We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel perfect location”
Review of Hotel DO

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel DO
Ranked #6 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel perfect location”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel was so clean and comfortable. Nothing was too much to ask from the staff. It is situated on a busy plaza with excellent eating places and lively entertainment. Our room was very comfortable, with a complementary non alcoholic mini bar, a balcony enabling us to look out over the plaza, treats left in our room once or twice each day, and in the evenings someone came in and had closed the shutters and mats by the bed. The breakfasts were delicious - staff were always incredibly helpful.

The location is also great - in a lively plaza, which opens out onto the middle of Las Ramblas. There are loads of mini streets and alleys leading off the plaza which are also well worth exploring.

Many people had complained about the noise - our room overlooked the entrance to the plaza, we were aware of a murmuring from the plaza, however it was not a loud enough noise to disturb us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    93
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
112
556
48
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for an anniversary without the kids. The hotel was a perfect location for exploring las ramblas and Barri gotic. The room was everything we'd want for a city break, clean with a good shower with lots of Molton brown bits and pieces to keep mrs happy.
We used the roof terrace on a nice day to sunbathe and use the pool, and again for an evening drink. Breakfast was brilliant and we kept over lots of pastries for lunch to mean we had more money for evening tapas! :)
Great experience and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jay_seal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel was the amazing and located perfectly in the heart of Barcelona! We had a room that was beautifully decorated and had a balcony that overlooked the plaza with fountain. Perfect for relaxing and people watching. The friendly staff, special touches (mid day & evening snacks) and awesome breakfasts put it over the top. Five stars in our opinion!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We can't recommend this hotel enough. Whatever you're after from a luxury stay in Barcelona this hotel delivers! Our room was immaculate, well designed and very comfortable. Great design and finishes, view over the plaza, complimentary (non alcoholic) mini bar, great bed - we were very very happy. The staff are the highlight though - hugely helpful and always on hand.
Andrew & Greta, Sydney

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the place. With the shutters closed the noise isn't an issue and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel is excellent in everyway but the service is to be commended. Staff at the front are very helpful. Albert was willing to help us with everything. The location is perfect. Breakfast is fantastic. We can order anything on the breakfast menu. The restaurant is superb. We stayed 2 nights and had a great time. Thank you.

Room Tip: No problem with noises from square below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kakai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for three nights this week - his 60th birthday present from me. He has always wanted to visit the city. I chose the hotel for location and because I knew we'd want an oasis in the heat, and somewhere luxurious as it was a special occasion. This hotel met every expectation and surpassed most of them. We had a first floor room to the side of the building and were not troubled by noise in the slightest. The square is noisy until the early hours but with windows, curtains and shutters closed and aircon on there was no problem whatsoever. We slept soundly. The staff were friendly, helpful, kind, welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. I've stayed in 5* hotels in many countries and few meet this standard of service. All spoke excellent English. The food was first-rate - best calamari we had anywhere (it's my favourite!). The room was stylish and the bathroom large and supplied with good toiletries and plenty of towels. Every detail had been considered. We had breakfast each day on the roof terrace in the shade which was a very enjoyable and civilised experience. We ate on the terrace on the square too - a lot of fun to watch all the people, and we were not pestered by anyone. I cannot recommend this hotel too highly. Worth every penny and for a hotel of this standard, outstanding value. If we visit Barcelona again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I chose this hotel for a family vacation. I read the reviews from other reviews and I was very pleased with our experience. It is centrally located near all of the attractions, shops and restaurants are all in walking distance. I appreciated a large, spacious room with high ceilings, remodeled in contemporary design. We had two balconies facing the Plaza. The bed was super comfortable, and the breakfast was amazing! The sweet treats they left us daily was a nice touch. The minibar was stocked with various drinks which were complimentary as well as WIFI.. That was a first!! The only downside was the size of the pool which was very small. It really can't accommodate more than 4 people. On the weekends, it was a little noisy as the young people all went to the plaza to hang out and drink all night. I had to close the wood shutters outside to help block out the noise. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ForeverYoungSobeSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,279 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
214 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#5 of 512 in Barcelona
174 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 512 in Barcelona
4,461 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DO

Property: Hotel DO
Address: Placa Reial, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel DO 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Barcelona, in one of the most historic squares in the city, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is a unique gastronomic boutique hotel. Located in a historic building that dates from 1856 and was completely renovated in 2011, this 5-star hotel has a total of 18 luxury rooms, most of them with views over the Plaza Real.The Hotel DO: Placa Reial has a swimming pool, solarium, spa and a carefully selected gastronomic menu based on the concept of local produce and on the authenticity of what is local, presented in its three restaurants: La Cuina, La Terrassa and El Terrat.True to its surroundings, the Hotel DO: Placa Reial is close to the main tourist attractions in the centre of Barcelona such as the Ramblas, the Liceo, the Boqueria market, the Palacio de la Musica concert hall, the Cathedral, the Palau Guell, Santa Maria del Mar, the Picasso Museum and the Port of Barcelona, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel DO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel DO Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing