We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continental Palacete
Ranked #336 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best location and beautiful”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed here 31.7.-5.8.2013 with my husband. It is an old building and the hotel is in the second floor, just 19 rooms. The public facilities were like in a palace but the room itself was quite small and the decoraton in pink colurs. We had no view (Room 126) but it didn't bother because we only slept there. The room was very quiet, no noice from the street. The only minus was that the aircondition was either on or off and when it was on temperature was 16 degrees in the morning.
Their buffet was open 24/7 and there was basic breakfast but also some food (rice, noodles) which you can warm up in a microwave owen. Soft drinks and also beer and so called white wine.
Coffee machine with espresso and latte and americano. And even icecream machine!
Hotel's location is very good, near train station, metro, Hop on Hop off buses and taxi across the street. Also Rambla is just 2-300 meters away and just walk straight down towards the sea.
Staff is very polite and helpful and they speak pure english specially Peter. And there was Silja from Finland so we could even speak our own language.
Don't worry the stairs to the second floor because you can use elevator for you luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zibbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Sir:

We cordially invite you to return to our hotel and explore Barcelona and enjoy its traditions.

Our central location provides you with great practical advantages so you can make the very best of time and opportunities, as well as connect to Barcelona’s excellent transportation system.

Thank you for your loyalty, we appreciate your business!
Please do contact for your coming visit, we will be delighted to help you plan your trip.

Always at disposition,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    176
    54
    26
    23
See reviews for
97
168
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

1st time in Barcelona and a pre-cruise stopover. My husband and I were so please that we booked this lovely hotel. We got a double bed room and yes its Pink. It was exactly what we seen on photos. We were delighted that our room have a in room safe which was not mentioned during our booking. Our bed were very comfortable and quiet. The staffs were all polite and very helpful. We love the 24 hours free buffet. Coffee machine,soft ice-cream, salads, nuts, fruits, beer etc. It is a beautiful hotel with history and character. We just love it. There is a taxi stand just across the hotel, which was convenience for us to go to the port for our cruise. We would come back to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TotaraPakaranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest:

We are pleased to have served you during your stay in Barcelona. Receiving your acknowledgement strengthens our commitment in satisfying the expectations of all our guests.
Please do let us know if we may assist you in planning your next trip to Spain. You may contact me directly to arrange your reservations for the coming year.
Thank you once again!

Always at disposition,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Several years ago, my three daughters and I stayed at Hotel Continental Palacete and stayed in the Versailles room, which gave us two beds plus two cots in a living area attached to the bedroom. We tried for this again this time, but it was booked, so we took the Tribune room, two beds plus two cots all in one room. Warning - this does leave very little space to move around. However, the Tribune room has a wonderful bay window area overlooking Rambla de Catalunya with two comfortable chairs. The hotel itself is in a very convenient location, with a wonderful 24 hour food and drink area (included with your room rate). Espresso drinks, beer and wine, salads, breakfast foods, etc., are all available whenever you want it, and there is a very opulent sitting area to enjoy while you eat or drink.

Room Tip: If you have more than two people, go for the Versailles if it is free, or spring for two rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCJulieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest:

With so much choice in the travel industry, we thank you for spending once again your recent stay in Barcelona at the hotel Continental Palacete.

We feel really sorry that the room with the Versailles lounge was not available during your reservation time.
We thank you for providing us all the reason why we did not meet your entire expectations this time.

Avery special thanks for taking part of your precious time to review your stay with us.
We wish to receive you back once again in the future.

Always at your service,
Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, On, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We have never found a hotel like the Continental Palacette. We found it on a hotel search and was amazed by the photos. Based on that we made a three day reservation for an after a cruise cool down and a chance to see more of Barcelona. Both plans we realized. The central location is great, tourist features are available within blocks and it's on Rambla de Catalunya,. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Our room while small and not on the street met our requirements. The 24 hoir buffet was all we needed, selections of coffee, juices, soft drinks and soft ice cream and a variety breakfast and daily meals was unexpected. We enjoyed the company of singles, couples and families in the dining room. The balcony seating placed one in the activities of city.
We recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: You might ask for a room on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind words.

First of all for choosing the Continental Palacete between all the hotels of Barcelona.
Secondly, for your positive feedback! A precious gift for all.

What more could we say?
We are just overjoyed!

Always at your disposition.

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at the Continental Palacette for 7 nights and were completely pleased with the experience. The location was perfect just 2 blocks from the Metro and within a short walk of the Gaudi buildings or la Rambla. The staff was very helpful in guiding us for several excursions out of town. A nice feature was that the hotel has their own parking spaces right at the front door (only 4) which made it easy to come and go by car. Several nice restaurants are just outside the hotel. A big plus was the 24-hour free buffet. Was it gourmet quality?...no...did it serve it's purpose to feed hungry travelers? Yes! The fruit was fresh and there were cereal and bread choices. Beer was always on tap and cold! Whether starting the day or finishing...it was nice to grab a snack and talk about our next adventure. The breakfast room is a gorgeous jewel box which makes you feel you were living back in the 18th century. The rooms were small but clean and adequate. Our room (#122) overlooked the street but the noises below never seemed to bother us. There were screens that helped to block the light and the air conditioner worked perfectly. Beds were hard but comfortable....with all of the walking you will do in Barcelona, sleeping at night was never a problem. I would gladly stay there again...it made our trip perfect!

Room Tip: Go for the "Superior rooms" which have the full bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking part of your time to let us know how great was your stay between us.
We really appreciate that you enjoyed being at the hotel Continental Palacete.
We hope you travel again in this wonderful city soon and be sure that we will be pleased to be once again your home far from home.

Always at your service.

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed one night, and totally enjoyed this hotel. The decor and ambiance are very appealing, good location, good price, and great buffet. I did read some people here had some minor complaints about the buffet, but the food choices were ample, the food was tasty, it was available 24 hrs, and it was included in the price, with wine, beer, juices and coffee. My room had not much a view out the window but I did not come to Barcelona to look out the window of the hotel, and didn't really care. The staff seemed very accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler310Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Guest;

We will always remember your wonderful reviews about your stay at the hotel Continental Palacete and we thank you so much for your choice and for giving us the opportunity to be your host in this amaizing Barcelona.

Always at your service,

Sincerely,

Viviane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Overall the hotel was okay. The rooms are very old and out-dated. The beds were very hard. The rooms were very small, and the chairs and storage "dressers" were plastic. (Chairs were covered.) Staying there reminded me of my grandmother's house when I was a child, even the smells. Many of the rooms face a wall, so there is no view. The rooms with a larger bed are two twin beds pushed together (not made together - still separate sheets and bedspreads.)

There is a 24-hour self-service food area, but what they have out there is very low-end. Yes, it is free, so you get what you pay for.

The positives: It was clean, the AC worked and was quiet and service was good.

Room Tip: Not sure of the price differences, but if you can get a room with a real view, maybe that would be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We truly value the opinions of our customers and we regret that our hotel did not meet your entire expectations.

“Providing our guests with the best hospitality and service has always been our mission”. Unfortunately, sometimes it is not possible to satisfy every expectation.

As you may have noticed, we really enjoyed providing comfort, hospitality and good service to our guests, because we want all visitors feel at home among us.
If you come back to Barcelona, we would love the opportunity to make your stay much better as it was, so please ask for me.
We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona
#178 of 512 in Barcelona
1,003 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#172 of 512 in Barcelona
658 reviews
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#243 of 512 in Barcelona
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#352 of 512 in Barcelona
139 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#56 of 512 in Barcelona
1,140 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#294 of 512 in Barcelona
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Palacete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Palacete

Property: Continental Palacete
Address: Rambla de Catalunya, 30, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Continental Palacete 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel. Best location in Barcelona on las Ramblas. Rooms perfectly equipped. All day buffet, soft drinks, internet and wi-fi access for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Palacete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Palacete Barcelona, Catalonia
Continental Palacete Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Continental Palacete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing