We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Eixample 1864
Ranked #203 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I really did not expect much from Barcelona or its people ... everyone talks so much that I thought they would be conceited... But I tell you they´re the nicest people of all Spain!! And the Catalonia Berna is the greatest hotel of all the 6 I´ve stayed at on this trip. Do go there!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 977Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear guest,
thank you very much, all my staff and me are so pleased with your comments, we are so glad that we could meet your expectations during your stay. In fact, it is our commitment. Do not hesitate to contact to us if you need again a reservation in the city of Barcelona. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Eixample 1864
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

During the MWC I stayed at this hotel and felt quite impressed. Plenty of meeting rooms, nice breakfast and I enjoyed the magnificent Les Finestres de Lluria restaurant. Mediterranean cuisine at its finest, I specially recommend the rice dishes.

From the hotel it was very easy to move around, subway station close by, and a 10 minute walk to plaza de Catalunya.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranagustavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,
en el nombre de mi equipo y del mío personal, le agradecemos enormemente el tiempo empleado en escribirnos. Para nosotros, las críticas de los clientes que pasan por el Catalonia Berna es de gran valía, es el mejor barómetro a la calidad de nuestros servicios y nos indica el camino a seguir. Mi saludo más cordial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Ok place. Don't know how it's a for star with only a small bar and no other amenities. A bit pricy. € 16 for a breakfast that's worth about €6. Good location though

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments on trip advisor.
It is a great courtesy on your part. This gesture is a great value for us because it serves to highlight the future path of our service. We take note of the Bar service and amenities to improve it . Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Cosy hotel,recommended,enough space in rooms,breakfast very good and service ok.Its an ideal hotel for visiting Barcelona but I booked this hotel through Travel agency package thus, I am not sure of the price if you travel alone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GREEKSTORYTELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malamany, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Dear guests,
I am so pleased with the time you spent writing this comments, especially because now we know that we meet your expectations .
My staff and me are so grateful. Do not hesitate to contact to us in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My wife booked here for 4 nights for my 40th Birthday as a surprise.

We were made to feel very welcome when we arrived, the staff were friendly and very helpful.

We were given a room with a very spacious terrace. The room was exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was also spotless with an assortment of complimentary sundries.

We didn't take breakfast in the hotel, we found a small place a couple of blocks away that suited our needs.

Catalonia Berna was in a nice location, most places within walking distance, but buses or metro were nearby if you were tired of walking.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJ-May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malamany, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Dear guest,
thanks in advance for your comments in Trip Advisor. Is a pleasure for us, to know we covered your expectations. We remain at your entire disposal for all that you need if you come back to Barcelona.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I just spent one night at your hotel, having some fun in Barcelona.
Great location only 10 minutes from Passeig de Gracia.
Confortable rooms, modern and very clean.
Breakfast included is delicious.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the general manager.
I would highly recommend it for sure!

P.S.: I love your elevator!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malamany, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Dear guests,
we are so pleased with your comments about our Hotel and staff . Thank you very much for your kindness, I greatly appreciate it. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

we have been there for 5 nights in a triple room.the room was sow small that in order to get to de cloths we needed to take away one bed!!!
There is no security and my wifes handbag was stolen in the dining room during the breakfast! they dont have security cameras!!! and the hotel is not responsible for that!!!

Room Tip: go to other hotel!!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ignacio g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malamany, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear guests,
first of all, many thanks for let us know your experience. Secondly, I so regret that you carry that image of our Hotel. Certainly, I do not know this event took place at our premises, and I am surprised that we have a collaborator at the door of the Breakfast room who asks identification.
Anyway, I reiterate in apologize for your discomfort with this experience and I invite again, so let us show that we are able to exceed your expectations. Thank you very much for your comments. At your entire disposal, I would refer you my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#188 of 513 in Barcelona
562 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
#296 of 513 in Barcelona
534 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#81 of 513 in Barcelona
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
367 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#60 of 513 in Barcelona
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Eixample 1864? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Eixample 1864

Address: Roger de Lluria 60, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Berna Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#150 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £88 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Eixample 1864 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Eixample1864 is located in the heart of Barcelona, close to Passeig de Gracia and only a few minutes away from Plaza Catalunya and the city's old quarter. The hotel is situated in one of the first residential buildings built in Barcelona's Eixample district by Catalan architect Josep Cerda. Built in 1864 in an eclectic style of classical inspiration, it has been classified as a historic monument. The hotel is furnished in a modern and elegant style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Eixample 1864 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Berna Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Berna
Catalonia Eixample 1864 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing