We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New York West Village Chic in Barcelona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zoo Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zoo Rooms
Ranked #70 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New York West Village Chic in Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I lived and worked in New York for 8 years as an Interior Designer and 1 of my favourite areas was West Village. When I arrived at Carrer Mallorca 209 and stepped through the beautiful antique Spanish wooden entrance doors I knew I had made the right decision to stay here. The layout was simple and elegant but yet still eclectic. From the custom jelly fish lights to the beautiful terracotta patio you felt that you had been transport to a hidden gem. But I truly feel that the look and atmosphere of any establishment comes from the top down and this is why Steve and Johnathan deserve all the praise. From there relaxed, friendly laid back attitude to the amazing recommendations for food and drink within the area you simply cannot go wrong. I highly recommend zoo rooms to anybody even thinking of staying in the Barcelona no matter what your budget happens to be.

Room Tip: A room leading out to the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cormac J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    38
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
63
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We picked this hostel during a quick search the evening before getting to Barcelona and were ever so pleased with our choice. Easy to get to from the airport, we took the airport bus there and the train back to the airport when we left. Comfortable and clean rooms, a kitchen where we could make our own breakfast and a fantastic roof terrace with hammocks, tables and sofas where we could hang out after a full day of sightseeing. If Barcelona wasn't so full of places to visit, I would have love to spend more time just hanging out at the hostel! The owner, Steve, is very friendly and helpful and gave us lots of good suggestions for places to eat and drink. The hostel is in walking distance from Las Ramblas, but the location also gives you the feeling of being in a local neighbourhood. Steve also told us where to rent the cheapest bikes in town and we had them for three days as it was such an excellent way to cover larger distances in a short time. We definitely want to go back to Barcelona and would stay in ZooRooms again.

Room Tip: Rooms leading on the roof terrace will probably be quieter than ours that had windows onto the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brita71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had a fantastic time at Zoo Rooms, with a very cozy room towards the patio on which we had wine and tapas - absolutely marvelous. Cheers to Steve and Johnathan for some great ideas where to go for, yes, more tapas and wine (we just couldn't get enough, really) and places to go which are not in everybody's guidebook. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We have recently spent 4 nights at Zoo Rooms (with young family and grandmother) and we all absolutely loved it! The guest house is stylish, while also feeling like home. The terrace is so spacious and such a pleasure to spend time in. I have never stayed anywhere so clean - and that's a big plus for me.

The staff were very helpful and accommodating - we changed our plans at the last minute and asked to stay an extra night which was no problem! They also stored our luggage and arranged taxis for us and were full of tips for eateries and tours.

We got to experience both the terrace and street side rooms due to our change of plans and all were fantastic. Our sleep wasn't disturbed by any noise (maybe due to all the wonderful tapas and mojitos!!)

We loved the location! Zoorooms is in a fantastic neighbourhood which felt very safe and had a lovely choice of restaurants and shops nearby.

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bybali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Location is nice, staff are very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are clean and they are modern. The rooms on the street side are noisy, though. The roof terrace is nice. It is actually a very quiet place with no staff around in day-time (which is also not necessary).

Room Tip: Pick a room with a terrace, so you can sleep well. It's worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

First my only complaint - booked two terrace rooms back in January for our visit in May. Steve the owner changed our booking at the last minute without telling me because he wanted to give a terrace room to someone else.. My son therefore had to take a room on the noisier street side which I didn't want. This is unacceptable and unprofessional so I have marked it down for that reason. Having said that, Zoo Rooms are two small first floor flats converted and modernised into I apartment with 7 letting rooms, some at the back facing a large terrace and the others facing the street. There is also a sitting area with free Wi-Fi leading on to a kitchen which also opens on to the terrace. The rooms are quite small with small ensuite showers decorated in a simple, modern, shabby chic style. So here are the pros and cons@-

Pros - Good location - only two blocks from Passeig de Gracia station so easy and cheap to get to and from airport and walkable to all the sights; great having kitchen to store drinks, make breakfast etc, chat to other guests. Rooms are well designed and showers are good. Receptionist, Jonathan, very helpful on arrival with local info/map and it was good to have a key for coming and going. Cost of rooms also reasonable.

Cons - if you are a light sleeper, the flooring is all laminate and you hear everyone walking past and the doors bang loudly when being closed. However, this would not put me off staying again and apart from the problem with our booking, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms probably quieter than street rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henwomanGlenrothes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOOROOMS_Barcelona, Manager at Zoo Rooms, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
I just wanted to respond to this review to say that we didn´t just give away a room to someone else.

These guests booked early in the year through a website that we receive very few bookings through and unfortunately there was only 1 terrace room available at the time as the others were already booked. At the time they put down the number of guests as 2 so we were unclear that two rooms were actually necessary.

I contacted the guests before their visit and it was established the week before the arrival date that they were in fact 3 people, not just 2 persons travelling. I explained the different rooms we had and we offered them various options and in the end gave their 27-year old son the largest room we have, the Suite room.

At no time did they mention to me the fact that they were unhappy with this arrangement and I was unaware that there was any problem, we shared various conversations during their stay and the only negative comment they had to share was about a cracked coffee mug! They seemed very at home at ZOOROOMS and we would love to welcome them back.

Although we now use a reputable channel manager to avoid double bookings, we recommend booking directly through our website in the future.

I apologize for any hardship caused,

kind regards,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Pro:
Good location! Not in part of town that's TOO busy, but close enough to the action to make short trips by foot or metro.

The staff is unbelievably nice! Seriously. Some chain hotels need to take a lesson from Steve and his staff.

The place is a cool boutique style guesthouse with modern amenities including an iMac for use and a killer terrace with 3 hammocks for your own personal afternoon siesta!

If they keep prices affordable, I'll be back. No doubt.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmoneyag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Blanc Guesthouse
#31 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#50 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Eixample
Hostalin Barcelona Gran Via
Hostalin Barcelona Gran Via
#55 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Brun Barcelona B&B
Brun Barcelona B&B
#93 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#10 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoo Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoo Rooms

Property: Zoo Rooms
Address: Mallorca 209, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZOO ROOMS offers stylish and budget "chic & cheerful" accommodation to a new generation of culturally sophisticated visitors to Barcelona who want a certain level of independence mixed with top-quality service, style and comfort at an affordable price.Hotel? Hostel? - Oh?tel! Our rooms meet guidelines for hotel standards, but our prices are closer to a hostel. we are a unique boutique guesthouse, combining the quality you'd find in a fancy hotel with the personal services offered in a hostel - you can cook your own meal, mingle with other guests, chill out in the living room, drink on the terrace, and all at an affordable price.The location of our little city oasis, in the heart of the Eixample area, was carefully chosen so our guests would get a better city experience and level of comfort and relax that you just won't find staying in the old town. We are situated in a prestigious area of the city, next to the city's most hip restaurants, bars and just walking distance to the city's finest sights: There are bars and clubs just around the corner if you want to go out dancing, the best of the city's restaurants - with prices to suit all budgets - are all within easy walking distance. Gaudí's masterpieces La Pedrera and Casa Battló are also just a few blocks away.The area is safe at night to walk around in - you will not be harrassed by beer-sellers, thieves and drunkards like in the old town.Did we mention the TERRAZA? Our privileged guests will soon discover our large sunny terrace with hammocks and tables and lounge chairs where guests can really chill out and take a break from the hum-drum of the big city. We organise weekly BBQ's in the evenings during the summer months serving a wonderful array of the best Argentinean and Galician meats, fresh fish and grilled vegetarian options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Zoo Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoo Rooms Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing