We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel DO
Ranked #8 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We visited Barcelona for a few days, were wanting a small but luxurious boutique hotel, and we found it with Hotel DO. Our room, No 11, was perfect. The decor, sheets, pillows, towels, the Moulton Brown products were all top notch. I also am somewhat of a 'bathroom snob' in that I like a shower with great water pressure, and a tub, that is comfortable and big, etc. This bathroom snob was 'over-the-top' happy. Regarding location of hotel, it couldn't be better. Located in the charming Placa Reial square, near the Boqueria market, Cathedral, Placa Pi, near the Liceu metro. The hotel staff was also extremely helpful and kind with every request we had. They booked reservations for us for dinner, shows...all done perfectly, and with a smile. The breakfast was also excellent..we had delicious eggs, and yogurt with berries. Just perfect. I know we will return to Barcelona someday, and can't wait to stay again at Hotel DO. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay just perfect.

Room Tip: Room 11 is a corner room. We slept beautifully, but if you awaken easily at night, might want to cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    85
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
101
504
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The moment you walk into this hotel you know you are in for a treat. The decor is modern and respectful to the building's heritage; the staff friendly and welcoming.

Our standard room was a good size with a balcony. Everything in it tasteful and the best quality; from the Moulton Brown soap and show gel to the Loewe television. On checking in we received a personalised welcome pack and a welcome drink. Wow.

The rooftop pool is a great place to relax after a day sightseeing, and the terrace on the Placa Reial is great for people watching.

Breakfast does not disappoint, and service is discrete and efficient. We found afternoon fruit in the room and bed-time treats too. The complimentary mini bar is also a nice touch.

Yes there is some noise from outside but that's the price you pay for staying slap bang in the thick of it.

All in all I'd recommend this place for a luxurious treat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminCT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takapuna, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at Hotel DO in June.The hotel is perfectly positioned in
Placa Reial very handy to all of Barcelona's attractions
The Hotel is superbly comfortable and has a feel of Chic New York about it .
The staff are all very professional and helpful .
The breakfast on the terrace is wonderful ,food is excellent














































































































""








""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""""

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lavenderhill59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Charming boutique hotel in Barcelona. Located in a fun and busy square. Great food - breakfast included. Sizeable rooms with high end finish. Located about mid-way off La Rambla; near Liceu metro, and walking distance to the Cathedral. Friendly and very helpful staff. Our teens loved the place - as did we.

Room Tip: Rooms could do with better soundproofing if you are light sleeper - although we were there for the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PapaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed in this lovely little boutique hotel in June 2014. Its situation is ideal for touring the city. Our very first encounter with the staff was very pleasant, they were all extremely friendly, courteous and polite and speak a very high standard of English. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful. Our trip coincided with my birthday, and the staff made me feel very special, even giving me a cake to celebrate with! The room was very comfortable, fitted to high standards and very quiet, which is amazing considering it overlooked Plaza de Reial. I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you Hotel DO!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speysidesparkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a good hotel; just not a hotel to rave about. We stayed 5 nights; not sure why this hotel is gushed over.
Location: the hotel is about a 15 minute walk to everything that you might want to do in Barcelona area, other than the Olympic village area to which you should take a taxi. It is on the square and young adults DO congregate there until all hour in the morning. Yes, you CAN hear noise in your hotel room, but as you have been warned about this on this site and are still booking this hotel, you should not criticize based on the sound that filters in. The local walking tours outside the hotel. The sound flowing up to the room is not awful. I rate the location as excellent.
Room: we had a front facing deluxe? double. I thought it was very small. We had to place one suitcase in front of the closet doors and move it to get in and out of the closet. The only chair in the room was more "design" than comfortable. The "balcony" had no seating and was pretty useless. Pillows and sheet were great. We retire early and as a result got NO bedtime treats. It would have been great to get chocolate covered strawberries like the other guests; be aware that you will not get them if you retire early. The room is pretty spartan, clean but not beautiful. I rate the room "good."
Bathroom: Very strange provision of toiletries. Shampoo, conditioner and bath gel are in pump containers mounted by the shower wall. SO, if you want to take a bath, you either need to fill your hands with the liquids and sprint 3 feet to the tub,or exit the tub to get the liquids. And, it took 20 pumps of the wall-mounted shampoo container to wash my medium length hair. The hotel should toss the containers and provide toiletries in small individual use bottles. Toilet paper was not replaced daily. This was a problem when we had upset tummies and ran out out of TP. Only one bar of soap was provided; this is a pet peeve-- one is needed for the shower and another for the sink. The light switches were impossible to figure out.My spouse accidentally turned off the light in the toilet twice when I was in the toilet room. We did not figure out the switches in our 5 days at the hotel. Shower floor a littel slippery; no shower mat provided.
Service: At the front desk was as should be expected but not on stellar. A stellar front desk crew would have asked us on day one what we intended to see during our stay, and suggested that we get tickets in advance for some attractions. Instead, if you want help, you have to ask for it, and have to know what to ask.
Breakfast: Everything must be ordered, once you realize that you can order without cost, it is a good experience. What we ordered was of good quality, the orange juice is real, not from a container. No complaints as to breakfast.
Rooftop: We found this on our own, not having been given a tour of the hotel on check-in. There is no service on the roof top , and its very small, no flowers, pretty dismal.
Taxi service: very easy, they have a taxi stand about 40 feet from the front door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbellehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is an excellent 5 star hotel in a great location. My wife and I spent two nights at the hotel and it was a good base to get our first taste of Barcelona - which we loved. Our room looked out onto Placa Reial, which is busy throughout the day and into the early hours of the morning. The room was decorated beautifully and we especially liked the14 foot ceilings. We took breakfast at the tables outside the hotel on the square. This was a great way to start our day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#5 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#7 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Property: Hotel DO
Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing