We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay with great swimming pool, walking distance to most landmarks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Eixample 1864
Ranked #205 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The hotel is really close to the centre (Las Ramblas is 10 mins on foot). So it's very convenient. Also, La Pedrera and Sagrada Familia are within walking distance.

The room itself is very nice (looks expensive), the bathroom has a nice green marble and nice bathtub. The best thing are the pillows that are really confortable. However, the bed is short. For me it was ok but someone over 1.85 might have a problem. There's a big TV and a minibar (also a safe if someone needs it - I guess it costs extra).

There's a small but amazing swimming pool on the rooftop. It's sides are made of glass and therefore you can see those swimming in it :D Great place for funny photos!

The staff is kind and helpful (brought me some pool towels to the room immediately). I only give it a 4 because we found some hair in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stergios S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO M, Gerente at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay and appreciate our work.

Thanks to your comments we perfect our professionalism.
We would be delighted to have you.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

+ Stylish interior
+ Very nice room at the top floor with our own terrace
+ Nice pool area at the top floor
+ Very good breakfast buffet, with virtually anything you could wish for. Everything perfectly looked after by an efficient and attentive staff. Couldn't possibly be better. TOP MARKS!
+ Very friendly and helpful staff
+ Overall, good service and standard at a reasonable price

Warmly recommended!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mangan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO M, Gerente at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for the time you spent writting about us. We are so pleased with. We would like to see you soon in our Hotel, and in the city of Barcelona. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I was booked into this hotel by an escorted tour I took. I found the staff very friendly and wanting to help in any way. I liked the daily breakfast. I didn't use the restaurant but did use the lounge which I found very pleasant. The location made walking to the old city, La Rambla etc. easy walking. I liked my stay here very much.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank johndt41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO M, Gerente at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Dear guest,
thank you very much for the time you spent writing in Trip Advisor about us. It helps new travellers to know better our hotel. We wait to receive you very soon in the city and, of course, in Catalonia Berna Hotel. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

On the day we checked in the staff was very helpful and welcoming - good first impression with free welcome drinks and no problems. Our room was clean and well air conditioned which was important because of the heat.
We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel because 16 euros for breakfast is too much in my opinion. So instead we used the minibar for something to eat before leaving hotel; yogurt, fruits etc.
During the stay at the hotel it was daily cleaned up. We stayed a few hours at the roof terrace which was amazing! All the sunbeds were taken so you have to be quick. The pool was quite small and only about a meter high so all you can do is to cool yourself a bit. That was enough for us.
On the last evening of our trip we ate a three-course-menu at the restaurant and it was delicious! The price was quite convenient and 10% discount for the hotel guests was also a nice touch.
Leaving the hotel early in the morning was also trouble-free. We asked them to order a taxi for us which arrived in time and the check-out was quick.

Only flaws for the room were the "double" bed (two separate beds put together without shared mattress) and broken safety deposit box. They started cleaning up the rooms quite early in the morning but it didn't disturb much.
I would stay at this hotel again, or maybe in a other hotel of the Hotel Catalonia-chain. The location was a bit in the apart.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have a balcony and the rooms last in the rows have probably less disturbing noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katikopsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO M, Gerente at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Dear customer

Thank you very much for comment about our establishment.
We are glad to have covered their expectations.

We hope to see you in Barcelona !!!!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here as part of a group.The hotel was clean and food really good - especially the breakfast buffet. The hotel is close to the city centre and it is easy to reach main tourist places on foot - also close to metro. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful - reception staff were very helpful with directions and information, bar staff were friendly and happily met the needs of our group!
The rooftop terrace with it's small pool was a welcome feature especially after hot days spent sight-seeing. As other reviewers have noted Wi-Fi was temperamental.
A fantastic hotel and would happily return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO M, Gerente at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear guest,
we are so pleased with your comments. Thank you very much for the time you spent with. My staff and me are so proud to have satisfied your expectatives in the Hotel. We hope you visit the city soon, and our Hotel also. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Having previously stayed in another HC hotel in Barcelona on the Ramblas, we chose this hotel for a four night city break, July 2014. It was brilliant in every way.

The room was excellent, the beds were very comfortable, and breakfast every morning set us both up for a busy day in Barcelona!

The hotel was clean and modern and we felt very welcome and happy. We especially loved the roof top pool! (See picture)

The staff were excellent. The team on reception were very attentive to all needs. They were brilliant at speaking to us both, in both English and Spanish. They also helped us out with organising our trips, recommending transport routes, and booking taxis.

Fantastic hotel, would recommend to friends and family and would return again next week if we could!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hatty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO M, Gerente at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you !!!!!
The pleasure is ours for having them with us, we hope to see them again

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

On arrival to Catalonia Berna we were greeted by a man who advised that they are having technical problems in there hotel and they have already booked us in to one of there linked hotels. They provided us with a taxi free of charge which we waiting 30mins to be picked up. On arrival to the 2nd hotel the the staff were not made aware of us and advised that there hotel was fully booked. We were told to wait at the bar and were given one complimentary drink which we sat and waited for another 30min to be told that we are being located to a hotel not even shown on the Barcelona map provided. After all this we refused to stay in the hotel so far from the city centre and was taken back to the 1st hotel which we originally paid for. Once we got back were they were no apologies and suddenly the "technical fault" had been resolved. No complimentary gifts for our troubles and a complete waste of our time, the staff gave us are room key and that was all. Overall the staff were very unhelpful and pretty poor. I will not be staying at this hotel again!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms got cleaned every day. Our room was a decent size and black out curtains which made our stay m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSE ANTONIO M, Gerente at Catalonia Eixample 1864, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear customer.

We greatly regret any inconvenience, we hope that it can offer us a second chance to correct all the inconvenience, rest at your disposal.

A cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Catalonia La Pedrera
Catalonia La Pedrera
#187 of 515 in Barcelona
576 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
Catalonia Diagonal Centro
#299 of 515 in Barcelona
542 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#81 of 515 in Barcelona
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Room Mate Anna
Room Mate Anna
#20 of 515 in Barcelona
398 reviews
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#53 of 515 in Barcelona
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Eixample 1864? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Eixample 1864

Address: Roger de Lluria 60, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Berna Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#150 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £80 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Eixample 1864 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Eixample1864 is located in the heart of Barcelona, close to Passeig de Gracia and only a few minutes away from Plaza Catalunya and the city's old quarter. The hotel is situated in one of the first residential buildings built in Barcelona's Eixample district by Catalan architect Josep Cerda. Built in 1864 in an eclectic style of classical inspiration, it has been classified as a historic monument. The hotel is furnished in a modern and elegant style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Eixample 1864 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Berna Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Berna
Catalonia Eixample 1864 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing