We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Ranked #116 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from.Barcelona had a great time the hotel acta atrium palace is superb situated locally 5mins from las ramblas. The hotel is clean and a great place to stay I would recommend to anyone we will definitely stay there again.........

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank easteregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    803
    176
    53
    24
See reviews for
398
966
59
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
126 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I would stay there again if I came to Barcelona. i looked at dozens of hotels before my trip and i was very happy with my selection and the results (other than the bed being too firm for a 4 star ..or any...hotel).

In brief, the photos of the hotel on their website are accurate, it is close to a metro stop and short walk to Ramblas. The rooms are big, clean and modern, having thought about what a modern traveler needs. Bed is quite firm however (which is why I did not give 5 stars). Sound from the street was NOT an issue, despite some comments to the contrary. There is a café in the hotel and many restaurants within a few blocks. While I saw someone comment recently that they felt the hotel was not a 4 star hotel, I disagree and frankly cannot believe they were writing about the same hotel and stayed there about the same time. I dont see how our stay could be that different from what that other reviewer said. Also, as any FYI, I paid approximately $225 a night in May 2014, room only, which I thought was a fair rate for what I got and alternatives.

Here is more detail:

The location is pretty good. About a 15 minute walk to the center of the Ramblas and about a block and half to a Metro stop where you can get all over town. (The stop is for lines 2,3 and 4. But , line 3, the green line, is the one that goes all over, including to the middle of the Ramblas. But it is a long walk underground between the L2/L4 entrance right near the hotel and where the L3 trains are, which is actually right in front of the Casa Batllo. When we were lazy, we would take the L2 to Parel’al station, change to the green line (its literally a 1 min walk) and go two stops to the station in the middle of the Ramblas. Probably took about the same extra time on the metro line as walking the two extra blocks underground)

The rooms were large, and had two sinks. One sink in the bathroom and one outside it. Good amount of counter space. We opted for the rooms facing the street because of the balcony, which was very quaint (it’s a typical old style European standing balcony). Good desk with plenty of outlets to run laptop and charge phone etc at the same time. Not sure when they last remodeled but it all looked pretty new and thought about modern conveniences. Only complaint was the beds. They were quite firm. I sleep on a firm mattress at home and this had to be super firm. I don’t mean hard like plywood with a sheet, but it was firm. Worked ok for me as my back was hurting, but not everyone will like this. Room had a safe that even fit my laptop.

Some people complained about the noise from the street. I did not have an issue. I am a real light sleeper and any noise will keep me from falling asleep yet this was not a problem for me. The window/balcony doors, where quite good at sound proofing. That is not to say every sound was eliminated, but it was quite muffled. So much so that when the door was closed, during the day, I did not notice any sound. Only in the middle of the night when it was the sound equivalent of pitch black out did I hear the occasional truck drive by but only because there was no other sound (frankly my wife ruffling her sheets made about as much noise). (BTW, I did notice that they have bright lights on each balcony which light came through the curtains. However, they turned the lights off each night somewhere around 1am I think. )

Staff was very helpful and professional. In fact, i had made a mistake in my booking having booked a double but only 1 person (a little confusion on my part in booking using their website). Reception pointed it out but graciously agreed to honor the rate despite it being two of us without my even having to say anything (we were not having breakfast so its not like that really should have made a difference). Well done Acta.

Room Tip: front side with balcony. Its twin beds on the front, but they will push them together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atrium P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Acta Atrium Palace, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Greg B,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We have taken note of all of your comments and, as with guest comments, they are a great asset for us in our quest to continually improve our installations and services.

We'd love to be your hosts on occasion of your nest visit to Barcelona!

Thanks and best regards,

Front Office Manager,
Acta Atrium Palace ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
177 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were so impressed with our 2007 stay at the Atrium Palace, that we immediately booked it for our 2014 return to Barcelona. Our assigned room, #312, was significantly smaller than our prior stay in #508. And the view was of a grimy space between the hotel and another building, and not the pleasant courtyard. of 508

That said, it was a spotless room with a comfortable bed and great shower. In addition, the Hallmark of this hotel is the staff, that exceed all expectations. The location is perfect, just a few blocks from the Placa da Catalunya, and the metro. It will be our choice again if we return to Barcelona.

Room Tip: inquire location upon arrival,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atrium P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Acta Atrium Palace, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear jhasko,

Thanks for taking the time to publish your review of the Acta Atrium Palace. It will be a real pleasure to be your hosts on occasion of your next Barcelona trip!

Thanks and best regards,

Front Desk Manager,
Acta Atrium Palace ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Lovely hotel compact and bijoux staff went out of their way to help us with travel information to get to the Spanish F1 circuit. We were there as a party of 4 staying on a half board basis really good value as your evening meal included a drink and food of a good standard. Barcelona is a beautiful city and location of hotel is perfect. Definitely stay at this hotel if we return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whoosh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atrium P, General Manager at Hotel Acta Atrium Palace, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Whoosh56,

Thanks for your review and for taking the time to share your comments. We are really glad that you enjoyed our hotel and restaurant, our half board is becoming more popular all the time. It’s good to know that you found our reception staff to be knowledgable and helpful. The whole team at Acta Atrium Palace looks forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,

Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We had high expect ion for our stay in Barcelona Atrium palace the lobby area was really nice and a warm welcome.
We stayed in room 208
Broken iron board, wall light socket hanging of the wall,holes in wall in the bathroom, dirty bath tub with rust inside, bath taps not flush to wall,dents in wall in the main bedroom, only one English Channel, furniture in room had a tired well used look to them.
Our main problem was the bed was really noisy and hard we had to change room for the next night waited 5hrs for a new room and was given 209 the bed was much better and the room was a little better.
The bar staff and waiters their English was really poor not speaking much English for a 4star you expect better.
I will not be staying hear again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atrium P, General Manager at Hotel Acta Atrium Palace, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Michael,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We’ve taken note of all your comments and apologize for not having lived up to your expectations on this trip. All comments and reviews are sincerely appreciated and really help us maintain and improve our establishment and services.

Thanks again for sharing your views, we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hotel is in excellent location , within walking distance of the centre of Barcelona, the main shops and restaurants and not too far to the beach.
Other great points about staying here apart from the location:
The staff are extremely friendly and will go out of their way to help you. When me and my friend were planning a trip to Port Aventura the very helpful lady gave us the train times and park information, even when the hotel itself sold a trip there on coach.
You can book tours and trips through the hotel. We purchased the two day bus tour which was 34 euros instead of 35 , every little helps.
The room was very spacious and very nicely laid out.
Spa is very calming and smells beautiful (did spot a cockroach down there one day but never again after this) it is so warm and dark down there this can't be helped but just watch out!
The gentlemen in the bar are very helpful and often gave us glasses of ice when we wanted.
Wi-fi throughout the hotel and very strong signal

The reason I couldn't give this 5 stars was just due to a couple of points. It would have been lovely to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. This would have made such a difference.
Photos on website gave the impression there was a rooftop jacuzzi but these are in privates rooms.
The bed was quite uncomfortable which wasn't really a huge problem because we were so tired after exploring Barcelona.
Apart from these very small points we had a lovely stay here and would return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atrium P, General Manager at Hotel Acta Atrium Palace, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear MissHove,

Thanks for taking the time to write-up your stay with us! It’s a real pleasure to read such a well written and constructive review. Our staff take pride in their professions and it is really satisfying to see the “fruits of their labour”. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we’ve taken note of all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Acta Atrium Palace.

Best regards,


Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I got upgrade to a suit and it was very nice big bedroom and small sitting room with huge terrace with Jaccuzi!! the service is good, helpfull staff in the reception. breakfast is weak not enough variety specially for Muslims

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alaeddin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atrium P, General Manager at Hotel Acta Atrium Palace, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Alaeddin,

Thanks for you review! It’s good to know that you enjoyed our suite with terrace and Jacuzzi and that you were satisfied with the service from our front desk satff. We’ve taken note of your comment regarding the breakfast and will be looking into adding more options.

Thanks again for taking the time to publish you comments, we really appreciate it. Next time you come to Barcelona we’d love to be your hosts again!

Best regards,

Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Hotel
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
669 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,954 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#42 of 513 in Barcelona
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#57 of 513 in Barcelona
1,112 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Hotel Roger De Lluria Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acta Atrium Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acta Atrium Palace

Property: Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 656, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#48 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#86 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Acta Atrium Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acta Atrium Palace is a 4 stars hotel located in the Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, one of the main roads of the city of Barcelona and just few minutes walk from Paseo de Gracia and Plaza Catalunya.Acta Atrium Palace has 67 rooms decorated in a modern and subtle style and feature parquet flooring and Venetian stucco, with a cream and brown colour scheme.The variety and quality of the facilities of the hotel are among the best in its class: swimming pool-spa, sauna, meeting room, "Espai Acta" (free entry business center with computers, media and library). The hotel has bar as well and a restaurant "L'Atrium" with the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Acta Atrium Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acta Atrium Palace Barcelona
Acta Atrium Palace Hotel Barcelona
Apsis Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing