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing