We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does the job”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vilamari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vilamari
Ranked #187 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
West Sussex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Does the job”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This wasn't the cheapest option so a little disappointed with the room, although clean and did the job I thought it would be slightly better. The bed was uncomfortable and squeaky, and I would not have wanted to sleep another night in it. Booked through Expedia as a cruise special with welcome gift - not sure what that was as we didn't get It and it wasn't mentioned on check in or out! No safe in the room which nearly all hotels now supply but the free bottles of water were a nice touch. Good location for transport. Breakfast was overpriced so we passed on it and went to a café nearby. However the staff were friendly and helpful and allowed us a free late check out as they weren't fully booked. Good enough for a pre cruise one nighter but I would want more for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggmon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments. We have double standard room with all the same size, not huge but big enough. We have special offer only for cruise passenger. If you are not going or coming from a cruise you will not get this avantages as early check in, late check out, bottle of champaigne,..
We have safe deposit box for free at the reception. You could go whenever you need.
We have a Buffet Breakfast with great quality food and well variety for 10€ only.
The hotel is in a good location, close to public transport and tourist atractions.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    360
    102
    30
    12
See reviews for
94
365
26
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel before and after our cruise on the NCL Epic. October 2013. They do not have a cruise package. You will need a cab to the cruise ship ( cost was 20 euro) and to the airport (cost was 35 euro) Hotel was very clean, some staff were friendly and some staff not so much. All spoke english, so no communication problems. Never received our ordered wake up call, so set the alarm on your phone. You will need an adaptor for europe so you can plug in your cell phone etc. as they only have 1 available to loan out and its a 5 euro deposit . Very accommodating in ordering us cabs. Room was very small and TV was 15 inch, floor were wooden, bathroom had tile floors and very slippery if it gets wet. No rugs. It did have free WIFI, which was great. Bathroom was a shower in a tub, very difficult to get in and out of especially if you are elderly. If you want the breakfast buffet, you must book it on check in or else the price will increase. The breakfast buffet was good, limited selection from US standards, however you have to remember you are in Spain. Shopping mall is very close only 3 blocks away, and have an excellent selection of restaurants for dinner, and very safe to walk to. Several restaurants in this mall on the 5th floor had menus in English, but some did not open until 7pm. We ate at Happy Rock and had an excellent meal. This hotel did have dinner but I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the shower only, no tub. Remember to reserve the breakfast buffet when you arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank youfor your comments. To the cruise terminal the best option is by taxi but to the airport you could take the Aerobus, running from 5am until 1am and it costs only 6€.
We usually do wake up calls and in case the guest is not answering the phone we go up and we knock the door until the guest is up.
Buffet breakfast is a good value for money and excellent quality of products. Maybe you are use to a different kind of breakfast. Hotel Vilamari is located in a quite district and close to public transport and tourist atractions.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Vilamari and we'd like to thank the Hotel/kitchen staff that made our stay so pleasant. They all spoke fluent English, so communication was no problem and always answered our questions and suggested things we could do with our baby.

The rooms are a bit on the smaller side, but, I guess that is the norm in Europe. The rooms were cleaned everyday and beds made, so the service really was excellent.

The breakfast had your standard fare of eggs, sausages, coffee, juices and muffins. Good stuff, but you've also got to try bakeries outside that serve local Spanish pastries.

I'd definitely recommend the Vilamari to anyone visiting Barcelona.

thank you guys for accommodating us and our 11 month old so well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTipsAnyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
All rooms are double standard with a queen size bed. The size is not huge but the rooms is confortable, clean and nice design.
We hope to welcome you some day in the future.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Myself and my fiancé stayed here in October 2013, the room was very clean and modern. It was close to two metro stops that made travel very easy. The room we had on the first floor was small, and had no safe. The bathroom was tiny and getting in and out of the shower/bath was not easy, for more elderly people I would consider it dangerous. In general this was a nice hotel in a good location, but nothing special and probably slightly overpriced.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
All rooms are double standard; some with a bath and some with a shower, but the size is nearly the same.
Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Vilamari for four days. Three days before a Mediterranean cruise and one day after the cruise. This hotel can best be described as a boutique style hotel.

The room was very clean and the front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful, in particular Georgina. The hotel is well situated a few short blocks from a large shopping centre located in the converted main Barcelona bull-fighting arena. It is also close to several museums and restaurants and near the central hub of a popular hop-on/hop-off tour bus route.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripfeedbackdwesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments We are glad you have enjoyed your stay. The hote is located in a quiet area. It gets busy after 8am in the morning but very quiet at night time.
Hotel Vilamari is a good option coming or going to a cruise. We have special deals for cruise passengers and we are close to the port ship and to the city center, whcich is 20 minutes walk to Pl. Catalunya or 3 stops my metro.
looking forward to welcome you in the future.
Kind Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent the best vacation in years , friendly staff makes one feel at home , Susanna, Georgina and rest of the front office staff , hotel room always very clean thanks to Nancy , we enjoyed
every minute of our stay, hope we can go there again, the room is a bit small but again this is Europe, we already recommended VILAMARI to our friends , also the hotel is located in the center of Barcelona , in a quite area whereas the downtown is like few minutes away ,.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear guest,
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay. The hotel is well located to move around the city and in a quiet area in Barcelona. Close to public transport and tourist attractions.
As a tripadvisor user you could get a 15% off on your next reservation, for you or your friends.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a small hotel with small rooms. I had one without a window, and a very small bathroom. Getting into the bathtub for a shower was hazardous - the space was so cramped that it was easy to trip over the WC OR slip on the wet floor. The location was good - being so near the Placa Espanya - and yet away from the main road and so was very quiet. But the very high price (during a convention) of over 250 Euros per night for that tiny room made it rather poor value for money. If the price was lower (non-conventions) it would be better value.

Room Tip: Get one with a window if you are claustrophobic and like to see the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments. Hotel Vilamari is a nice hotel with 90 double standard rooms. Some rooms are facing Vilamari street, some rooms are facing the courtyard and some inside rooms. All rooms are double standar with the almost the same size.
The hotel is on a excellent location and very quiet district, where you can rest during your stay.
The rates changes very often during the year. During special events or congress dates the rates are much higher than normal in Barcelona.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
HCC Lugano
HCC Lugano
#185 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#153 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#117 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#95 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#67 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#64 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vilamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vilamari

Property: Hotel Vilamari
Address: Vilamari 34-36, 08015 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly AC Vilamari)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#145 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#199 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vilamari 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vilamari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Vilamari Barcelona
Ac Vilamari Hotel Barcelona
Ac Hotels Barcelona
Hotel Vilamari Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing