We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gem in the heart of it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Continental Palacete
Ranked #331 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at the Continental Palacete by accident, as we were booked in their sister hotel, Hotel Continental Barcelona, but they had double booked our room. At first we were so disappointed to have to move hotels, after a long flight we were tired, but in the end we couldn't have been more pleased. We stayed one night pre cruise. The staff were excellent. They cabbed us to the sister hotel no charge, and although it was early in the day, they did their best to get the room ready for us as soon as possible. We sat in the common room balcony overlooking La Ramblas and enjoyed snacks and their free beer on tap.
Our room was amazing. Beautiful 20 ft ceilings in a separate sitting room with a lovely view. The bed was fine, albeit a bit hard for our tastes and the bathroom was fine as well.
We were impressed with the beauty of the room and the history of the hotel. I would recomend it without a doubt.
Friendly staff and great location along with their light snack bar with refreshments, we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lambo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know that despite the inconvenience of changing hotel, there is not a shred of resentment towards the Continental hotels in Barcelona.

Quite the contrary.

Your satisfaction is our satisfaction and we thank you for sharing it!

Remember we are always at your service.

Sincerely,

Viviane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

Staying here was great. It is an historic building, so a few things are a little out of shape, but the location and staff made up for that. There was a charming British fellow at the front desk who was incredibly nice and helpful. He even carried our luggage downstairs when we checked out because their old fashioned lift had broken down.

We stayed in the Sun Room ("Sole"). I had asked for the Tribune room because it had a large window seating area, but Sole was quite lovely and the window very large so I think it was just as nice. Yes, everything is PINK! But very charming.

The buffet was very convenient, since going out for every meal of a trip can get a little expensive and daunting. It looks a little sparse at first, but really it's all you need. A few eggs, toast, cereal and fruit in the morning and you're all set. We only used it for breakfast and some quick snacks and drinks after a day of wandering Barcelona. It was great having a wine or a beer after getting back in.

If I ever get back to Barcelona (and it was so great that I'd love to go back) I'd try to get a room at the H.C. Barcelona only because the H.C. Barcelona has balconies and the Palacete does not. But if you find yourself with a room at the Palacete, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaseyCip22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know that despite the inconvenience of having the Sun-Sol room instead of the Tribune room, there is not a shred of resentment towards the hotel Continental Palacete.

Quite the contrary.

Knowing that you enjoyed being at the hotel Continental Palacete is our best reward.

Remember we are always at your service.

Sincerely,

Viviane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

hit upon it by chance, but what a great combination of a fabulous location on las ramblas, with great service, very charming catalonian interiors, clean, and free 24-hour wi-fi and buffet including beer wine chocolate and fresh fruit!
balconettes overlook the street cafes, a stones throw from gaudi house, placa de catalunya, barri gothic and along las ramblas - which has street cafes and performers, street markets, lots of shopping eating drinking and access to every other part of barcelona via bus..

Room Tip: take something with a street view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamakshi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to send you heartfelt thanks, motivated by your reviews about the Hotel Continental Palacete.

We are pleased because your satisfaction is part of our mission and we thank you for sharing your appreciation with us.


Always at your service,

Sincerely,

Viviane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We really enjoyed our 3 nights in the Hotel Continental. It is a nice hotel and the service provided by the staff is second to none!! If I was ever to return to Barcelona (which is unlikely) I would stay in a better area. La Ramblas is a lovely place during the the day but becomes a very seedy place at night. If you stay here, make sure you turn right on exiting the hotel and you will see a totally different city. Well worth the money, buffet is a welcome addition and the bottle of Cava given as we had booked through Tripadviser was an added bonus. Book the Balcony room as the others overlook nothing. By the way, can something be done about the mini voovoozalas they try to sell in front of the hotel????

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsnips123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Barcelona and for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.
We are a small family run hotel with a lot of charm and history as you well pointed out, and therefore our guests opinions matter.
We hope to be able to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Viviane Komze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed here one night before embarking on cruise. I just wanted an affordable, overnight hotel. Friends were staying here because it offered free wi-fi and 24-hour buffet so I decided to stay here too.

What a fanastic decision that was!

First, keep in mind that this is a boutique hotel. It only has about 20 rooms. Here are the pros & cons:

PROS: Great location, free wi-fi, price!, security

CONS: Rooms are very basic and a little small but I didn´t really mind that because I didn´t pay to spend all day in my room.

BUFFET: Very basic - assortment of cereals, breads, soft drinks, fruits, hard boiled eggs.

ROOMS: Two twin beds side by side. Rooms are decorated in pink floral wallpaper with pink bedspread. It had Louis XVI theme, and the pink was a little bright, but the bed was fine. In-room safe, refrigerator, microwave, air conditioning, plasma TV. The bathroom has bathtub with a shower, tile floors, toilet with very good pressure!

There is another Continental Hotel property down the street where other friends are staying, and based on their conversation is sounds like we had the better of the two properties but I´m sure they are comparable.

I really, really like this place. Peter at the Front Desk was extremely helpful.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierreLaCroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to know that our customers have been well attended as this is part of our mission.

By knowing that you enjoyed being at the hotel Continental Palacete, is our best reward.

We will forward your appreciations to Peter who will feel probably very grateful to know about your attention.

Thank you for your confidence.

Always at your disposition.

Sincerely,

Viviane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and 3 days. The location is good in the sense that it is 5-7 minutes walking from Passage de Gracia Station which has a direct train from Airport and is near Las Ramblas. The rooms are small. A person of 6 feet height will find the bed small. The inside rooms are not well ventilated. The staff is very helpful and friendly.The pre-made buffet menu was OK but on day 2 and day 3 most of the items were not available. So very limited items to choose. And the hotel was not that occupied on these days. If the food is finished they do not have cook to prepare the meals again. So we had to take our meals elsewhere. At the charges we paid, we could have got better Hotels with full breakfast in the same vicinity with full hotel facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malansg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear Guest,


Thank you for choosing the Continental Palacete for your stay in Barcelona.

Your suggestions and appreciation are essential for our growth.

We feel sorry that your experience with us was not entirely as you expected.

Thank you for taking time to let us know your experience during your stay at the hotel Continental Palacete.

We are very grateful about your reviews and we really would like to express that your comments are another good reason to increase our effort to provide you a much better service in the future.


Always at your service,

Sincerely,

Viviane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank rabia meltem p
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona
#170 of 515 in Barcelona
1,034 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#169 of 515 in Barcelona
672 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#77 of 515 in Barcelona
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#229 of 515 in Barcelona
573 reviews
Eixample
Balmes Residence Derby Hotels
Balmes Residence Derby Hotels
#370 of 515 in Barcelona
46 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Roma
Catalonia Roma
#312 of 515 in Barcelona
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Palacete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Palacete

Address: Rambla de Catalunya, 30, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £86 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Continental Palacete 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel. Best location in Barcelona on las Ramblas. Rooms perfectly equipped. All day buffet, soft drinks, internet and wi-fi access for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Continental Palacete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Palacete Barcelona, Catalonia
Continental Palacete Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Continental Palacete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing