We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel DO
Ranked #6 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
southwest
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband booked this hotel for our first night in Barcelona. Couldn't have been more perfect. The bed was like heaven, wonderful location and incredibly attentive staff. The little extras like fresh fruit and cookies were a nice surprise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommajotothe480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    93
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
112
556
48
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent position 10 minutes to most services well run family hotel recently refurbished, staff exceptionally helpful, complementary breakfast, welcoming cocktail on the house. Room and bathroom very spacious many little details done so well, late checkout was helpful as well.
Only small negative was noise from the la Rambles required keeping windows and shutters closed during late evening and using air conditioning , will recommend and stay again when returning to Barcelona

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxDPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Hotel Do is a beautiful hotel with friendly and extremely helpful staff. Everyone speaks English very well so there is no difficulty for the non Spanish speaking guest. The accommodation is superb (we had a third floor room) and housekeeping is second to none. The lovely surprises each day in our room, fruits and biscuits or chocolates were delightful and it was a real treat to have a complimentary mini bar stocked with non alcohol drinks. The breakfast each morning, especially the freshly squeezed orange juice, was extensive, fresh and very tasty and it makes a welcome change to have breakfast included in the room rate! The welcome drink on the terrace whilst our luggage was taken to our room was also a thoughtful touch. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on our first evening and it was very good. The only down side to this beautiful hotel and its attentive and charming staff is the noise from the lively Placa Reial. If you are a light sleeper this is not the hotel for you. Even on the third floor we could hear the partying in the square below virtually until sunrise and after a few moments peace the street cleaners, bin emptying and deliveries started. The hotel management has done everything possible to reduce the noise impact and the double glazing and shutters work reasonably well. If you keep the air conditioning on all night its sound also helps to dull the noise from the streets below. The hotel's location, apart from the noise levels, is fantastic as it is very close to the heart of the lovely Gothic quarter. Had it not been for the disrupted sleep this hotel would have scored full marks from us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerrieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Treat yourself to sheer comfort and convenience at the DO Reial Hotel. Located on a lively square, a few steps from the Las Ramblas, where everything is happening.

The taxi dropped us off about 15 feet away from the hotel entrance which is understated. I had booked 5 rooms for 10 friends and everyone was thrilled with the hotel. The bed and linens were amazingly comfortable, best I think I've ever enjoyed.

Breakfast was included and the offerings are cooked to order and just excellent. The entire staff is impressive, attentive and helpful, in a very gracious manner. They went above and beyond to assist us.

One gal in our group was injured and they ran around to obtain crutches for her and made every effort to make her comfortable.

Even though the weather was cool, we enjoyed the roof terrace. Nice relaxing place for drinks and enjoying the views.

I had read about possible noise from the piazza at nights, and if you keep your windows closed and the exterior shutters closed, it seals out any night time noise from all the merrymaking that goes on below.

We spent 7 nights here and all enjoyed it very much. Go and Enjoy

Room Tip: View of the plaza is fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My partner and I spent our last night in Barcelona at the Do'. We read great reviews about it and we were looking for something central, historic with a private outdoor space.
After having spent the 3 nights before at Hotel Casa Fuster we thought it was going to be difficult to find a nicer hotel!
Upon arriving at the Do' we were greeted with a complimentary drink that we had in our room.
We chose a roof top room, the only one apparently, with a nice outdoor terrace and small outdoor plunge pool with an amazing view of the Palau Guell and Montjuic.
The room was a decent size, well fitted out and decorated. The bathroom had a large walk in white marble shower overlooking the outside terrace and the blue sunny sky!
The overall service was very good with small personal touches such as amazing strawberries coated in chocolate in the afternoon.
I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a small peaceful hotel in a historic central part of town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

What a totally delightful experience at this family owned boutique hotel in the heart of Barcelona. From the moment you are first greeted with a drink and escorted to your room, till the moment you check out, you feel like a guest who is truly appreciated and valued. The attention to detail at this hotel is fantastic! Business cards with your name imprinted with a personalized portfolio, full re-fridge in your room stocked with comp. soda's, juice and waters, afternoon delivery of fresh fruits, evening turn down service with chocolates and weather forecast for following day, A comp. breakfast that's off a full menu that you may also choose to have delivered as room service....and the list goes on and on like a high end all inclusive cruise experience! The only draw back for us was our room which was on a low floor facing the walkway between Las Ramblas and Placa Reial ...was quite noisy despite the sound proofing windows. We are both in all honesty though very light sleepers so perhaps this would not be the case for others. Regardless we fell in love with this place...would highly recommend and stay there again!

Room Tip: Higher floor ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laxflygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A visit to Barcelona was a birthday treat and surprise for my wife. I search things to the point of exhaustion and use Trip Advisor reviews and opinions extensively in the process. Hotel DO...From the booking to the departure...excellent all the way. Room was great ( 24 was ours, on the second floor overlooking the square) and as we ususally stay in quiet spots was a bit concerned with the "city" sounds, need not have been, when you close the double glazed doors.. it just goes..well.. quiet.
Staff attentive at all times, we only ate breakfast...it was great..so cannot comment on the food at other meal times..but never heard anyone grumping.
Perfect spot for people watching or relaxing,almost instantly onto Rambla and so very central for on foot exploration, in essence an overall great experience. I highly recommend. I think we will will return. ps the TV takes a USB stick so you can, if you feel the need to that is, laze in bed and watch your fave TV series :-)

Room Tip: The "higher" you go the quieter,I would imagine. The Placa facing rooms will have early to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,279 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
215 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 512 in Barcelona
174 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 512 in Barcelona
4,461 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Property: Hotel DO
Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing