We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Eixample 1864
Ranked #212 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 22 July 2013

we are here (at the moment) for 7 nights.
for the last 2 days we keep asking for somebody to come and fix a broken toilet seat (the cleaning staff broke it while cleaning) - the answer is always the same - "i am sending someone to fix it" - but nothing! we are using a broken toilet seat for 3 days now!
the cleaning staff keep throwing away our used hand soap - but dont give us a new one! even after i asked him for a new soap - nothing. no soap.

the location is good, the rooms are crowded, not ment for staying at the hotel. the cleaning staff make way to much noise from early morning.
the internet connection is really slow.

maybe if the treatment was better my review was better - it means that much when you give service to people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much to inform us about your experience. Under your nickname I do not know if you are till in the hotel. Please if you are in, I would like to give you personally my apologizes. Of course, we will arrange it with the Housekeeping department and the Maintenance service.
I am so sorry about this inconveniences, but please, let me show you that we deserve
your confidence. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had quite small room in the second floor. Cleaning staff kept noise early in the morning.
Hotel room was clean and staff was very helpful. The opposite of the main door was nice small cafe with very good pastries and sandwiches, coffees and teas.
Hotel was good enough to go again, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eero N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for all the time you spent writting all this comments. This is the best quality barometer that we have, it has a great value for us. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future, you will be more than welcome here. Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights last week . Before leaving for my trip I had read some great reviews so I thought that the hotel would be great . Unfortunately I was a bit disappointed as I'd expected more from a 4star hotel . The lobby was very small and the Nespresso bar almost in the same area . My room was clean of course , but if you want to be a good 4star you need to spend more money and more often on decoration . The breakfast was below average and if it hadn't been included I wouldn't have spent 16 euro for it. The location was very good, near to Av. de Gracia and Plaza Catalunya. I think it's very expensive for what you get .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments about our Hotel, I am more than pleased with, because it helps us to improve . We love the constructive and positive opinions which help us to become every day better. Thank you very much. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A very good hotel and gr8 location , so near to catalunia square ,the most famous square in barcelona. also its closed the the most famous street that has all the shopping brands ...food was very delicious and rooms are very clean , i will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohammed_shalaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments in Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to receive them. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future if you visit the city. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel this last week.

From the moment we arrived everyone has been charming & helpful.

The hotel is just 2 blocks from Passeig de Gracia metro, which is fantastic value, only 9.80€ for 10 tickets which was enough to get us around.

All stations were easy to navigate.

The staff were always good and efficient even though they have many clients to service.

We had a minor problem with wi-fi but it was fixed rapidly by one of the knowledgeable staff.

The room was clean and had a modern flat-screen Samsung TV but only Spanish [obviously] & a couple of news channels and couple of English language, no problems.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a good well situated,friendly and well priced hotel.

Plenty of local bars/restaurants are handy, we liked tapas24 which is 3 blocks from here but will probably involve a line BUT well worth it for authentic Spanish food in great setting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edward m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for sending us all this comments. It helps us to know your satisfied expectations and also it helps a new travellers. We are so pleased of your great experience in Hotel Catalonia Berna and we hope see you very soon. Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel last week and we encountered a very welcoming and friendly staff, especially from David, the hotel manager.
The service was very fast and efficient, we will deffenatly recommend our friends to visit this hotel.


Ester and Jacob Castiel
Israel

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pninac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments, I will pass through David, my front desk manager who will be more than pleased to receive them. We are so pleased to satisfied your expectations, do not hesitate to contact us again in the future. Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Hotel Catalonias have very high standards with food. evening buffet was very good with continental feel and a Spanish touch; very good value for price (*****)
The hotel lobby is luxurious. We ask the front desk to call us a taxi. The taxi charged us about 2-3 extra euros as a commission for the hotel. (***)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuyBlasHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed during your stay in our Hotel and Restaurant. Sorry, but the taxi has not to charge any comission, I will personally contact with this taxi company because they should not do this kind of charges, I totally agree with you. The clients must to pay the ticket, as the rest of Barcelona citizens, I really regret this issue. Thank you very much for your information. Do not hesitate to contact to us on your next visits. Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Gran Hotel Havana
Gran Hotel Havana
#156 of 520 in Barcelona
1,446 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#69 of 520 in Barcelona
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Vincci Gala Barcelona
Vincci Gala Barcelona
#82 of 520 in Barcelona
719 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Roger De Lluria Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 520 in Barcelona
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Eixample 1864? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Eixample 1864

Address: Roger de Lluria 60, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Berna Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £66 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Eixample 1864 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Eixample1864 is located in the heart of Barcelona, close to Passeig de Gracia and only a few minutes away from Plaza Catalunya and the city's old quarter. The hotel is situated in one of the first residential buildings built in Barcelona's Eixample district by Catalan architect Josep Cerda. Built in 1864 in an eclectic style of classical inspiration, it has been classified as a historic monument. The hotel is furnished in a modern and elegant style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catalonia Eixample 1864 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Berna Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Berna
Catalonia Eixample 1864 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing