We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and warmth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Zoo Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zoo Rooms
Ranked #73 of 326 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location and warmth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Staying at Zoo Rooms, where Steve is the landlord, is excellent value for money. Located centrally in Barcelona Steve has several good input of where to nice restaurants, tapas bars, where to get the best brunch etc. You got to try this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    38
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
64
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have just spent three nights at Zoo Rooms and couldn't have asked for more. The place itself is located in the wonderful Eixample district, within walking distance from several touristic attractions and dozens of restaurants and bars. For those who prefer to explore by foot, it can't get any better than this. Our host Oris was wonderful and gave us a sense of familiarity, while she outlined the most important attractions and marked restaurant recommendations on the map.

The room itself was spotless clean and large enough for our needs. Some people might find that it is quite noisy, however this was no issue for us since we're dealing with a similar atmosphere back home.

I highly recommend the place, it was great value for money!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catalin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We located Zoo Rooms after a short walk from the Passaig de Gracia metro station asking Carrer Mallorca. The entrance is understated to say the least, and we weren't entirely sure what to expect. However, as we 'buzzed' reception, we were greeted by Steve, who was clearly expecting us as he called me by my first name which is a nice friendly touch.

After he came down and formerly introduced himself, Steve carried my girlfriends luggage up the flight of stairs into Zoo Rooms.

Our room was fresh and airy, a comfortable double bed and adequate bathroom, the iPod ready speakers were a bonus too. The crowning glory of the room was the terrace, our veranda doors opened onto a glorious terrace complete with hammocks, barbecue and out own private space. A little sun trap in the late afternoon, I dozed off in the hammocks more than once. The rooms were adorned with bespoke lights which resemble a jellyfish, very cool and very different however not ideal for lighting the room, even with table lamps. My only gripe, so slight I feel bad for mentioning it.

We had access, along with other guests, to a well kitted out kitchen. Not facilities I generally look for in accommodation but we made the most of them by having breakfast on the patio each day. A comfortable lounge is just off the kitchen with an iMac and shower facilities, which are good if your flight is after check out time.

Steve and his small team were excellent throughout our stay. From spending time with us after check in poring over a map, locating the best tapas bars, seafood restaurants and the like (we tried them all, Steve's recommendations were ace) to allowing us to leave our bags for collection later on the day of departure whilst we spent our last afternoon in the city. The other lady who was often on reception, whose name I shamefully never caught, even took our photo for their guests gallery before we checked out .

Well located, central enough to be within a short walk of La Rambla, Passaig de Gracia, Placa Catalunya, Sagrada Familia etc, but off the beaten track enough to be quiet. Zoo Rooms provided us with an excellent base for exploration and our own city centre oasis. I wouldn't visit Barcelona again without checking in to this gem.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Situated in a non-descript building somewhere in the heart of the city, is Zoo Rooms, a great hotel with the MOST helpful manager - Oris - that we have ever seen. We checked in at 8:30am - early by any hotel standards, but Oris had a room set up for us and once we had put our bags down, she took us to the kitchen table and marked out a list of places to see, restuarants to eat at and based on our tourism preferences, suggested a list of things we could do. It was a very warm and comfortable reception for us and was far beyond expectations.

The rooms use space very cleverly - the storage shelves are conveinently placed, the room very thoughfully has a music player (with a radio and aux cable if you want to plug your ipod in) and a beautiful little balcony that Barcelona houses are famous for, that overlooks the street. Despite the street facing room, it did not get noisy. Theres also a 24-hour store across the street.

You can help yourself to the tea and coffee supplies in the kitchen and have a shelf allocated to you in the refridgerator in case you want to buy supplies. The open air seating area is lovely in the evenings. There is very good internet connectivity in the hotel and they even prit off boarding passes or tickets if you need - with no additional charge.

This is a HIGHLY recommended hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sowmyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

For a few days in Barcelona, Zoo Rooms is an ideal choice. It's in a great location, only a 5 minute walk to the Metro, with several places to eat right outside the front door. The staff are friendly and helpful and take the time to suggest places to go and things to do, as well as suggesting places to eat. The rooms are basic, but very clean and there's a plesent outdoor seating area with hammocks to relax in the evening. It also has a kitchen area with a space for your food and drinks, ideal if your on a budget. Great value and great location, make it good choice for exploring Barcelona.

Room Tip: If you don't sleep too well, ask for a room in the back of the property as the street facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayF99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed in the Zoo Rooms in January 2014 with my girlfriend and I must say that the experience was second to none. From the moment we arrived we were treated exceptionally, it was my first time in Barcelona and within 20 minutes our host had a map marked out with lots of attractions, cool bars and really nice restaurants within walking distance of us. Both my girlfriend and I really loved the walk to the city center (which only took 20 mins in between stops for photo ops of Gaudi buildings).

The accommodation itself was fantastic with a comfortable bed, clean bathroom and a real sense of privacy. We also had access to a fully functioning kitchen and the roof terrace was a really nice place to chill out in the evening before dinner.

All in all i can guarantee that on my next trip to Barcelona i will be booking a stay at the Zoo Rooms!

Tom

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Really enjoyed staying at Zoo Rooms. Steve the owner is as helpful as you could ever ask for. He gave us a city map as soon as we arrived, and marked loads of recommendations of bars/cafes/restaurants/tourist attractions. Loads of places you won't find in guide books as well.
Our room (facing out onto the terrace), was clean, spacious and comfy. The ensuite bathroom was very good as well, although it took a while to figure out how the shower worked. The terrace is great for smokers or anyone wanting to relax in the hammocks. Although i'm not sure its ideal for kids. The kitchen is also well equipped and theres plenty of space to store food!
The area of Barcelona its located in L'Eixample is close to most of the biggest tourist attractions, its about 10 minutes walk from La Rambla for instance. But slightly quieter than parts of El Ravel or the Gothic District. Theres a 24 hour store just across the street, and also good restaurants and bars close.

Definitely one of the best hostels i've stayed in, thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms leading out onto Terrace quieter and convenient for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omarmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#52 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Eixample
Lolita B and B
Lolita B and B
#135 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Blanc Guesthouse
#37 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Brun Barcelona B&B
Brun Barcelona B&B
#80 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Som Nit Triomf
Som Nit Triomf
#53 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoo Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoo Rooms

Property: Zoo Rooms
Address: Mallorca 209, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZOO ROOMS offers stylish and budget "chic & cheerful" accommodation to a new generation of culturally sophisticated visitors to Barcelona who want a certain level of independence mixed with top-quality service, style and comfort at an affordable price.Hotel? Hostel? - Oh?tel! Our rooms meet guidelines for hotel standards, but our prices are closer to a hostel. we are a unique boutique guesthouse, combining the quality you'd find in a fancy hotel with the personal services offered in a hostel - you can cook your own meal, mingle with other guests, chill out in the living room, drink on the terrace, and all at an affordable price.The location of our little city oasis, in the heart of the Eixample area, was carefully chosen so our guests would get a better city experience and level of comfort and relax that you just won't find staying in the old town. We are situated in a prestigious area of the city, next to the city's most hip restaurants, bars and just walking distance to the city's finest sights: There are bars and clubs just around the corner if you want to go out dancing, the best of the city's restaurants - with prices to suit all budgets - are all within easy walking distance. Gaudí's masterpieces La Pedrera and Casa Battló are also just a few blocks away.The area is safe at night to walk around in - you will not be harrassed by beer-sellers, thieves and drunkards like in the old town.Did we mention the TERRAZA? Our privileged guests will soon discover our large sunny terrace with hammocks and tables and lounge chairs where guests can really chill out and take a break from the hum-drum of the big city. We organise weekly BBQ's in the evenings during the summer months serving a wonderful array of the best Argentinean and Galician meats, fresh fish and grilled vegetarian options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Zoo Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoo Rooms Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing