We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Martinval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Martinval
Ranked #19 of 326 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice location, very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Hostal Martinval is situed in a nice area, near to Sagrada Familia and Barcelona's main shopping street Passeig Garcia. 5-10 minutes to metro station Verdaguer. Nice and clean room, helpful and friendly staffs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_bonvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    246
    73
    11
    8
See reviews for
96
301
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Hotel Martinval's location excellent-close enough to walk to many exciting sites and close to bus stop for tour rides. Staff helped get tour tickets, arrange for excellent meal, and provide assistance whenever we asked. They were multi-lingual and could not have been more accommodating. The room had a private terrace and was very clean. The shower was excellent with plenty of hot water.

There were many places close for inexpensive meals within a block of the hotel with a supermarket very close. Please consider this hotel and save money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedbrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

good location. felt like a safe neightbourhood, and only a 10-15 minute walk from placa catalonia. the staff were very friendly and the atmosphere was warm. the room felt very clean. the staff cleaned it every day during our stay, big plus! we had a small balcony, but it was facing the street so nighttime was a bit noisy from the traffic ( but it is hard to find a quiet place in such a big city). 24h supermarket just across the street, and nice breakfast-restaurants just a around the corner. we would definetly stay at hostel martinval again! our only wish was an english speaking tv-channel. we recommend earplugs- with them you wont have anything to be anoyed about! very good value for such a low cost hostel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We had a room with a balcony that had a view of the streets. The room was clean and nice and we liked the decor. It was a quiet street so we slept well. The staff are friendly and nice! There are shops around the area and a supermarket at the next building on the right of this hostel.
it takes around 10-15 to walk from Passeig de Gracia station. It can seem like a long walk especially with luggage but the stay was welcoming and the area feels safe. Just prepare proper maps to get here.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Good location, ample room and bath. Basic amenities. Very clean. Disastrous bed pillows. They are super long - as wide as the queen size bed, thick and heavy. Please change them for normal size of bed pillows, where you can fold them, or place them the way your head, neck or body needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmd d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We chose Martinval because of the good reviews and they were certainly correct. The location is very good especially for Gaudi projects. We had a very good room with a patio. Everywhere was well kept, and we received very friendly, willing and helpful service. Would use again and do recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186306John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Staff were friendly andexceptionally helpful. Our room had 3 beds and an internal terrace with three chairs and a table - no view but it was good to be able to open the french windows for air. The room was very clean and we thought the location was excellent - close enough to Passeig de Gracia and other places of interest, whilst being quieter at night. If we return to Barcelona we would definitely stay at the Martinval

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#97 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,607 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#199 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#78 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#388 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#79 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Martinval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Martinval

Property: Hostal Martinval
Address: Bruc 117, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Martinval 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Martinval is a two stars, pleasant and exclusively modernized. In the heart of the Eixample Neighborhood Next to the famous Passeig de Gracia and 10 minutes walk from Plaça Catalunya. The area is well connected with public transport, metro, train and bus, very close to Barcelona´s architectural wonders, "Segrada-Famila", "La pedrera" and "Casa Batilló". The historic city center, the Gothic quarter, is also just 15 min walk. Martinval is a boutique Hostal, we offer 10 private rooms, all the rooms have elevated ceilings and beautiful interiors, most of the rooms are patted with balcony. Rooms have attached private bathrooms which are modernly designed. The rooms have televisions in it with the entire regional and national television channels. At Martinval you feel at home with our exceptional quality services of rooms. We are aimed to offer tourist, backpackers and group an economical and modernize accommodation with best room services and facilities which can be found at any high level hostals in Barcelona. Have a great experience in Barcelona by staying at the most innovative and economical hostal: Martinval Barcelona!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Martinval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Martinval Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing