We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Hotel Vilamari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vilamari
Ranked #195 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A Spanish hotel with excellent service (they even opened the bar for me after hours:), good food & breakfast, free espresso, very clean, nice design, steam sauna and close to metro and buses.

Good value for your money

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SverkerMansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear customer,
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay. Yes, we have a fitnes centre and Turkish bath you can get in for free from 8am to 10pm.
Looking forward to welcome you in the future.
Kind Regards,
Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a nice little hotel in a very pleasant location that feels central but it's awash with too many people. The room was clean and well presented having everything I could want. The only downside to the whole experience was that the bar wasn't staffed, so I had to go out to get a pre dinner drink; fortunately there are plenty of bars close by so not too much of a hardship.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 404tuneless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments. Bar is open every day from 7am until 11pm and from 8am until 12pm at the weekends and also we offer 24 hours room service.
We hope to welcome you in the future and hope you enjoy our sunny terrace with a drink.
Best Regards,
Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here 3 nights for a citytrip. It was the perfect location to explore the city. We even visited everything walking. Breakfast buffet was excellent, room a little bit small but clean and no view, very friendly staff. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments. We ae glad you have enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcome you in the future.
Kind Regards,
Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel Vilamarí is a trendy looking hotel a few minutes walk from Placa Espanya. This could be an important factor, when you are arriving from El Prat Airport by bus A1 or A2 (Aerobus).
Quick check in. Lobby functional, clean. Polite receptionist.

Our room was on the first floor - you must avoid two things when booking/staying at Hotel Vilamarí - do not book an economy room and do not stay in a room on the first floor. See my photos attached, you will see why. The view is awful, there is not much natural daylight that hits the room. Everything is further above you!

The Hotel must read these reviews and actually take the feedback on board, because the room, bathroom and walls were squeaky clean. Our room did not have a bath but a walk in shower. Good pressure.

The free minibar consisted of water only. No other soft drinks as it can be seen on the photos posted here by others, it must have changed.

We did not use AC but the bathroom has a control for humidity and we could not get that working. The outside temp was around 20-24C during our stay so it was not such a big problem.

Other 4* hotels usually have an alarm clock (radio), tea/coffee making facilities and nice beds.
Hotel Vilamarí has none of these.

The beds are really small, only about 140cm wide and the matress is hard, you can feel the springs, too. Still, when two people lay on the mattress they keep rolling into the middle.
And there is The Sound. I am not talking the dreaded Hotel-Bedroom-Acrobatics, but straightforward turning from one side to the other. Or sitting up, sitting down. You may call it creaking, I call it thundering, especially in the middle of the night. It wasn't just our room, I overheard next doors' noises, too. (Yes, everything)

The pillows feel like they have been stuffed with cottong wool balls. Not such a biggie of you sleep without pillows.

There is no duvet, there is a sheet, a blanket, and another sheet. I found this highly confusing and heavy. There was no sign that the blanket is laundered after each guest, so I was uneasy by this.

I did not ask for a different room or pillows, because we were only there for 3 nights. Anything longer and I would have asked for a room with a proper mattress and view.


Now, on to the good things:
1. Location. Whether you are walking, renting a bike or other things, it is perfect

2. Shopping: Arenas de Barcelona is a big shopping centre, right on Placa Espanya

3. BREAKFAST! We really liked the brekkie. There are proper juices, not that horrible juice machine you often get in Spanish hotels. There is fresh salad and tomatoes on the counter. 2-3 types of cheese, 5 different breads. Cold cuts. Aand pastries. Seriously good stuff and there is capsule coffee, too.

Upon checking out the receptionist asked for my feedback and he listened to my view about the bed. He seemed serious about it and took notes, too. Fingers cross it will be sorted!

To sum it up, Hotel Vilamarí is good, affordable and centrally located but if you get a room/bed that you don't like, ask for a change!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StripyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments. If you have any inconvenience you better contact us and we always find a solution for guest. We have checked your bed after you have told Alessio at check out time and we have changed it. We have all double standard rooms with a queen size bed (140cmx190cm). We offer 4 bottles of water in the minibar, replaced every day and we have air conditioning and heating all over the hotel. We have wake up call service and we offer free keytel on request.
We hope to welcome you again and offer you a room with a nice views.
Best Regards,
Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were were delighted with this hotel. Room was spacious and clean. All the workers were helpful,and it was so easy to get to buses,trains or just to walk around. Would stay here again in a minute. I didn't use the pool because it was cool out but it looked inviting. Breakfast was nice and fresh. Maybe the only thing I'd have liked was free coffee because we had to leave early and didn't have time for breakfast .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay. We have a Fitnes Centre and Turkish bath. We have a sunny and relaxing terrace but there is no swimming pool.
We look to see you again in the future.
Best Regards,
Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a delightful time here. Before coming I emailed the hotel multiple times. Each time I received a quick and detailed reply. The location is perfect..right near the Plaza Espanya..walking distance to almost everywhere. The rooms are neat and clean. The breakfast is not only delicious and filling, but is beautifully displayed. The staff is knowledgeable about the surroundings, and you can buy your on and off bus pass right at the desk..I would recommend this hotel , and would definitely come back there when I might find myself in Barcelona again.WE were there at the end of April for3 nights with another couple, who they put right next door..perfect!

Room Tip: For fun chose a room facing outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucysofine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear customer,
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay. The hotel is a good choice to move asround the city. We offer a double standard rooms with all you need for a nice stay.
We look after our guest and we try to bring all information and recomendation they need.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Barcelona.
Best Regards,
Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I chose this hotel as part of a surprise trip to Barcelona to celebrate my husbands birthday. Even before we travelled the hotel proved to be very helpful and efficient. I emailed the hotel to ask a few questions and Georgina was very quick to reply and to make sure our holiday was special for my husband. We were allowed to check in early which was great . Our room on the third floor ( not like the one Mcfly sing about!) was great. It was quiet, clean and stylish. The bed was plenty big enough and comfortable, the air conditioning efficient and the bathroom was well stocked and very clean and shiny. The mini bar was most welcome. It contained 4 free bottles of water which were replenished every day . Some reviews have mentioned small room size, but this room was more the big enough and just what you would expect in a city hotel. The location was great too. Walking distance from placa espanya which leads you to beautiful area of montjuic. Also a few minutes away from another metro station. Plenty of restaurants nearby too, but away from the noise of La Rambla . We found the hotel incredibly tranquil and quiet. The Wifi worked in our room which was a bonus so we could Skype our children . All the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. We chose not to have the breakfast option so I can't comment on this service. Having free use of a safety deposit box was really useful. To sum up , we spent 4 days at this hotel and can't fault it. Wouldn't hesitate to return here or recommend to friends, thank you hotel vilamari.

Room Tip: We were in a room overlooking courtyard. We opted for this not for the view because you can't se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments. For us is very important to take care of our guest and to be helpful. The location is excellent, walking distance to Las Ramblas but quiet, safe and no noisy.
We offer free WIFI, free acces to the Fitnes Centre and turkish bath, free bottles of water in the minibar, free safe deposit boxes (close to front desk, not in the room) parking available (free booking through our website or some others) and rental bikes from us. Also we can recommend anything you need to know about the city.
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you in the future.
Best Regards,
Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
HCC Lugano
HCC Lugano
#222 of 519 in Barcelona
377 reviews
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#94 of 519 in Barcelona
1,686 reviews
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#87 of 519 in Barcelona
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#59 of 519 in Barcelona
2,342 reviews
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#152 of 519 in Barcelona
582 reviews
Hotel Acta Azul Barcelona
#341 of 519 in Barcelona
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vilamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vilamari

Address: Vilamari 34-36, 08015 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly AC Vilamari)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#133 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#145 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £63 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vilamari 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vilamari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Vilamari Barcelona
Ac Vilamari Hotel Barcelona
Ac Hotels Barcelona
Hotel Vilamari Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing