We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , great BF.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Eixample 1864
Ranked #205 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

-very Close to train station to get out of barcelona
-very close to paseo de gracia metro station.
- walikng distance to the Rambla
- very close to bus stations :24&150
- very close to excellent restaurants.
- very good service, clean.
- need to improve - instructions from front desk for how to get to specific locations...dont count on these guys, google is much better.

1  Thank Tomer W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear guest,
we are so pleased with your comments in Trip Advisor, it helps other travelers and also our staff which will be more than pleased to know they satisfy your expectations. For the information desk we take note to improve it. Thank you so much. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Eixample 1864
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel was exceptionally quiet , esp as we had a room with a view over the street, double glazed doors , that we could open and embrace the city, The location was awesome only 3 blocks from the main street , and attractions. Safe to walk home to. Only complaint and its not really a complaint but we arrived at 1430hrs , to be told room wasn't ready, however a phone call to house keeping and we were checked iin very quickly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for all the time you spent writing this comments. The travelers point of view is so important for us in order to improve our service. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

ideal location and a practical choice for business travel to city centre. felt safe for women travellers. hassle free, good selection of restaurants within walking distance. not run of the mill chain, but a little character and a bit dated (not jarringly). would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments about our Hotel. We are so pleased we could satisfy your expectations. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future for new reservations, you will be more than welcome in our hotel. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

i have been there on this summer where i found the location of the hotel is quite and safe. it is closed to the attractions.staff are friendly, polite and helpful.restaurant is clean and well organized
my family enjoy to stay in that hotel and it recommended to family trips

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12Ahmedreyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments in Trip Advisor. I am so proud we satisfied your expectations. I pass your comments through all the departments you mentioned above. They will be so glad to receive it. Do not hesitate to contact us if you visit Barcelona again. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

I was here a lot of time and was pretty good.
Location is very good to walk and safe.
The hotel is perfect for visit the city, close to all attractions.

It's not five stars but it's very good for low budget.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaMariaMacovei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear guest,
thanks for the time you spent writting this comments in Trip Advisor. It helps to new travellers and also to our staff, which will be so proud of it. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future. Kind regards from Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

we are here (at the moment) for 7 nights.
for the last 2 days we keep asking for somebody to come and fix a broken toilet seat (the cleaning staff broke it while cleaning) - the answer is always the same - "i am sending someone to fix it" - but nothing! we are using a broken toilet seat for 3 days now!
the cleaning staff keep throwing away our used hand soap - but dont give us a new one! even after i asked him for a new soap - nothing. no soap.

the location is good, the rooms are crowded, not ment for staying at the hotel. the cleaning staff make way to much noise from early morning.
the internet connection is really slow.

maybe if the treatment was better my review was better - it means that much when you give service to people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much to inform us about your experience. Under your nickname I do not know if you are till in the hotel. Please if you are in, I would like to give you personally my apologizes. Of course, we will arrange it with the Housekeeping department and the Maintenance service.
I am so sorry about this inconveniences, but please, let me show you that we deserve
your confidence. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had quite small room in the second floor. Cleaning staff kept noise early in the morning.
Hotel room was clean and staff was very helpful. The opposite of the main door was nice small cafe with very good pastries and sandwiches, coffees and teas.
Hotel was good enough to go again, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eero N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for all the time you spent writting all this comments. This is the best quality barometer that we have, it has a great value for us. Do not hesitate to contact us in the future, you will be more than welcome here. Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#189 of 513 in Barcelona
563 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
#301 of 513 in Barcelona
536 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#82 of 513 in Barcelona
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#18 of 513 in Barcelona
372 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#60 of 513 in Barcelona
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Eixample 1864? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Eixample 1864

Address: Roger de Lluria 60, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Berna Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#150 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £87 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Eixample 1864 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Eixample1864 is located in the heart of Barcelona, close to Passeig de Gracia and only a few minutes away from Plaza Catalunya and the city's old quarter. The hotel is situated in one of the first residential buildings built in Barcelona's Eixample district by Catalan architect Josep Cerda. Built in 1864 in an eclectic style of classical inspiration, it has been classified as a historic monument. The hotel is furnished in a modern and elegant style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Eixample 1864 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Berna Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Berna
Catalonia Eixample 1864 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing