We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new rooms”
Review of Hostal Martinval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Martinval
Ranked #20 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brand new rooms”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I just stayed for four nights and have to say that while very basic my stay was really good at Martinval.
- The attention by the staff was always very courteous, they were keen to know at all times if there was any problem so they could correct it.
- The room was very spacious and modern. It was quite basic, but I am not sure I needed anything else for my stay. I would just add a safe to the room just for peace of mind.
- The shared bathroom was brand new and always clean and the couple of opportunities where there was a problem the staff where quite expedient in fixing it.
- The location was great as it was close to everything but at the same time far enough to be away from the tourist chaos. There are three metro stations nearby one of which takes you directly to the Barceloneta (beach). A local market is also two blocs away, here you can buy great fruits, Serrano ham, or anything else you'd like.

A couple of negatives:
- Because they are undergoing construction there was always this feeling of dust in the floor, I assume this would be solved once the construction ends.
- The WiFi could be improved, I had some problems to connect to the WiFi as it kept resetting itself -or so it seemed-.

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking Bruc street and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adsiVen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    256
    75
    11
    8
See reviews for
105
307
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This was a fairly basic kind of accommodation. Everything was fine, functional, and generally clean, but it was nothing fancy or special. The room had two beds that were initially made up with just sheets, that kind of thing. The towels seemed past their prime, and outside of one small ring for the hand towel next to the sink, there wasn't anywhere to hang a towel in the entire room. The light on my side of the bed was missing its pull chain so the bulb had been loosened as a way to turn the light off. That kind of thing.

The old-time lift was fun, if a bit tight with our small amount of luggage. We did have wifi that worked fine in our room (#36). No view. One window that opened but had no locks and was accessible via the door to the balcony outside it from the room next door. No safe or other way to lock up valuables. Odd key system where you had to lock the door with the key, even from the inside (not great in case of emergency!). No table and only one small plastic chair. If we hadn't had an extra twin bed, I'm not sure where we would have put anything, since we had our luggage and our things spread out there. This was the most expensive place we stayed during our two-week trip to Portugal and Spain and the least nice, but it was in the biggest city as well.

We loved the location. This part of town is out of the main tourist district but still has loads of restaurants and cafes and is a few blocks from several different metro stations/lines. We thought it a very nice area to stay in. Quiet, except that they were doing construction on the other half of the floor where our room was, which made an afternoon nap an unlikely event (but who naps on vacation???).

Room Tip: Room 36 has one window but absolutely no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is a two-star hotel with no frills but great service and character. It is safe - you need three keys for three different doors to get in at night, clean and functional. Ensuite, with a television. Free wifi but that kept breaking down when we were there. No kettle, no room safe, no tea-making facilities. What it does have is a convenient location and wonderful staff.

Matteo (who is Italian) wins my reception staff of the year award - very friendly, gentle and helpful. He helped us book restaurants and flamenco shows. There is also a nice satellite photo of the neighbourhood filling a wall which the staff use to orientate you. The ancient lift that barely fits three people is an experience in itself.

Three of us stayed 3 nights on the top floor and had no complaints. The hotel is undergoing renovations now, so the rooms will soon be better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

3 night stay, 8 of us in our group. Dorian & Mateo very patient & helpful, giving recommendations, calling cabs etc. For a "hostel" I'm rating this excellent because it is very clean, each room has their own bathroom (ensuite) and it went beyond my expectations. I've never stayed in a hostel but I'll definitely stay here again ! Minor inconveniences when we were there: construction going on in the building but not disruptive in any way except some dust, the coffee machine was not working consistently. Metro station very close, easy walking neighborhood, safe at night, ditto comments of others

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2013

It's a nice hotel, we were lucky to have a balcony. The room was spacious, clear and clean. Good location, district calm and close to the center and Sagrada Famìlia. The staff was kind and helpful, they were able to speak in a perfect english.
It misses perhaps just a small kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This was a great hotel. It a glorious old hotel in the Eixample, but very close to two metro stations and easy reach to all the sights. Also great shopping in the local markets. The owners and reception staff were super helpful. We loved it there.

Room Tip: Choose a room on level 3 or 4 - one with a small balcony onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Eva_Johnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed at hostal martinval for 7 nights! The location is very close to everything in the centre,with metro and bus station near. Our room was very good, renovated and clear. The staff was great. They helped us very much with directions and everything we needed.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,746 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#204 of 512 in Barcelona
882 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#183 of 512 in Barcelona
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#193 of 512 in Barcelona
1,903 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 512 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#48 of 512 in Barcelona
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Martinval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Martinval

Property: Hostal Martinval
Address: Bruc 117, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Martinval 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Martinval is a two stars, pleasant and exclusively modernized. In the heart of the Eixample Neighborhood Next to the famous Passeig de Gracia and 10 minutes walk from Plaça Catalunya. The area is well connected with public transport, metro, train and bus, very close to Barcelona´s architectural wonders, "Segrada-Famila", "La pedrera" and "Casa Batilló". The historic city center, the Gothic quarter, is also just 15 min walk. Martinval is a boutique Hostal, we offer 10 private rooms, all the rooms have elevated ceilings and beautiful interiors, most of the rooms are patted with balcony. Rooms have attached private bathrooms which are modernly designed. The rooms have televisions in it with the entire regional and national television channels. At Martinval you feel at home with our exceptional quality services of rooms. We are aimed to offer tourist, backpackers and group an economical and modernize accommodation with best room services and facilities which can be found at any high level hostals in Barcelona. Have a great experience in Barcelona by staying at the most innovative and economical hostal: Martinval Barcelona!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Martinval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Martinval Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing