We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel”
Review of Hotel Vilamari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Vilamari
Ranked #189 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classy hotel”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

A calm and nice hotel.. what I dont like here is the room was quite warm..they dont have aircon that time and the bed was a bit noisy when moving while sleeping.But the breakfast area and food are so good.! And they friendly staff also.. and Nice location near in metro, near in arena mall also. :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aicey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments. Last week the weather was soo hot and humit but we have air conditiong in the rooms and in the whole hotel and it's been working all days.
The hotel is located in the centre of Barcelona and close to public transport to move around.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    379
    112
    30
    16
See reviews for
103
396
27
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Vilamari at the end of May. Arrived at Plaza Espana by using the Aerobus. It costs 6 Euros one way, and takes around 20 minutes. The hotel is well located, just over 5 minutes walk from the bus stop, across Plaza Espana.
I had a lovely greeting from the girl on Reception upon arrival. She also informed me that the water in the mini bar was free of charge, which was nice. I had a room on the 5th floor facing the street. My room was extremely comfortable and very quiet too. The bathroom had many complimentary extras too. I had only been in my room 5 minutes when the phone rang, and it was Reception calling to ask if everything was to my satisfaction... That is the first time that a hotel has done that. Now that's top service!!
The only two slight niggles I had were that the floor in the shower cubicle was extremely smooth, and even when dry I nearly slipped down when I entered.. Also, the breakfast was a bit basic, and the hot food wasn't topped up nearly quickly enough, even at quieter times.
However, I would happily stay here again as I will be returning to Barcelona, and I would happily recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you have enjoyed your stay. Hotel Vilamari is easy to reach from airport by the Aerobus or from the port by taxi. To move around the city is easy by metro or regular bases too.
Customer care is very important for us. We offer an excellent buffet breakfast with quality food and it's a good value for money.
We look forward to welcome you in the future.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A Spanish hotel with excellent service (they even opened the bar for me after hours:), good food & breakfast, free espresso, very clean, nice design, steam sauna and close to metro and buses.

Good value for your money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SverkerMansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear customer,
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay. Yes, we have a fitnes centre and Turkish bath you can get in for free from 8am to 10pm.
Looking forward to welcome you in the future.
Kind Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a nice little hotel in a very pleasant location that feels central but it's awash with too many people. The room was clean and well presented having everything I could want. The only downside to the whole experience was that the bar wasn't staffed, so I had to go out to get a pre dinner drink; fortunately there are plenty of bars close by so not too much of a hardship.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 404tuneless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments. Bar is open every day from 7am until 11pm and from 8am until 12pm at the weekends and also we offer 24 hours room service.
We hope to welcome you in the future and hope you enjoy our sunny terrace with a drink.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here 3 nights for a citytrip. It was the perfect location to explore the city. We even visited everything walking. Breakfast buffet was excellent, room a little bit small but clean and no view, very friendly staff. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments. We ae glad you have enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcome you in the future.
Kind Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel Vilamarí is a trendy looking hotel a few minutes walk from Placa Espanya. This could be an important factor, when you are arriving from El Prat Airport by bus A1 or A2 (Aerobus).
Quick check in. Lobby functional, clean. Polite receptionist.

Our room was on the first floor - you must avoid two things when booking/staying at Hotel Vilamarí - do not book an economy room and do not stay in a room on the first floor. See my photos attached, you will see why. The view is awful, there is not much natural daylight that hits the room. Everything is further above you!

The Hotel must read these reviews and actually take the feedback on board, because the room, bathroom and walls were squeaky clean. Our room did not have a bath but a walk in shower. Good pressure.

The free minibar consisted of water only. No other soft drinks as it can be seen on the photos posted here by others, it must have changed.

We did not use AC but the bathroom has a control for humidity and we could not get that working. The outside temp was around 20-24C during our stay so it was not such a big problem.

Other 4* hotels usually have an alarm clock (radio), tea/coffee making facilities and nice beds.
Hotel Vilamarí has none of these.

The beds are really small, only about 140cm wide and the matress is hard, you can feel the springs, too. Still, when two people lay on the mattress they keep rolling into the middle.
And there is The Sound. I am not talking the dreaded Hotel-Bedroom-Acrobatics, but straightforward turning from one side to the other. Or sitting up, sitting down. You may call it creaking, I call it thundering, especially in the middle of the night. It wasn't just our room, I overheard next doors' noises, too. (Yes, everything)

The pillows feel like they have been stuffed with cottong wool balls. Not such a biggie of you sleep without pillows.

There is no duvet, there is a sheet, a blanket, and another sheet. I found this highly confusing and heavy. There was no sign that the blanket is laundered after each guest, so I was uneasy by this.

I did not ask for a different room or pillows, because we were only there for 3 nights. Anything longer and I would have asked for a room with a proper mattress and view.


Now, on to the good things:
1. Location. Whether you are walking, renting a bike or other things, it is perfect

2. Shopping: Arenas de Barcelona is a big shopping centre, right on Placa Espanya

3. BREAKFAST! We really liked the brekkie. There are proper juices, not that horrible juice machine you often get in Spanish hotels. There is fresh salad and tomatoes on the counter. 2-3 types of cheese, 5 different breads. Cold cuts. Aand pastries. Seriously good stuff and there is capsule coffee, too.

Upon checking out the receptionist asked for my feedback and he listened to my view about the bed. He seemed serious about it and took notes, too. Fingers cross it will be sorted!

To sum it up, Hotel Vilamarí is good, affordable and centrally located but if you get a room/bed that you don't like, ask for a change!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StripyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments. If you have any inconvenience you better contact us and we always find a solution for guest. We have checked your bed after you have told Alessio at check out time and we have changed it. We have all double standard rooms with a queen size bed (140cmx190cm). We offer 4 bottles of water in the minibar, replaced every day and we have air conditioning and heating all over the hotel. We have wake up call service and we offer free keytel on request.
We hope to welcome you again and offer you a room with a nice views.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were were delighted with this hotel. Room was spacious and clean. All the workers were helpful,and it was so easy to get to buses,trains or just to walk around. Would stay here again in a minute. I didn't use the pool because it was cool out but it looked inviting. Breakfast was nice and fresh. Maybe the only thing I'd have liked was free coffee because we had to leave early and didn't have time for breakfast .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilamari, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Vilamari, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay. We have a Fitnes Centre and Turkish bath. We have a sunny and relaxing terrace but there is no swimming pool.
We look to see you again in the future.
Best Regards,
Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
HCC Lugano
HCC Lugano
#201 of 513 in Barcelona
344 reviews
Pestana Arena Barcelona
#149 of 513 in Barcelona
532 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#123 of 513 in Barcelona
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
Ayre Hotel Gran Via
#95 of 513 in Barcelona
1,516 reviews
El Raval
Evenia Rocafort
Evenia Rocafort
#187 of 513 in Barcelona
479 reviews
Eixample
Onix Fira Hotel
Onix Fira Hotel
#362 of 513 in Barcelona
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vilamari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vilamari

Property: Hotel Vilamari
Address: Vilamari 34-36, 08015 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly AC Vilamari)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#145 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#199 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vilamari 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vilamari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Vilamari Barcelona
Ac Vilamari Hotel Barcelona
Ac Hotels Barcelona
Hotel Vilamari Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing