We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock Hard Bed, Too Much Pink, Horrible Food Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continental Palacete
Ranked #338 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Asheville NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rock Hard Bed, Too Much Pink, Horrible Food Bar”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here for one night post cruise. Have to stay the location and the view from our room was outstanding. Beyond that, it was hideous. Although Peter was very welcoming and helpful, the room was Pepto Bismol pink- floor to ceiling - literally. The bed was like sleeping on a flat solid rock, the bathroom had only liquid soap for all hands, body and hair - we were told. The 24 hour food was a joke. No idea how long the food, such at it was, sat out. It was the same morning and night. The paper and plastic only added to the insult of this "all inclusive" hotel. Many other better places to stay in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aalexan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest:
We thank you for having chosen our hotel Continental Palacete for your visit to Barcelona.
Our business is important and we value your feedback.
We express sincere regret for any inconvenience you suffered during your stay.
Please accept our apologies, and we invite you to contact us if you plan to visit this wonderful city in the near future.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    175
    53
    26
    23
See reviews for
96
166
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at the Continental Palacete post cruise. We were greeted graciously at the front desk by Peter. With a early arrival we did not expect our room to be ready, but were welcomed to the breakfast room, stored luggage and internet access. The room was ready within a couple of hours. It is small, not much area to open up a suitcase, clean, but ok. We loved the location, could not be better. Beds were comfortable, we were on the first floor, be advised there are stores beneath the hotel that cater to a young crowd, so you will hear music till 9:30 pm, a little annoying. Beds were firm and comfortable. Barcelona is not a inexpensive city to stay in, typical European prices. We were treated well, it was clean, we slept well after the music was turned off. It was nice to have the buffet for light snack, beer and white wine. Staff again was pleasant and did everything to be helpful. Décor is unusual, but liked the quirkiness of it all. Ask for a larger room and a second floor (3rd European style). Would be stay again? Loved the location, it was clean, might pay more and go for a larger room.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a second floor room (floor above check in). A room large enough to lay your suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimsterandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosintg the Continental Palacete during your stay in Barcelona and a very special thank you for your positive feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will do our best to provide you a good service and a room in the upper floor during your next stay!
Just request it during your reservation.
Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The location is fantastic, but that is the only positive thing I can say about this hotel I'm afraid. I make the comments below in the context of this hotel having a three star rating and costing nearly three times as much as the beautiful hotel we stayed at in Valencia the night before and even more than an amazing Parador near Madrid.

I knew that the decor was pink and quirky so that didn't bother me, but there is a difference between 'shabby chic' and just plain shabby.

My first impression as I walked up the stairs was the musty smell of ancient carpet, then it got worse when it took ages to get checked in and I was handed a key (only one) that was attached to a piece of wood (think service station loo) that was so big I had to take my handbag whenever I left the hotel because it wouldn't fit in my pocket. Really? Is key theft that much of a problem for the hotel?

The musty smell was throughout the areas of the hotel that I was in and the room was not quirky, it was shoddy and old. The room was tiny with just enough room to move around the beds. The bathroom was a joke (see attached photos) with a tiny vanity unit that didn't have any doors on the front and the bathroom things (glasses, hairdryer, etc) were in a set of plastic drawers that looked like they came from a two dollar shop. There were no toiletries at all either. I can't remember when I last saw a bathroom this bad.

There was thumping music coming from the shop underneath that almost rattled the room and the window looked out onto a wall.

The famous buffet looks like salmonella heaven with way too many food items on display for there to be adequate turnover of it all. The coffee comes out of a machine and was undrinkable.

I can't believe this place is rated three stars when I compare it to all the other places I've stayed in Spain and Portugal over the past 5 weeks that are FAR cheaper and nicer. It is more like a one or two star (at the most) standard. So glad that we were only there one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunAndFoodSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you for your visit, and sincerely express our apologies for not having met all your expectations.
Be assured we value all our guests, and especially when we must attend any issue brought to our attention. Our guests have preferred our hotel amongst the main locations in Barcelona Center based on an overall experience and our offerings.
Some of these features are unique, as the décor for example; our building has an impressive architectural heritage in Barcelona. One is the most favored offerings is our buffet: an ample selection of foods and drinks, totally free, available 24/7 to all our guests. The food is fresh and carefully serviced various times during the day, with strict quality control.
We welcome you back to our property if you decide to return to Barcelona, and grant us the opportunity to accommodate you as best possible.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We could not have felt more welcomed upon our early arrival after our overnight flight. Peter invited us to enjoy the buffet, and our room was ready within 20 minutes. Yes the room was pink, and the buffet uses disposable plates and cutlery. But everything is clean, comfortable, and the location is convenient to so much. The benefit of food and beverage 24 hours a day is a tremendous perk for adjusting to a new time zone, not to mention easy on the wallet. The terrace tables overlooking Las Ramblas were a treasure. The hotel is not 5-star luxury, but a friendly, clean, well-located haven. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Hotel Continental Palacete.
We are very glad that you felt comfortable and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Enjoyable place for retired people! Can be recommended for all, also families with children Besides the central location in Barcelona make the access to most places in town very easy, and walking distance to the restaurants at the Rambla is very convenient. Butlook out for pick pocketer!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our Hotel Continental Palacete during your last stay in Barcelona. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially for mentioning our great customer service. Our team takes great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I booked this hotel on the basis of it being fairly central and that the price was resonable. The 24 hour buffet was a bonus so that we would be guaranteed not to starve if money did run out! However, I hadn't realised how good the location was. We were in Barcelona mainly for the Gaudi experience and much of the places we wanted to see were within a couple of blocks. It was also well located for the Aerobus and Metro and the Rambla de Catalunya where it is situated is nicer than the better known La Rambla which it continues from anyhow with some lovely bars and restaurants on the doorstep. The staff were friendly and Peter was very knowledgable for advising on how to get to places (either bus or Metro etc).

The 24 hour buffet was a nice addition although we didn't take full advantage of it (money didn't run out) although my husband was a bit put off by the disposable plates and cutlery, but this makes it possible to maintain without constant staffing. There was also a fridge and microwave in the room which was handy for storing jamon and chorizo until it was home time.

The decor cannot be left unmentioned though. I was prepared for the pinkness from the reviews that I had read and it was clear that the designer had attended the Barbera Cartland School of Interior Design! Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable even if it was a bit high to climb onto. Apart from the pinkness, it was let down by the plastic furniture for examples the chairs were plastic garden furniture with covers, pink of course! Chest of drawers were plastic storage items. There was one item which wasn't pink, the silver lame shower curtain!

But on the whole, it was clean, comfortable and friendly. It was good value and the location was perfect.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel which could be noisy and meant that it was not practical to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soontobe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest:

We thank you for visiting Barcelona and selecting our hotel in city center.
Our property is one of the emblematic surprises to be found among so many historical landmarks; we cater to surprise you by innovating and providing superior services. We are delighted to have served you.
We also take note of your observations; we will do our best to correspond accordingly.
Thank you once again for staying with us.
Barcelona has a lot to offer, visit us once again!

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Having just read the bad reviews that this hotel is getting, I must add my own experience. Last March (2013), my husband and I were taking our entire family (20 of us including 11 grandchildren!) on a Canary Island cruise out of Barcelona. We wanted to spend 2 nights there but finding a hotel to accommodate this many people and especially with family groupings, was not easy. I booked several months in advance and was pleased to get a call from Vivienne to help me sort out the various rooms we would need. We arrived in the evening after an overnight transatlantic flight follwed by a flight from Heathrow and were met with warmth and a sincere effort to please. My husband is handicapped and we were shown more than one room so that we could choose the one that would work best for him. Throughout the next two days we were treated to sincere hospitality and many kindnesses at the hands of Vivienne and Peter. We were were intrigued by the rooms, enjoying the fact that each one was different, and found them both clean and comfortable. The dining area was lovely and we were delighted to have food and drink available at all times, although we often ate out too. The convenience of the location was also a plus factor, letting us cram as much sight seeing as possible in a small amount of time. It was a wonderful start to a memorable family holiday.

Room Tip: Talk to Vivienne!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Miss Gregory:
We appreciate your acknowledgements and thank you for being one of our valued regular guests- the Continental Palacete Hotel is your home in Barcelona.
Please notify us of your coming visit so we may make proper arrangements to have you, family and friends in the upper floors or place of preference.
It is a pleasure to serve you!

Always at our service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona
#192 of 513 in Barcelona
988 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#173 of 513 in Barcelona
648 reviews
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#236 of 513 in Barcelona
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#347 of 513 in Barcelona
139 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#290 of 513 in Barcelona
919 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Palacete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Palacete

Property: Continental Palacete
Address: Rambla de Catalunya, 30, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Continental Palacete 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel. Best location in Barcelona on las Ramblas. Rooms perfectly equipped. All day buffet, soft drinks, internet and wi-fi access for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Palacete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Palacete Barcelona, Catalonia
Continental Palacete Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Continental Palacete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing