We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite a 5 star hotel. Building is tired and dated. Seriously let down by one member of staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel La Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gran Hotel La Florida
Ranked #175 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not quite a 5 star hotel. Building is tired and dated. Seriously let down by one member of staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My partner booked this hotel for two nights so we could chill out and relax for the end of our 7 day holiday. The hotel is set in the mountain range but it does have a shuttle bus service which needs to be booked in advance or you can get the metro and then a taxi or get the bus. It is slightly overpriced for drinks as there are no shops/ bars etc nearby (niche market). The room itself needed some tlc but it served its purpose and was very plesant. The bed was comfortable and a good view of the mountain. Temperature is cooler than in the city which was nice. Breakfast on the first morning was ordered and we waited, waited a bit longer. Alex (member of staff) was very apologetic, said the kitchen had made a mistake and are re-making it. Whilst waiting a very rude female kept hounding us saying the kitchen is closed despite what we were saying (she's the one who ticks off your room number, never smiled at us, just looked down her nose towards us). Only one breakfast came out so we shared it and left it at that. The rest of the staff were friendly, helpful and always smiling. We decided to have an evening meal there which came out quite quick but went cold very quickly due to the air conditioning being blasted towards the table - other guests had towels wrapped around them while others complained it was cold. The meal was nice even though cold. In the end I complained, Emile dealt with that complaint in a very professional manner (she's stunning so that helped) and had some drinks sent to the room, thank you Emile x. The next morning, oh yes, Miss Happy at the front of the restaurant area again ticking off your room number didn't acknowledge us but gave us a filthy look. Again the rest of the staff were very pleasant, happy, smiling and very attentive. Most of all the cooked breakfast came out and for two people. Overall it's a nice hotel in lovely settings but let down by one member of staff. And to that miserable female and I hope the management show you this;
My wife works in a hospital as a Physiotherapist and the pay isn't that good. I work with elderly and disabled people changing their homes around to make their lives a little more comfortable and again the pay isn't good. We are not rich but we work very hard to help others have a better life as best as we can for very little wages but we do this as we enjoy the low paid jobs to help others. So when we save up and go on holiday (which is once every three years) we want to enjoy that time together as we rarely see each other due to working over 12 hours a day each, 6 days a week. On the 7th day, my partner is busy writing patient notes whilst I'm busy writing reports for each elderly/ disabled person. Wether someone spends 200 euros a night or 600 euros a night, it's still a 5 star hotel and everyone there is a guest. And that guest contributes towards your wages. You madam spoilt the remaining time we had at the hotel so maybe a job change would suit you better than working in a 5 star hotel.
To Emile and the rest of the staff, thank you all very much for trying so hard to make up for the mistakes of one person who has let you all down very badly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea_Gaz_sparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    286
    104
    76
    64
See reviews for
170
607
23
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Positives were the staff, the views, the facilities, the room and the breakfast.
There were always staff on hand, they were always friendly and exceptionally helpful. The design of the hotel is really good with lots of little features and comfortable spaces. The room was large, very comfortable with a great view of Barcelona and the sea. The indoor to outdoor pool, sun beds, outdoor and indoor tables meant that there was always somewhere comfortable to relax. Finally it was a wonderful breakfast with the whole gamut of food and drink available.
Negatives, there were a few but nothing that would stop us coming back. The Hotel is in the hills with great views but as we didn't have a car, it meant either eating in the hotel or getting Taxis. The food was all great, but the menu is small - better small and exceptional than large and average. We had 3 minor niggles in the room which the cleaners would have known about, but once we reported them they were fixed very quickly.
Great for couples, especially if you want to relax and enjoy great views.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Barcelona, include breakfast in your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 143Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

they have excellent shuttle bus service & amazing views & genuine service & tasty and wide gastronomic offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

MAIN POSITIVE
Great view of the city.

MAIN NEGATIVE
Strange smell in the bathroom and the toilet. Even after our complain nothing was done about it. Probably the sewage pipes could could be replaced or cleaned.

RESTAURANT
We made a reservation in the restaurant but when we came we discovered that the reservation was not made. We had to wait for 10 minutes even though the restaurant was more than half-empty. The main issue with the restaurant was that we had to wait over an hour for the starters and just sadly watch the people who came after us finishing their main course. I would not mind all of this if it was communicated before and I could make a choice whether to wait or go somewhere else. On the other hand, without any complaint from our side we were automatically compensated with a glass of very good wine. Furthermore, the waiter Daniel was a truly nice person and we greatly appreciate his effort.

BREAKFAST
The buffet breakfast had a nice selection of cheese, ham and fruit. We also appreciated the fresh salmon. However, getting a lemon to the salmon can be a problem. It took the service 15 minutes to bring the lemon I asked for. In the end I myself went to the bar located in the breakfast area and got the lemon right away. Furthermore, except tomatoes there were no other vegetables.

SHUTTLE TO THE CITY
Because the hotel is far away from the city, it offers a free shuttle 3 times a day which is great. We used it almost every day. On hot days we even got a bottle of water. However, be aware that you have to reserve it beforehand because the van can carry only 6 passengers.

OTHERS

The temperature of the shower is hard to regulate because it changes at random times.

In the evening we ordered three times a green tea through room service. Each time it came in a different form and we were also charged two different prices.

When I was reserving the shuttle bus to the city the lady at the reception would say that she would check and call back in two minutes. She did not and I had to call again.

On the day of our departure the hotel wanted to charge me 50 Euros extra. 20 for parking (we travelled by plane to Barcelona) and 30 for the umbrella which I borrowed but supposedly did not return. I borrowed the umbrella for 10 minutes to have a short walk outside of the hotel and when I was returning it I made sure I mentioned my room number not to be charged any extra. In the defence of the hotel I have to mention that it seemed to be just a pure clumsiness. They definitely did not want to get extra money out of me. When I mentioned that those 50 Euros are mistake there was no problem scratching them out of the invoice.

My girlfriend really liked the nice smell in the lobby of the hotel and when she asked about it over the email after our departure she did not get any reply.

CONCLUSION
Although being a 5 hotel, to us it seemed like the stuff is lacking the appropriate culture of customer satisfaction. I believe that a little bit more consistency and precision in the service could increase the online rating of the hotel significantly. Despite of all the little downsides we would love to return to this hotel for its breathtaking view but only if the issue with the smelly bathroom would be resolved.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city / see have truly wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karolovasestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My girlfriend and I wanted a hotel with a pool, area to sunbath away from the city hustle and bustle for around 150 euro per night. It's not often this happens but our expectations (for the price) were exceed.

On arrival we were offered a complimentary glass of Cava and we'd been upgraded to a sea view room. Our room had impressive views, as did any view from the hotel.

The pool area was fantastic with terraced gardens in which to sunbath. The breakfast had an excellent selection of Spanish meats and salami with some delicious goats cheese.

There is an air conditioned bus that leaves every 20 minutes directly outside the hotel for a few euros per person and the journey to the center is only 20 mins. A cab back will only set you back about 25 Euro.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing break in Barcelona in a decent hotel just outside the center itself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWGARDNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
550 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

stayed here now for the second time, last time 6 years ago - the location is just wonderful and the rooms are spacious, clearly worthwhile taking a sea/city view room - pricing is fair for what you get -
good reception service , the restaurant is good but has seen better days .. the spa area is clean, but a little run down - the general impression is that the hotel needs a little bit of money to invest to give it a soft lift again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMLaFlorida, Director General at Gran Hotel La Florida, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Mr. Matthias,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and letting us have your comments on your recent stay at Gran Hotel la Florida.

We strive very hard to try and meet our guests’ expectations and receiving feedback from our clients is really helpful and appreciated.

We would like to assure you that the hotel is working in the maintenance to fix any damage before the high season in order to offer the best quality and service at all times.

Also I would like to inform you that the hotel has two restaurants; the gastronomic restaurant L’Orangerie and the Café 1925, with an informal menu.
I extremely recommend trying the gastronomic one so that you can taste the real quality of our cuisine.

We are thankful for your time and I would be delighted to welcome you again at Gran Hotel la Florida should you return to Barcelona in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Miriam Cortijo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great views from the mountain top but very far from city centre so go if you need privacy and an amazing view of Barcelona from the infinity pool which is great, but beware the room lighting is terrible hardly any lights you feel like waking in a dim lit room and the wind noise can really make your night terrible the walls and windows are not sound proof and you could listen to terrifying noise all nights.

Room Tip: Stay away from Mountain view rooms they have really horrifying sound in the night created due to win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gargarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QMLaFlorida, Director General at Gran Hotel La Florida, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to apologize for all the inconveniences you may have suffered during your stay with us while we thank you for sharing your experience and letting us have your comments.

I would like to inform you that all our rooms are equipped with sound proof walls and windows. Please let us know in which room where you in order to revise the sounds you mentioned.

Also I would like to notify you that we will take into account your comments and we would be delighted to welcome you again at Gran Hotel la Florida should you return to Barcelona in a future.

Look forward to your comments, thanking you again for your comprehension.
Yours sincerely,

Miriam Cortijo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
#194 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#122 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Les Corts
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
#140 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hesperia Tower
#117 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#50 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel La Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel La Florida

Property: Gran Hotel La Florida
Address: Ctra Vallvidrera al Tibidabo 83-89, 08035 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#131 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel La Florida 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and LoveHolidays so you can book your Gran Hotel La Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Gran Hotel La Florida Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing