We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean with impeccable service and excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of AC Hotel Irla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel Irla
Ranked #350 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean with impeccable service and excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Abundantly elegant with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are small. I missed not having a tub but the room and bathroom with over-sized shower was otherwise very modern and comfortable. Excellent location close to action but quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32999B2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    87
    47
    13
    4
See reviews for
24
66
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Good location amid shopping and restaurants. No Pool or Spa. The room was lovely but a
bit small. The mattress was quite firm. Otherwise very nice. Skip the 15 Euro breakfast. We would call it continental in the US. All people in Spain are very friendly.

Room Tip: We were very happy with a room right across from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We (me and my family) have been staying at this hotel for 4-5 years now every time we visit Barcelona. This is my first choice when I go to Barcelona on business too. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff is among the friendliest and most professional ones I have ever come upon, the interior design of the lobby is both convenient and impressing with well measured style... I can't remember any single instance of bad or even mediocre treatment there. I love the location too (on Calvet, close to Diagonal). For God's sake, they also keep a room or two for smokers like me! A real pleasure!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinPaunov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Located in a pleasant residential neighborhood just on the edge of central Barcelona, I found nothing particularly off-putting about this hotel, though nothing to "write home about" either. Overall, picking this hotel is a price vs location decision - i.e. you're willing to be slightly outside the very center (15 mins walk) in exchange for a clean room that does not cost 400 Euros. As mentioned in another review, there's a good selection of restaurants nearby, as well as a metro stop.

The hotel does provide the very basics, only. Just two towels in the bathroom, no in-room safe, only 1 or 2 international TV channels, and perhaps the most basic offering of all: the breakfast "buffet", which everyone in our party had a good laugh at. The walls were indeed thin and the rooms small but we were rarely in them except at the end of a long, exhausting day whereafter we slept like the dead...

I found the service to be very friendly - no complaints there. Very quick drive to/from the airport.

Nothing to risk here, just don't expect the Ritz.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ironrooster73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Decent boutique hotel not far from many Barcelona sites (taxi ride needed) like Gothic area & Sagrada Familia. Not many amenities (no in-room coffee maker, no in-room safe, no hotel), but current/trendy, clean & functional. Although room had 2 twin beds instead of a king, the bed was very comfortable. In-room Internet not great though.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I've never had this experience. Booked the hotel to include breakfast for two. The front desk said I only paid for one and tried charging an additional 10euro. I explained this was incorrect and showed the booking on my phone. Thought it was taken care of. We were then required to send it to them over email or we had to sign the current charge extra 10euro charge. Nice customer service! Check-in aside, the hotel is quite... a nice change from Sevilla and Granada AC Hotels. No close metro stop so be prepared to walk 10+ minutes. A few nice coffee shops and lots of shopping close by on Diagonal. Also, suggest visiting Daps, an excellent restaurant on corner of Diagonal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanFortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Located on the quiet side of Barcelona... but a good restaurants around the hotel.
Buffet Breakfast is limited... Complimentary Coffee, Tea and Sodas available almost the whole day. Reception, especially Marcus, was very friendly and helpful.
We will definitely stay here again.
WIFI is free in the Lobby.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starjdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
AC Hotel Diagonal L"Illa
#195 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
AC Hotel Sants
#330 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Les Corts
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
AC Hotel Victoria Suites
#226 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Som
#4 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Eixample
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
#170 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Irla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Irla

Property: AC Hotel Irla
Address: Calvet 40-42, 08021 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotel Irla 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Irla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Irla Barcelona
Ac Hotels Barcelona
AC Hotel Irla Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing