We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rediculously overpriced.”
Review of Alexis Fasoli

Alexis Fasoli
Ranked #106 of 319 Shopping in Barcelona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautifully hand crafted sandals,shoes and bags made to order or made to measure (some pret a porter available) in the heart of Barcelona. I personally make and design all the accessories that are on display under the label Alexis Fasoli. Finest leather or exotic skins are employed, clients participate in the creative process as their order is put together.Beautifully unique accessories. Open workshop to see the production process.HOW TO FIND IT. I AM A LITTLE TUCKED AWAYSome have found it a little difficult to get to. Find the Church Santa Maria del Mar. Face the the main door and walk around the church anti-clockwise. On your right you will see a square with a flame for dead soldiers. Take the first street on the right after the square. It is like a tunnel. There is a clothes shop on the corner with lots of hats. Walk down 20 metres and I am on the right.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rediculously overpriced.”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Some people in the world might be able to afford 300 Euros for a block of wood with some leather straps, but not me. Whilst homemade leather has an appeal, the quality of the resultant items is not worth the prices here. Opening times are also bizarre, and appear largely dictated by when he can get out of bed ( 11am in our case). It's a shame, as its a nice idea.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Sojourner92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    0
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Artisan leather store”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Having read the other reviews, I was rather disappointed with this, perhaps because I was just looking at what was on the shelves rather than having the time (or money) to commission something. Maybe I would have felt differently if so.

Everything seemed very nicely made and the belts, in particular, looked lovely, but the leather sandals had very hard, unsupportive soles and uppers which seemed to be made of saddle leather, both of which would have taken time to wear in and I think would have been uncomfortable.

We were pleased that we hadn't gone out of our way to find this shop, although there are some other nice shops in the neighbourhood. It happened to be fairly near to our hotel and just beside the church of Santa Maria del Mar, which is well worth a look.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank puffpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must-see in Barcelona”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Alexis Fasoli's shop is a pleasure, an authentic delight in the old part of Barcelona. If you enjoy design, fashion, handmade items, this place is a must-see! ;)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barcelona_SpainPatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality Leather Goods and a Bespoke Service”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

A small shop tucked away in the El Born neighbourhood. Not the easiest to find but well worth searching out. There were various quality leather products on display. Alex also offers a bespoke service and will create belts, wallets, cases etc to your own design. My wife was absolutely delighted with her belt. Alex goes the extra mile to make sure the customer is happy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful find for lovers of handcrafted leather designs”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

AF stands for an enchanting nook tucked away on a quaint cobblestone street in the Born neighbourhood of Barcelona, where the originality and exclusivity of handcrafted leather goods has been skillfully restored.

In this “atelier shop” you can find leather creations handmade by the artisan Alexis Fasoli and see how his new ideas come to life and take form in his hands; sandals and espadrilles made to size from one-of-a-kind designs, elegant clutches made with precious leather (one of the things I like most about AF is that you can see, touch, and choose the leather you desire for your bag), wallets, elaborate eye-catching belts, and other tempting complements like vintage wrist watches, cufflinks, leather bracelets, ipad+iphone cases, etc. Also perfect gift items, if you can let go of them!

Highly recommendable if you are willing to risk falling in love with everything!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank SaranSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alexis Fasoli also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Alexis Fasoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing