We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, comfortable and modern hostel-hotel”
Review of Zoo Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zoo Rooms
Ranked #68 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Langreo, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great, comfortable and modern hostel-hotel”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This is seriously a great place to stay. I´d originally had reservations for the sister-hostel of Zoorooms, but the owner emailed me some time before I arrived stating there was an issue and my reservation was changed to here.

Once we arrived, I was truly pleased. It´s in a great area (L´Eixample), close to everything, but far enough away from the noise and craziness of the Raval and Born areas. We had our own room with an en suite shower. The hostel has everything you may need, including a kitchen, computer and tour guide books, is very clean, quite and totally modern. The owner is very knowledgeable and caring. Additionally, it is only minutes away from Passeig de Gracia (and its metro station). We couldn´t have asked for more! I definitely would and will recommend this place in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccartna3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    39
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
66
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2013

If your travelling to Barcelona then ZooRooms is the place to be, it was very clean and tidy, also the guest house was very contempory yet had some old features of a catalonian building. The location is literally walking distance from the main city centre of Barcelona, and next to a local supermarket and a local bar so your no more than a walk away to quench your thirst or buy some of the local produce. The host a very polite and helpful guy who gave us some tips and a map to set us on our way for sightseeing. if you want a good price, a perfect location and a homely place to stay on your Travels to Barcelona then id highly reccoment zoorooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my girlfriend. Wish we had stayed longer!
Rooms were stylish, comfortable, well finished and very clean. Kitchen was equipped with very modern cooker, fridges & coffee machine.
The huge, very peaceful terrace with hammocks and candles was a very nice place to hang out, even in January.
Staff were nice and helpful. Overall a really relaxing atmosphere. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgannon_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Great location away from bustle but close enough to get everywhere on foot. Surrounded by good cafes and restaurants. Very new so everything was clean and fresh. Common kitchen had everything needed. Our host gave us lots of helpful tips about good places to eat and sights to see. A highlight for us was being able to sit out on a terraced rooftop relaxing with a drink after a day of sightseeing. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millertune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Älvsjö
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I travelled with my sister and mum and we all truly enjoyed this charming guesthouse. A sense of luxury with really cool and newly renovated rooms, a perfect location (Eixample) and a place with lots of personality. We stayed in room 7, a balcony room facing a rather busy street. If you wish for a quieter room, I'd recommend you ask for one facing the terrace instead. There is no breakfast offered but on the other hand you have a fully equipped kitchen, a huge terrace and a food shop open for 24 h just around the corner. Also, there are really nice places for breakfast/brunch nearby.

If you want to avoid ending up at tourist crowded restaurants I suggest having a look at the website and the restaurants in the area that the owner has recommended. We paid a visit to some of the places and were thrilled by the food and service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently and absolutely loved it! We used to live in Barcelona, so we picked the place mostly for its excellent location.

- classic Barcelona Modernista building, completely authentic BCN style!
- location is outstanding: in the heart of Eixample, very close to Passeig de Gracia, central for virtually everything but away from the late-night noise of Ramblas, Gotico, Raval, etc.
- massive, fantastic terrace/garden area out the back with nice furniture for chilling out or dining
- the bedrooms in Barcelona buildings are never big, but here they are well proportioned with a good en suite too
- there is a nice communal sitting room with an amazing mural covering one wall
- great well-equipped kitchen (although we didn't cook!)
- the owner, Steve, is a lovely guy who made sure we were well looked after

Room Tip: we were in room 5, which opens on to the huge rear terrace. lovely and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#35 of 308 in Barcelona
452 reviews
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#50 of 308 in Barcelona
342 reviews
Hotel Boutique Hostemplo
#65 of 308 in Barcelona
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#16 of 308 in Barcelona
301 reviews
Eixample
Fabrizzio's Petit
Fabrizzio's Petit
#47 of 728 in Barcelona
218 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Natura Barcelona
Hostal Natura Barcelona
#103 of 308 in Barcelona
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoo Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoo Rooms

Property: Zoo Rooms
Address: Mallorca 209, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZOO ROOMS offers stylish and budget "chic & cheerful" accommodation to a new generation of culturally sophisticated visitors to Barcelona who want a certain level of independence mixed with top-quality service, style and comfort at an affordable price.Hotel? Hostel? - Oh?tel! Our rooms meet guidelines for hotel standards, but our prices are closer to a hostel. we are a unique boutique guesthouse, combining the quality you'd find in a fancy hotel with the personal services offered in a hostel - you can cook your own meal, mingle with other guests, chill out in the living room, drink on the terrace, and all at an affordable price.The location of our little city oasis, in the heart of the Eixample area, was carefully chosen so our guests would get a better city experience and level of comfort and relax that you just won't find staying in the old town. We are situated in a prestigious area of the city, next to the city's most hip restaurants, bars and just walking distance to the city's finest sights: There are bars and clubs just around the corner if you want to go out dancing, the best of the city's restaurants - with prices to suit all budgets - are all within easy walking distance. Gaudí's masterpieces La Pedrera and Casa Battló are also just a few blocks away.The area is safe at night to walk around in - you will not be harrassed by beer-sellers, thieves and drunkards like in the old town.Did we mention the TERRAZA? Our privileged guests will soon discover our large sunny terrace with hammocks and tables and lounge chairs where guests can really chill out and take a break from the hum-drum of the big city. We organise weekly BBQ's in the evenings during the summer months serving a wonderful array of the best Argentinean and Galician meats, fresh fish and grilled vegetarian options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Zoo Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoo Rooms Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing