We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid for next few months due building work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Eixample 1864
Ranked #208 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Houston, UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Avoid for next few months due building work”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We used this hotel a few years ago as we liked the terrace rooms on the top floor. We booked the same again but were not told about building work to make a swimming pool on the roof. This meant that from 08:00 to 18:00 the rooms were subject from drilling through brick walls and some demolition. This was 3m. from our room. OK, it ends at 18:00 but BCN is a big city and sometimes you need a rest in the afternoons. Staff were not disinterested and Duty Manager hid in his office (wimp!). No refund offered - rooms are already about €150 per night, so not cheap. We were offered another room - 4 rooms from where we were, pointless. Staff do not seem to have any empowerment, therefore, can only smile and apologise! Simply we should have been e-mailed to mention the building work - very bad behaviour. Good points? decent breakfast, most staff ok except housekeeping. Room uncleaned until 16:00 until we contacted reception. This could be a good hotel but not at present. It's a dishonest mess. We left a day early to a much better hotel. Not a penny discount for our problems. Hit them where it hurts - do not book.

Room Tip: If you must stay here you need to avoid the upper floors - but then you miss the best rooms. Best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AviatorHouston_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear guest,
first of all I would like to send you all my apologizes if we could not satisfy your expectations during your last stay. Although I have to inform you that in our building we have not swimming pool and for the moment we are not thinking in have it. Maybe in the future. I mean, maybe you are refering to different maintenance service we have made in our air conditioning system on the corridors last week. Thank you very much for your letter and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    339
    126
    46
    36
See reviews for
128
296
62
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A good central location, clean comfortable room and helpful staff, especially Diego who always had a smile and a friendly word for us! Just what we needed for our three night stay in the city and just a short walk to Passieg de Gracia with lots of impressive architecture including Gaudi's Casa Batllo and La Pedrera. Very easy to get to by train from the airport; there is a subway to Passieg de Gracia station, which has a direct train to/from the airport every 30 minutes, on Carrer de Roger de Lluria just North of the hotel. We booked a standard room without breakfast as we wanted to get our coffee and croissant at local cafes/bakeries of which there are plenty in the surrounding streets. An 'all you can eat' buffet restaurant a short walk South of the hotel on c/Roger de Lluria provided a plentiful lunch just after we arrived and sustained us for an afternoon of exploring. The Metro stations at Girona and Passieg de Gracia provide easy access to the rest of the city. I would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are on the lower floors, the superior rooms with terraces are on the upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyT62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for the time you spent writting this comment. We are more than pleased we cover your expectations. Do not hesitate to contact us in your nex visits to Barcelona. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved the hotel. Excellent staff, great service, superb location. We were on our honeymoon and do not regret staying here at all. The main plaza, shopping etc are just a stone throw away. Your hop on hop off busses also start literally 10 mins from the hotel. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was pretty good too.basic and simple. Would have been great though if we got some more vegetarian options. But overall we loved the hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mausam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for the time you spent writing in Trip Advisor about us. It helps new travellers to know better our hotel. We wait to receive you very soon in the city and, of course, in Catalonia Berna Hotel. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here on business last summer for four nights.
This is a nice hotel, only 15 minutes walk from Catalonia square.
Centrally located, this hotel offers easy access to public transportation.
The staff were nice and very helpful.
Breakfast was good.. so was the coffee.
It was a pleasant stay! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKH786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments about our Hotel. This feedback is the best quality barometer that we have. I will pass through my staff your opinion, they will be more than pleased to receive them. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed at this wonderful hotel for one week while touring Barcelona and was very pleased
with quality of service and location! Centrally located, this hotel offers easy access to public transportation. Very comfortable and surprised with bountiful breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traviscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for the time you spent writting this comments in Trip Advisor. My staff and me are so proud of it and of course, we look forward to welcoming you soon in Catalonia Berna. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Good location and centrally located in Barcelona. You can walk to many attractions from here. It is farther from the beach. Breakfast very good in the morning. The rooms are a decent size for Europe. Bathrooms are on the small side.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoertli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments about our Hotel. I am so proud of. I will pass them through all my staff , which will be more than pleased to welcoming you again here. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We just came back from spending 3 nights in Barcelona and stayed at the Catalonia Berna Hotel. I can't say enough good things about the staff (both reception and dining room), They were very friendly and helpful with all of our questions.
The room was just fine Everything you need for a city holiday. For the toiletries bath gel and shampoo are in one and there is no body lotion, so keep that in mind if you prefer them separate or like to use body lotion.
The breakfast was more than fine. Everything you could need from a breakfast and then some extra. There was also a chef making fresh omelets.
The location of the hotel is really convenient if you, like ourselves, plan to go and see several different parts of the city. Metro is close and convenient, but there are plenty of things to do nearby that are walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTA A, Director General at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your comments about our Hotel. It is a great pleasure for us knowing that we satisfy your expectations. We wait for you on your next visits to Barcelona. Ypu will be more than welcome.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
#276 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#234 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#43 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
HCC St. Moritz
HCC St. Moritz
#269 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#82 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Eixample 1864? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Eixample 1864

Property: Catalonia Eixample 1864
Address: Roger de Lluria 60, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Berna Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#150 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Eixample 1864 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Eixample1864 is located in the heart of Barcelona, close to Passeig de Gracia and only a few minutes away from Plaza Catalunya and the city's old quarter. The hotel is situated in one of the first residential buildings built in Barcelona's Eixample district by Catalan architect Josep Cerda. Built in 1864 in an eclectic style of classical inspiration, it has been classified as a historic monument. The hotel is furnished in a modern and elegant style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Eixample 1864 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Berna Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Berna
Catalonia Eixample 1864 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing