We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, perfect for short break ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Continental Palacete
Ranked #337 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, perfect for short break ”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with a friend. The location is amazing. Walking distance from bus, train, las ramblas, marina etc. Hotel itself was very clean, took was perfectly fine and very comfortable. Didn't rate the 24hr buffet so ate out each morning. Staff were generally quite helpful just not up to the usual standard here in the UK. Overall highly recommend for a short break!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Levanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE MARIA M, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 4 December 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your patronage.
We were happy to know that you liked our location, cleaning and that our staff made you feel welcome.

Always at your service,
Viviane Komze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    176
    54
    26
    23
See reviews for
97
168
37
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The building is beautiful, the location good, the staff very helpful, but the details are a big disappointment. The bathroom door is glass so if one person gets up first to shower the other is awakened by the bathroom light. There were only two plugs in the room we could use to recharge phones, cameras and iPad, and both had something plugged in to them. The tiny chest of drawers was plastic. The chairs were plastic lawn chairs. The buffet may have been good but food sitting out all day and night doesn't sound or look appealing. The AC was inadequate even for the tiny room. We would not return or recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bennie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE MARIA M, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 4 December 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here and for choosing us one more time.
We are sorry to read you were a little disappointed during your stay.

Regarding Our 24 hours FREE SNACKING BUFFET, we always strive to offer best quality products (more than 50 options available between a large variety of food and drinks) to ensure our guest satisfaction but unfortunately, it did not meet your expectations.

Hoping to have the opportunity to host you soon again.

Always at your service,
Viviane Komze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hotel in an excellent location and affordable price!! There is a free snack bar open 24/7 and can solve any "little hungry" throughout the day and night. There is hot food, cold, sweet, fruit, and even ice cream machine (!)
The room is small, yet compact and has everything that you could need, including a fridge and micro in room.
The staff members are very kind and always ready to help. There is a printer in the reception and a computer in the lobby which is open for guest's use (in addition to WIFI in all rooms).
The design of the hotel gives the feeling of a Renaissance palace, but there is no lift.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berger_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE MARIA M, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 4 December 2014
Dear Guest;
Thank you for choosing our Hotel Continental Palacete and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our cleaning, food, staff and services.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our location directly in the Elegant Rambla de Cataluña Street.
We would like to bring an amendment to your information about the fact that our hotel has no lift. Our charming hotel features an original elevator guests will find after climbing a dozen stairs from the ground floor. This lift will take you directly to the first floor where most of the rooms are.

Thank you once again for your choice.

Always at your service,
Viviane Komze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just finished two stays at this lovely property. Both were fantastic and contributed to our enjoyment of our trips to the amazing town of Barcelona.

If you are wondering whether you should stay here, read every positive review and know they are telling the truth.

The convenience of this location is nice but the shining gem is the staff and experience. I had read so much about pink and was looking forward to it. I did not feel it was over pink at all.

I had the feeling I was a queen living in her palace and the people passing by on the street were looking up and wishing they were me!!

The living room area became our family meeting point and was so relaxing and convenient.

You will have other choices to stay in the city but none will compare to this one.

We are still talking about it and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncllover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE MARIA M, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 4 December 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Continental Palacete.

When customer think about coming back is because he was satisfied in his previous stay.
Thanks again for your nice comments telling us how much you enjoyed your stay.
Hope that the next time you stay at the hotel, we can meet your expectations once again.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

There are many great qualities about the 'Continental Palacete' hotel that I would like to share. This beautiful boutique hotel is situated right in the heart of Barcelona. The hotel is extremly well managed. The room which I stayed in was very comfortable and the rest of the hotel offered a relaxing atmosphere with a 24 hour buffet. The staff did their upmost best to ensure that my stay was a postive and memorable one.

It is situationed just five minutes walk from Plaza Catalunya and other important sights of interest e.g. Gaudi's Casa Batllo, La Pedrera and Las Ramblas. Shopping is also within walking distance of the hotel and there are numerous places to eat, which cater to all budgets. Public transportation is also nearby.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are travelling to Barcelona anytime soon ... enjoy :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santiak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE MARIA M, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 4 December 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Continental Palacete. When customer think about coming back is because he was satisfied in his previous stay.

Thanks again for your nice comments about the cleanliness, 24 hours free snacking buffet and staff, always feel is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.

Hope that the next time you stay at the hotel, we can meet your expectations once again.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I would definitely come back to this area of Barcelona again. Everything is within walking distance except Parc Guell. I felt very safe as a solo female traveller in this area and this hotel.

Postives:
- great value for single room for Barcelona with a double bed that had memory foam-type padding, my most comfortable bed in four cities
- nice to sit on the balconies off the cafeteria and have a beer from the free buffet and watch the world go by on Rambla Catalunya
- loved having fruit in the buffet
- cute room with microwave, mini-refrigerator, hair dryer
- excellent and friendly service from the staff

Negatives
- carpet torn away from wall in room
- bathroom had mildew smell, like inside a boat, they had sprayed heavily with air freshener before I came in but smell remained after this wore off, they really need to figure out what is causing this and remedy - actual room did not smell
- strange cement enclosure off of room for sitting area for smokers outside. You can't see anything above.
- no window in single rooms just the enclosure so room was dark and felt like was in cave
- small half bathtub with good water pressure
- free buffet mediocre, best for snacks and small continental type breakfast, coffee machine with so-so coffee

Overall, I really would like to give this hotel a higher rating because the staff are so nice, it is an amazing location, and it is a quaint "palace." My advice would be to decrease the size of the buffet to a more effective snack and continental breakfast area. Would I return? Possibly, but I would check around still.

Room Tip: Single rooms are small with no view and dark but are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhiannon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE MARIA M, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 4 December 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Continental Palacete.
We really appreciate you provide us within the reasons why our hotel met your expectations and the reasons why it did not.

Thanks again for your nice comments about the 24 hours free snacking buffet and staff, always feel is the most important and lasting memory of a hotel.

Hope that the next time you stay at the hotel, we can meet your entire expectations.

Always at your service,
Viviane Komze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillon, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was my second time staying at their property. The other time was a few years back and I then stayed at the one on Ramblas the main walkway. This one is a few blocks up but no big deal. I love both properties. Yes rooms are a little outdated but who spends time in the rooms when you are in Barcelona with so much to see.
It's nice having the food options in the hotel should you want a quick snack before you go off on An Adventure of Barcelona. Very happy with the staff and the food offerings. For the price and location I would stay here again. And that might be in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnlcruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE MARIA M, Public Relations Manager at Continental Palacete, responded to this review, 4 December 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here and for choosing us one more time.
We appreciate your kind words about our staff, 24 hours free snacking buffet, location and hotel.
We hope to see you again soon!

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona
#178 of 512 in Barcelona
1,003 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#173 of 512 in Barcelona
655 reviews
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#254 of 512 in Barcelona
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#352 of 512 in Barcelona
139 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#57 of 512 in Barcelona
1,136 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#293 of 512 in Barcelona
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Palacete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Palacete

Property: Continental Palacete
Address: Rambla de Catalunya, 30, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#147 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Continental Palacete 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel. Best location in Barcelona on las Ramblas. Rooms perfectly equipped. All day buffet, soft drinks, internet and wi-fi access for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Palacete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Palacete Barcelona, Catalonia
Continental Palacete Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Continental Palacete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing