We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hostal and very friendly staff”
Review of Hostal Martinval

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Martinval
Ranked #24 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We (female 45 and male 16) stayed for 43 nights on the 1st floor with small balcony facing the street. Noisy (traffic) but we were to tired so no problem. Free Wifi was sometimes weak in the room. It is simple but good. Very helpfull and friendly staff! Nice shower with good hot water. Location is very central and nearby big shopping street Paseig de Garcia and Ramblas de Catalunya and Placa de Catalunya (10 min walk) and to the metro stations. They give 10% discount for the touristic bus and if you want to see a lot of Barcelona you should do this! 3 routes in 1 day, you can get out wherever you like. Every 10 minutes there comes an other bus. Staff gave lot of good advices: metro, locations, restaurants. Best one for tapas is Cerveseria Catalana!! Very nice food and not expensive. Only you have to wait for about 30-40 minutes for a table, but worth it! Accrose the Hostal is a good simple little restaurant to have breakfast: Itaca. We had a great visit in Barcelona and a good nice stay in Hostel Martinval.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chietje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Very friendly, helpful staff and comfortable rooms. This hostal is in a good location, slightly out of the main hustle & bustle, but a short walk to some of the main tourist sights and the metro. The room i had was for three people, so there was plenty of space and it also had a lovely terrace you could go out onto and see a little of raw Spanish life!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliciaPhotopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at hostal Martinval for 5 nights. Our room was on the third floor with a balcony facing the street. It is a very basic room, so dont expect any phone, place to store much clothes, AC etc... Wifi in the room was also quite weak. The rooms are kept clean, and there's always hot water at great pressure in the shower. The hotel is located in a quiet street, so we easily slept with our balcony doors open. And its only about 10minute walk away from plaça catalunya, la rambla and other places you wanna visit! Its also just a few blocks away from the metro and the famous passeig de Gracia. We also got a 10% discount for the touristic bus :) finally the staff were truly extremely helpful, helping us with directions and advice for moving around... For what we paid, it was a very good experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gl0betr0tter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

It was a little hard to find at first, but thanks to Google Maps we found it. What a great bunch of people that run this little Hostal / mini Hotel. There is a 24 hour rotation of staff, and every single one of them was so helpful, and friendly. Our room is just as it looked in the review pictures. The bed was really comfortable. I had asked for an extra pillow, which was delivered to my room no sooner that requested, plus an extra for my hubby as well. We had a room facing away from the street, with a little balcony. Nice shower, water always hot and water pressure very good. Central location, and easily accessible to public transport etc and many sights. To top this all of, this little gem was so reasonably priced. Thanks Hostal Martinval staff for making our stay in your beautiful city such a pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The room was simple, without a wardrobe and windows cannot really to be opened, however it was clean and nice.
The bed was very soft and nice.
Towels and sheets could be a bit fresher.

Unfortunately, bad wifi connection.
Location is quite central and in a safe area, though requires a walk to the real central parts, close to Sagrada Familia.

Great service! They really tried to help us with some questions we had.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whocares61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, I was apprehensive as it was a hostal but it is more like a hotel. The room was fresh, clean and large. The ensuite had a powerful shower, and the towels were changed once during our stay. The reception staff couldn't be helpful enough, on our arrival they told us the places to avoid and the transport tickets to get. We decided to go to the ice bar on the sea front and I recommend you buy your tickets from reception as they will make you a reservation and you get a free drink. There was a free meal at a local restaurant included with our stay at a local restaurant, the food was outstanding and we only had to contribute 4 euros!
The only downfall was the thin walls, but hey its an old building.

Room Tip: Don't buy food on the Rambalas, go to resturants off the strip as the food is better and cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H5221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Everything is wonderful of Martival Hostal except that there is no living room or any other public space. There is a lobby but it is small and of little funtion.
Despite that little complaint, the location is great. It is close to famous Passeig de Gracia but still in a quiet and safe neighbourhood. However, for the same reason, there is not as many interesting shops or restaurants as in Gotrico or other more crowded part. But it doesn't matter because the traffic is very convenient.
The staff are very helpful and interesting. They helped to finish my online checkin and gave good recommendations for food. They were offwork late at night but it is easy to call them back by phone if you need any help.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joey_Shen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Casa Gracia
Casa Gracia
#26 of 308 in Barcelona
1,366 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#8 of 308 in Barcelona
489 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Argo Barcelona
Hostal Argo Barcelona
#25 of 308 in Barcelona
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#21 of 736 in Barcelona
1,604 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Colkida
Hostal Colkida
#40 of 308 in Barcelona
369 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#17 of 308 in Barcelona
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Martinval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Martinval

Address: Bruc 117, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £26 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Martinval 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Martinval is a two stars, pleasant and exclusively modernized. In the heart of the Eixample Neighborhood Next to the famous Passeig de Gracia and 10 minutes walk from Plaça Catalunya. The area is well connected with public transport, metro, train and bus, very close to Barcelona´s architectural wonders, "Segrada-Famila", "La pedrera" and "Casa Batilló". The historic city center, the Gothic quarter, is also just 15 min walk. Martinval is a boutique Hostal, we offer 10 private rooms, all the rooms have elevated ceilings and beautiful interiors, most of the rooms are patted with balcony. Rooms have attached private bathrooms which are modernly designed. The rooms have televisions in it with the entire regional and national television channels. At Martinval you feel at home with our exceptional quality services of rooms. We are aimed to offer tourist, backpackers and group an economical and modernize accommodation with best room services and facilities which can be found at any high level hostals in Barcelona. Have a great experience in Barcelona by staying at the most innovative and economical hostal: Martinval Barcelona!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Martinval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Martinval Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing