We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Great Location, Great Staff & Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continental Palacete
Ranked #339 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Location, Great Staff & Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here last month with 15 friends for the football. Very good hotel with very friendly staff. The location of the hotel is perfect as it is only a 5 min walk to the Ramblas.
Free 24 hour buffet went down well with our party as you can just help yourself when you want.
Rooms nice and clean.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your stay at our Hotel Continental Palacete. We are happy to hear that you appreciated your stay, especially our 24 hours free snacking buffet and also our staff treatment.

Thank you again for keeping us on mind for your next visit in our Barcelona

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    171
    51
    25
    23
See reviews for
93
163
36
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This hotel has a 24 hour buffet! The food is simple but good. Beer, wine, juice and soft-drink on tap, as well as soft serve ice-cream. It has an amazing (ornate & pink) lounge/dining area with plenty of seating and table and seats on the balconies which overlook the main street (la Ramblas). The staff are friendly and very helpful. The lounge and bedrooms are pretty pink, but if you guys can see past this it's a great place to stay. Very central, loads good shopping close by, and a lovely walk down la Ramblas. Wi-Fi available, but a bit slow.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions after your recent stay at Hotel Continental Palacete. We are happy to hear that everything was more than fine and that you will choose us again next time you visit Barcelona.

Your opinion regarding our free 24 hour snacking buffet is invaluable for us.

Looking forward to your return visit.

Always at your service,
Viviane Komze and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Loved the quirkiness of this hotel. The juxtaposition of public rooms which were meticulously restored Louis XIV with the bedrooms which were tired French Provincial 1960s was quite endearing and certainly added an individual touch - definitely not your bog-standard modern chain hotel. The lady of the house and all her staff were charming, helpful and friendly and the location of the hotel could not be better.
Pricewise, we had a pretty good special offer but I think I would have found the bedrooms definitely below par if we had paid the full price.
We live in the province of Barcelona and often book a hotel when we go to the city for concerts, theatre etc and the main reason I would not book into this hotel again would be that I found the bed far too hard.......if they provided a couple of rooms with softer beds available on request, I would certainly return whenever they have a special offer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our Hotel Continental Palacete for your past stay in Barcelona. We are sorry to hear that you felt a little disturbed by the bed. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Hoping to have the opportunity to host you soon again.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Even if we live in Barcelona, we booked one night due to a celebration nearby.
Nice building on an unbeatable location.
The only good thing at this property was the staff. Everyone was helpfull and professional.
All the rest was aweful, tired, ugly and not in acordance with such a historic building.
Everthing is plastic, too many chairs and small tables, rose cloths, towels, duvets, sheets...
The room which was second best category in the hotel and well over 100€ was just adecuate for sleeping.
I have never seen such a terrible design in all my worldwide travels.

The buffet is clean but the presentation is like in the 70-ies with plastic and paper cups and plates. The kitchen cloths and the small towels you get on the fridge in the room were worn and washed. My grandma had similar onea about 35 years ago!!!
Horrible experience!
There are lots of excellent and more modern hotels nearby for half the price.
We would definitely never come back even if we were paid to do so.


  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

it was nice having you as a guest and we appreciate your feedback about our property!
A very special thank for mentioning our great customer service.
We feel sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations.
We hope to welcome you soon again in one of our Continental Hotels.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had a wonderful week at the Continental Palacete Hotel .The location is excellent, the food bar is exceptional and the décor of the hotel gives you the feeling of being in a small palace. But what really makes this little hotel so special is the caring staff. All of them do their best and more to make you feel comfortable . They truly aim to please.
Thank you Viviane, Peter, Luisa, Irene. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OraIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review after your recent stay at our Hotel Continental Palacete. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we could exceed your expectations.
Looking forward to your return visit.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Located very near Plaza Cataluna, in the heart of Barcelona. Short walk to Gaudi's Casa Battlo and more. Near 2 Metro stations, but if you like walking this is the place to be. Thanks to Pater and Viviene we were well taken care of. They go above and beyond their duties to make you comfortable. The rooms are all pink this being the owners favourite colour. Very cosy and comfortable. Snacks, wine and beer available the whole day so no need to go out for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be very cosy, ok when travelling with a spouse. Ask for a larger room when travelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your lovely feedback, we appreciated all your observations and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Continental Palacete.
We hope to welcome you soon again.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel! Very nice rooms with big comfortable bed , clean linens, fresh towels and good food for
Light snacks. By much appreciated the free coffe/tea, ice cream, cold beer after a day of walking and sightseeing.
Peter you made a difficult experience for me into a very enjoyable and welcoming experience.... You were so vey kind and I appreciated it! Viviane you were very friendly and made my stay wonderful
Great hotel to stay at in Barcelona

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SShine65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at our Hotel Continental Palacete. We are delighted to see your comments about our 24 hours free snacking buffet, and we are exceptionally pleased to read that our team was able to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for posting your review; we look forward to your return visit!
Kind regards from Barcelona.

Viviane Komze and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona
#198 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#180 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#230 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#338 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#291 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#68 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Palacete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Palacete

Property: Continental Palacete
Address: Rambla de Catalunya, 30, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Continental Palacete 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel. Best location in Barcelona on las Ramblas. Rooms perfectly equipped. All day buffet, soft drinks, internet and wi-fi access for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Palacete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Palacete Barcelona, Catalonia
Continental Palacete Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Continental Palacete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing