We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AC Hotel Irla
Ranked #382 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Great hotel, small, but CLEAN rooms. Excellent location , near on-off bus. Friendly, courteous staff. We Would definitely stay again. Price was fair & included a great breakfast. Most European Hotels are small, however the AC IRLA was quite delightful. Front staff were welcoming & went out of their way

Room Tip: We were on 5 h floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

I arrived at 07:00 am due to an early morning flight, expecting to wait in the lobby for a few hours for my room.
I was so wrong. The friendly receptionist said I could have a room even as early as this. Excellent and unexpected service.
The room was nice too with a minibar with soft drinks, free of charge.
Location is great! Quiet and yet very central, close to Avenue Diagonal.
Breakfast was nice too-
Everybody I met were very friendly, polite and service minded. Nothing was a problem and it´s obvious they care for their guest.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jostein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Let me start by saying that I travel every week for work, so I am platinum status at Marriott. Not that this matters, because I firmly believe all guests should be treated the same, regardless of status. The hotel staff was unwilling to accommodate anyone, and while it was centrally located, this hotel does not live up to the standards of the Marriott brand.

It started with arriving and parking. They told me they had a garage with a discounted rate. When I asked for directions, the staff pointed me to a garage down the street. However, when I went to get my car the next day, I found out that I had parked in the wrong garage. The hotel attendant had a business card with an address that she did NOT give me the day before, which would have been helpful. She simply shrugged her shoulders when I asked for further clarification.

The room was TINY. All hotel rooms in Europe are small; however, this one was terrible. I treated two of my girlfriends to the room on my points. When I arrived, they had no rooms to accommodate three people. I was told I either had to buy another room, or pay an EXTRA 80 euros for her to sleep on the FLOOR. Of our hotel room. When I tried to get another room, they then were "sold out". I complained to Marriott and they waived the fee, and then I switched to the Sheraton for the rest of my stay. Save yourself the trouble and do not stay here for a holiday.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Recently stayed here for 5 nights. Great location - a true neighborhood with beautiful shops near by - and great value. Although it's not near the city attractions, it is close by to the hop on/hop off bus. Staff is friendly and helpful, there are complimentary soft drinks and water in the lobby and in your room refrigerator. That's right - complimentary! Also a coffee/tea machine when the breakfast room closes. Free wi-fi in lobby only. The room was well-cleaned and air-conditioned. My only complaint concerns the toiletries (bring your own small bottles). Also, I tried to request an early check-in since our flight was landing in the morning but we were not able to access our room until 1:00pm. So we had to hang out in the lobby for several hours. We were requested to pay cash for breakfast because we were officially not checked in ... and breakfast was overpriced (we never ate there again since there were many better-priced cafés in the neighborhood). Apart from a bad start, the rest of our stay was pleasant and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TuscanBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Hotel Irla was modern, clean and right in the middle of a neighborhood. It seemed like an odd location. We were surprised to see that it was only a few blocks from the hop on hop off bus. The hotel did offer wifi, but only in the common area downstairs.
Everything was in good working order. The bathrooms were huge, clean and very modern. We were pleased with the room.

Room Tip: The room was very quiet, due to the location in the neighborhood, rather than a busy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twarpula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Good: Location and staff are friendly. The bad: rooms are tiny, limited towels (ie. no wash cloth/face towel) and rooms that face the street are noisy. Hotel feels old you can hear peole in other rooms talking and their doors slam when going in and out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tchabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel as it was the cheapest option for my recent trip to Barcelona. The hotel is in good location: quiet residential area near Diagonal avenue with good local restaurants and cafes. Hotel is nice: spacious rooms with air conditioning, free minibar (soft drinks only), clea linen and fully stocked spacious bathrooms with hairdryers. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You do need to pay for the internet unless you are Marriott member and the room service menu is limited to just sandwitches that cost arm and leg. The gym is tiny: 3 machines with no TV, so make sure you bring your own entertainment for your workout.
The hotel is definitely good for business people like myself staying just for a night or two. However, I would not stay in this hotel if you came as a tourist: it is just way too far from any types of attractions: La Rambla is around one hour walk (or 15 euroo by taxi) and shopping on Diagonal is probably not within your average tourist financial abilities.
So do decide what it is that you are after before you decide on this hotel.

Room Tip: make sure your room does not overlook the main street. I had room 309 and the reception person did a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elenkahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
AC Hotel Diagonal L"Illa
#214 of 516 in Barcelona
186 reviews
AC Hotel Sants
#344 of 516 in Barcelona
540 reviews
Les Corts
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
#296 of 516 in Barcelona
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Som
#4 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
559 reviews
Eixample
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
#186 of 516 in Barcelona
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Irla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Irla

Address: Calvet 40-42, 08021 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £80 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotel Irla 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AC Hotel Irla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Irla Barcelona
Ac Hotels Barcelona
AC Hotel Irla Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing