We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Zoo Rooms”
Review of Zoo Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zoo Rooms
Ranked #68 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Zoo Rooms”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I agree with every positive review about Zoo Rooms. I stayed there for 5 nights having visited Barcelona with a friend. The location is very convenient, being close to the main Gaudi sights, as well as plenty of fantastic tapas restaurants and bars. Gabriella and Steve are fantastic hosts- so helpful with recommending the best places to eat and drink. They couldn't have offered us more in the way of hospitality with Gabriella even pre-booking our tickets to various sights so that we would avoid queues. The hammocks are great for relaxing and enjoying a nice Cava after a day of sightseeing. I thoroughly recommend you paying a bit extra for a terrace room, so peaceful and quiet. Thanks again to Gabriella and Steve x

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are quieter and sunnier. Bathrooms are nice also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    39
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
66
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This cute little hotel had everything we needed for our 6 day stay. It was a little hard to find at first, but the location is pretty central with lots of restaurants and bars around. There's a kitchen and lounge area for all the guests to use. And a huge peaceful terrace with hammocks and chairs to relax in after a long day. The staff are really sweet and super helpful and pretty much planned our entire day for us, Hehe.
The only downside would be the bed was a little small, but that's about it. Great air conditioning and shower. Definitely coming back here!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sonyashamsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Staying at Zoo Rooms, where Steve is the landlord, is excellent value for money. Located centrally in Barcelona Steve has several good input of where to nice restaurants, tapas bars, where to get the best brunch etc. You got to try this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have just spent three nights at Zoo Rooms and couldn't have asked for more. The place itself is located in the wonderful Eixample district, within walking distance from several touristic attractions and dozens of restaurants and bars. For those who prefer to explore by foot, it can't get any better than this. Our host Oris was wonderful and gave us a sense of familiarity, while she outlined the most important attractions and marked restaurant recommendations on the map.

The room itself was spotless clean and large enough for our needs. Some people might find that it is quite noisy, however this was no issue for us since we're dealing with a similar atmosphere back home.

I highly recommend the place, it was great value for money!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catalin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We located Zoo Rooms after a short walk from the Passaig de Gracia metro station asking Carrer Mallorca. The entrance is understated to say the least, and we weren't entirely sure what to expect. However, as we 'buzzed' reception, we were greeted by Steve, who was clearly expecting us as he called me by my first name which is a nice friendly touch.

After he came down and formerly introduced himself, Steve carried my girlfriends luggage up the flight of stairs into Zoo Rooms.

Our room was fresh and airy, a comfortable double bed and adequate bathroom, the iPod ready speakers were a bonus too. The crowning glory of the room was the terrace, our veranda doors opened onto a glorious terrace complete with hammocks, barbecue and out own private space. A little sun trap in the late afternoon, I dozed off in the hammocks more than once. The rooms were adorned with bespoke lights which resemble a jellyfish, very cool and very different however not ideal for lighting the room, even with table lamps. My only gripe, so slight I feel bad for mentioning it.

We had access, along with other guests, to a well kitted out kitchen. Not facilities I generally look for in accommodation but we made the most of them by having breakfast on the patio each day. A comfortable lounge is just off the kitchen with an iMac and shower facilities, which are good if your flight is after check out time.

Steve and his small team were excellent throughout our stay. From spending time with us after check in poring over a map, locating the best tapas bars, seafood restaurants and the like (we tried them all, Steve's recommendations were ace) to allowing us to leave our bags for collection later on the day of departure whilst we spent our last afternoon in the city. The other lady who was often on reception, whose name I shamefully never caught, even took our photo for their guests gallery before we checked out .

Well located, central enough to be within a short walk of La Rambla, Passaig de Gracia, Placa Catalunya, Sagrada Familia etc, but off the beaten track enough to be quiet. Zoo Rooms provided us with an excellent base for exploration and our own city centre oasis. I wouldn't visit Barcelona again without checking in to this gem.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Situated in a non-descript building somewhere in the heart of the city, is Zoo Rooms, a great hotel with the MOST helpful manager - Oris - that we have ever seen. We checked in at 8:30am - early by any hotel standards, but Oris had a room set up for us and once we had put our bags down, she took us to the kitchen table and marked out a list of places to see, restuarants to eat at and based on our tourism preferences, suggested a list of things we could do. It was a very warm and comfortable reception for us and was far beyond expectations.

The rooms use space very cleverly - the storage shelves are conveinently placed, the room very thoughfully has a music player (with a radio and aux cable if you want to plug your ipod in) and a beautiful little balcony that Barcelona houses are famous for, that overlooks the street. Despite the street facing room, it did not get noisy. Theres also a 24-hour store across the street.

You can help yourself to the tea and coffee supplies in the kitchen and have a shelf allocated to you in the refridgerator in case you want to buy supplies. The open air seating area is lovely in the evenings. There is very good internet connectivity in the hotel and they even prit off boarding passes or tickets if you need - with no additional charge.

This is a HIGHLY recommended hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sowmyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

For a few days in Barcelona, Zoo Rooms is an ideal choice. It's in a great location, only a 5 minute walk to the Metro, with several places to eat right outside the front door. The staff are friendly and helpful and take the time to suggest places to go and things to do, as well as suggesting places to eat. The rooms are basic, but very clean and there's a plesent outdoor seating area with hammocks to relax in the evening. It also has a kitchen area with a space for your food and drinks, ideal if your on a budget. Great value and great location, make it good choice for exploring Barcelona.

Room Tip: If you don't sleep too well, ask for a room in the back of the property as the street facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayF99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hostal Goya
Hostal Goya
#35 of 308 in Barcelona
453 reviews
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#50 of 308 in Barcelona
342 reviews
Hotel Boutique Hostemplo
#61 of 308 in Barcelona
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#17 of 308 in Barcelona
301 reviews
Eixample
Fabrizzio's Petit
Fabrizzio's Petit
#48 of 728 in Barcelona
218 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Natura Barcelona
Hostal Natura Barcelona
#102 of 308 in Barcelona
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoo Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoo Rooms

Property: Zoo Rooms
Address: Mallorca 209, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZOO ROOMS offers stylish and budget "chic & cheerful" accommodation to a new generation of culturally sophisticated visitors to Barcelona who want a certain level of independence mixed with top-quality service, style and comfort at an affordable price.Hotel? Hostel? - Oh?tel! Our rooms meet guidelines for hotel standards, but our prices are closer to a hostel. we are a unique boutique guesthouse, combining the quality you'd find in a fancy hotel with the personal services offered in a hostel - you can cook your own meal, mingle with other guests, chill out in the living room, drink on the terrace, and all at an affordable price.The location of our little city oasis, in the heart of the Eixample area, was carefully chosen so our guests would get a better city experience and level of comfort and relax that you just won't find staying in the old town. We are situated in a prestigious area of the city, next to the city's most hip restaurants, bars and just walking distance to the city's finest sights: There are bars and clubs just around the corner if you want to go out dancing, the best of the city's restaurants - with prices to suit all budgets - are all within easy walking distance. Gaudí's masterpieces La Pedrera and Casa Battló are also just a few blocks away.The area is safe at night to walk around in - you will not be harrassed by beer-sellers, thieves and drunkards like in the old town.Did we mention the TERRAZA? Our privileged guests will soon discover our large sunny terrace with hammocks and tables and lounge chairs where guests can really chill out and take a break from the hum-drum of the big city. We organise weekly BBQ's in the evenings during the summer months serving a wonderful array of the best Argentinean and Galician meats, fresh fish and grilled vegetarian options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Zoo Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoo Rooms Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing